Univeristy Of Wollongong (SIM) future/current/students come in!!!

Mythmaker

ya, put in effort in 114 and 124 (fundamental c++ programming)! Like others had stated in this thread, java is a dead language. So whenever possible, try to use and practice c++ (you will code in a language of your choice during year 2 and 3). But to do that, you need the foundations >.> So dont slack during lesson, and also cos Dr Heng teaches dam fast lol! You sleep for 10 minutes and he's in another galaxy liao... and his papers ain't easy at all! When I took my 124 final exam, the exam paper was 28 pages... thickest paper I ever took.

moment

^hmm wow, then i guess there's no point requesting then.. since admittedly, i did take one or two modules in poly that somewhat fits the description of the exempted modules... (and maybe i will just borrow notes from my friends who are also taking comp sci, just not at sim).

darkchamber,what course u took in poly ar?

ya, put in effort in 114 and 124 (fundamental c++ programming)! Like others had stated in this thread, java is a dead language. So whenever possible, try to use and practice c++ (you will code in a language of your choice during year 2 and 3). But to do that, you need the foundations >.> So dont slack during lesson, and also cos Dr Heng teaches dam fast lol! You sleep for 10 minutes and he's in another galaxy liao... and his papers ain't easy at all! When I took my 124 final exam, the exam paper was 28 pages... thickest paper I ever took.

wow,thanks for the info man!me super new to it course,dunno what kind of format they will be using.will be taking www engineering and discrete maths.heard that www engineering a bit hard,is it ar?is there a lot of projects/assignments cramped together?thanks!:s13:

darkchamber

not much future. lol. no lah. study security will have wider job range... then if want go back into games, anytime want switch back also can.

actually i was originally doing animation but realized too many steps to follow, so decide to go into something much more practical.

EmoFaith

not much future. lol. no lah. study security will have wider job range... then if want go back into games, anytime want switch back also can.

actually i was originally doing animation but realized too many steps to follow, so decide to go into something much more practical.

babe, you working now or just come out from poly?

moment

babe, you working now or just come out from poly?

haha emofaith!

yea darkchamber,i agree man.security side really wider range of jobs.cos games design in singapore still haven 'dig' out yet so if wan have to go overseas de.

darkchamber

emofaith: i grad last year. went into 2 semesters worth of animation, withdraw, work for awhile, juz end work. XD

Mythmaker

moment: lol n i thought you're a girl... x: shall never judge anyone from username alone anymore... x:

I always follow my rule of thumb, "All online people are guys until evidence surfaces."

Been good so far, exposed quite a number of guys imposing as girls =/

greyhound

Who is the lecturer?
Year 1 you only need to know 3 subjects. CSCI103, 114 and 124. The rest are seemingly irrelevant and you won't die or lose anything without them. So I would advise that you save your money and take the advance standing...

When I first applied for DSS, I requested to take the entire year 1 as well (I figured I should have 0.5 adv standing and I seriously cannot remember anything I ever learnt in poly). I told them during the registration... but after that a friend of mine (who had already graduated from the course) informed me that all the modules in year 1 are mostly useless except for the 3 mentioned. Just request to take that 3 can liao... if they want to exempt the others just let them exempt lor.

So when hamidah (or is it someone else... hmm) called me to confirm about my request to take the entire year 1, I told her I changed my mind and will take the 3 subjects as above (it turns out as she told me, I'm actually exempted from everything except 124). She told me to send a proper black and white email stating that I will take the 3 subjects. Then settled liao.

The clerks are actually very friendly people, esp Hamidah who is the most experienced of them all (that's why she's handling the year 1s). Just ask her nicely and she will give you a satisfactory reply and will do something about it immediately. There was once where I complained to her that one of our lecturer is fked up in lecturing (unable to control class etc) and the next day, the lecturer had shown considerably more effort liao. So if you have any problem just consult them...

moment

moment: lol n i thought you're a girl... x: shall never judge anyone from username alone anymore... x:

huh i am ar.lol,i nv say i am guy or girl also.and i am of quite guyish side actually though lol.

xKazeolus>u taking FT or PT?Ft orientation is 9am-6pm and pt is 7pm onwards.i guess pt de dun have outdoor activities leh.why we so suay de!anyway i skipping it,dun care.

Jimmy_gal

Well, seems like no one is 0.0 standing part time.
I change the question to who is going to take discrete maths and www engr for part time?
:p

backup_account

why is java a dead language?

darkchamber

huh i am ar.lol,i nv say i am guy or girl also.and i am of quite guyish side actually though lol.

xKazeolus>u taking FT or PT?Ft orientation is 9am-6pm and pt is 7pm onwards.i guess pt de dun have outdoor activities leh.why we so suay de!anyway i skipping it,dun care.

LOL. OOPS x: pahaha. ok which means I was right. XD eh eh maybe can be friends even if diff standing? lol.

LAZORBEAMZ

will be taking www engineering and discrete maths.heard that www engineering a bit hard,is it ar?is there a lot of projects/assignments cramped together?thanks!:s13:

WWW engineering is about HTML, Javascript, Java, images, sound, databases, ASP, XML. Sounds like a lot but other than HTML and Javascript, the rest are not in-depth at all. Difficulty in 181 lies in the super broad range of topics being covered.

IIRC it was 5 assignments, 5 group work presentations during the tutorials. Some assignments can be finished in like half an hour, some...can take days.

LAZORBEAMZ

There was once where I complained to her that one of our lecturer is fked up in lecturing (unable to control class etc) and the next day, the lecturer had shown considerably more effort liao. So if you have any problem just consult them...
103? :s13:

You sleep for 10 minutes and he's in another galaxy liao... and his papers ain't easy at all! When I took my 124 final exam, the exam paper was 28 pages... thickest paper I ever took.
Because half of the paper were empty spaces for writing the code!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.