[GPGT] Fib's ForeverAlone Trip to Melaka :crazy:

fibbermeister

Biangz... the pineapple tarts and wifey piah is just right in front of me and there's nothing I can do about it.

There's actually another shop with a ultra-classy deco selling all the traditional snacks. But I follow my friend's logic:

Poh Keong have 4 huge ovens running at the back for you to see. Some shops claim to make their tarts on the spot, but you either dun see any ovens or just 1 small pitiful one that is not even turned on.

So which shop do you buy from neh?

Yes, Gu Pong is open earlier. But their tarts suck. I dislike the strong GuNeeHun smell in the tarts. Milk powder has no place in a proper pineapple tart, my man.

So I took a RM10 cab ride back to the hotel for check-out. Mounted my bike and made my way back to Poh Keong.

Boss's son is there and he is confounded by the task of attending to TWO customers at the same time.

The wifey piah just came out of the oven and they smell really heavenly....

Just a pity they barely survived my 180kmh+ dash back to Singapore. The wifey piah literally shook themselves to pieces on my way home.

Cui.

Heng the Pineapple tarts and Tau Sah Piah still retained their shape.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

1 yao-gui sup'ed 1 box of tarts and my wifey piah while I was bathing. No choice but to take foto of the remains. Hands were still shaking from adrenaline rush... paiseh.

Mee Sua's my nephew's favourite. So die die must buy one pack for his little royal highness.

I can finish 1 box of the tarts in 1 go if I don't control myself. The pastry has a nice nutty aroma and the pineapple fillings are just right, not too sweet. A wee wee bit of sour tinge to the taste hinting at the fresh pineapple used.

Best pineapple tarts I've ever tasted so far. Sedap!

altya1

Nicely done bro!!!

Moi just did the exact same thing as u early this year on new year day 1/1/12...

Rode solo to Melaka and stayed at Fenix Inn as well... Very secure with the gates and the security guard....

Enjoyed ur stay? Got go Jonker Walk night market?? There is a chicken rice ball stall near our hotel as well, just behind i tink... Yi Ji Bang Chicken Rice ball!!!

fibbermeister

Wow can share what you did to prepare for the trip ? is it crazy to ride a 2B 125cc bike up ?

I think 125cc bike is just right for Melaka.

My bulky 1100cc bike is great on the highway but plain sucks once I'm inside Melaka proper. More than 30kmh is considered fast liao. My left hand almost cramped from the constant clutch in and clutch out in 2nd gear. Not to mention the stupid engine keeps overheating. Radiator fan blows full-time, sucking my battery juice like nothing.

I left my bike at the motel and just roam around on two legs lor. Teksi not dat expensive if you really lose your way lah.

Did nothing much in terms of preparation. Basic research on Google and singaporebikes forums. Din even bother to reserve a room online. Weekday lah, confirm no crowd.

Printed some maps from Google maps. Pre-cache Melaka on Google Maps Apps on my phone and Tab 10.1 and I am good to go.

Din even bother to bring my Garmin GPS also. Nowadays, smartphones damn smart aleck lah.

Next time, I'm gonna try the same trip on my 700cc bike. Silly bike has only 5 gears, can only cruise at 120kmh. Any faster gonna shake my bones to pieces liao.

If you taking your 125cc, just keep an eye on your fuel gauge and top-up frequently. And give way to any other vehicles on the road. The turbulence from the over-taking is terok for small cc bikes.

I got chopped on my left from a BMW X5 speeding at more than 200kmh+ (while I was doing 180kmh) and I barely held onto my bike from all that buffeting...

up for your GPGT trip,
btw, is that screenshots from your pc or GPS?

Err... its the same. Using Google Maps on my Tab 10.1. Looks the same as PC. But of course I am typing all these posts on me PC lah.

you gotch 千里眼?

Paiseh lah. No 千里眼. Me got 肥手指. "k" next to "m" mah. Edited liao.

fibbermeister

try the korean food there?
a building by itself
its authentic...

That shop is just right in front of Fenix Inn. Hai... no chance this time cos err... there's so many other things to try first.

But since you recommended it, this korean shop is definitely in my plans for the next trip.

fibbermeister

wa fenix inn i stay before..good, clean and affordable. Recommend for budget stayovers

I kinda like this Fenix Inn. Bed sheets, Pillows and towels are also very clean.

Really worth the money. If your budget is tight, can go for the no-windows room. RM90 only.

If really really tight, can try Sayang Sayang. RM30-80 depending on how much privacy u want. Shared toilet though.

Velton

i've been to malacca a few times oredi.. the chicken rice balls really overhyped one.. there are much nicer food ard.. simple wanton mee or porridge. the chendol u eat is damn sweet.. there are a couple less "famous" ones around.. taste is just nice i feel.

fibbermeister

salute siols
go biking trip alone
respect

Paiseh lah. Anyone can do this.

JB is only dangerous within 20km of Singapore borders. People are usually more friendly and approachable the further north you go.

I have cheat codes in case I need them. Have contacts in JB, Yong Peng, KL, Ipoh and even Penang should any insurmountable problem arise. But the whole idea is to avoid calling them in the 1st place anyway.

The only thing I scared of? My bike break down. Worse than losing your passport and wallet, IMHO.

ts u go by urself dun feel sian...no one to share food and thoughts wif, eat oso eat alone, sleep oso sleep alone...:(...i take my hat off u really....

When I really want to relax on my trips, I prefer to go it alone.

See the thread Title? <Forever Alone> mah.

Alone is good. Dunnit chup siao another person's moods and preferences.

Limbei suka koon, just koon.

Suka go walk-walk can go walk-walk.

Then can makan anything. Dunnit worry whether halal, lard-free, fat-free, gluten-free, prawn-free, peanuts-free, alcohol-free...etc.

Vacation is to relax, do your own thing at your own pace mah. No burden. Zero stress.

Instead of sharing my thoughts with just 1 person or maybe just my family or a few friends, I am sharing with all the EMDW members, even better right?

I also sleep alone at home. So no big deal.

Eat alone most of the time. Used to it (and probably a self-made food critic because of it; Cannot tahan when people gushes over mediocre fare).

There's a big advantage in travelling alone. You tend to be more approachable to strangers. Never know the pleasant surprises.

Once, I ended up travelling with 2 cute Korean chicks for 1 week just because I was curious about their panicky looks at a hotel lobby in Vegas. Turns out they decided to extend their stay without verifying whether their room can be extended. So they are stranded for their last night in Vegas.

Offered them my room and we traveled together to SF and LA for 1 week.

(Quite funny also. I have to re-assure their relatives staying in California that I am not a sick psycho waiting to *** and kill them... now how would you accomplish that neh?)

This would never happen if there's someone else with me. *wink*

Once upon a time, long long ago, I went Hatyai with a friend. Knew nuts about the place, encountered a nice singaporean family holidaying for like the 1001st time there. Chatted a bit, they took pity on me and played local host. Did lotsa things that average tourists wun even think of doing also.

aiyah... really can't describe just how fun travelling alone can be lah.

Its amazing what a silly smile on your face can accomplish on a <Forever Alone> trip lor.

fibbermeister

Thanks for sharing, theres a shop selling nice chendol served with metal spoon but I cant remember exact location ahhhhhhh~

Ride safe.

That metal spoon one is the same one in my fotos. Jonker 88.

Kinda sweet though. Appreciate the deep coconut syrup aroma though. Definitely needed a drink after to counter the sweet.

fibbermeister

Nicely done bro!!!

Moi just did the exact same thing as u early this year on new year day 1/1/12...

Rode solo to Melaka and stayed at Fenix Inn as well... Very secure with the gates and the security guard....

Enjoyed ur stay? Got go Jonker Walk night market?? There is a chicken rice ball stall near our hotel as well, just behind i tink... Yi Ji Bang Chicken Rice ball!!!

一极棒 right?

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Photo taken from the bak kut teh.

A friend tried that before. Total thumbs down from her. She says the meat so little only. Coming from a gal? That says a lot about the quantity. No volume no shiok. I trusts her opinion and so I din bother. hahaha....

(She even whatsapp me the storefront foto to make sure I avoid the right place.)

Jonker Night market only on weekends lah. I went on a weekday so nothing to see at night.

I wanted to see a movie. But that night's movie channel has several nice retro ones so.... in the end, never go cinema also.

Otaku is my middle name.

fibbermeister

my favourite dim sum!!!!

actually i chanced upon this place and saw some ah pek there
so presume is local go de.. yum yum, its nice

Confirm! I used the same logic also.

Got many ah peks and aunties sit there. Looks like local 老饕 confirm must try.

Not to say there is no breakfast in Melaka. But since i take so much effort to reach this place, a mere Macdonalds hotcake happy meal will not suffice!

fibbermeister

I always got head up north. advice is to beware of crazy proton. And lastly have lots of fun!!!

This time, the proton Wiras and Sagas never give me problems. Just that they have no habits of checking their rearview mirrors.

I encounter a Toyota Wish with a Death Wish though. I wonder if the driver knows just how badly his car body is flexing when he snap-changes lanes like F1 driver...

Had fun teasing a BMW X5 on my way home. Basically kited the fellow for 10km then opened up throttle let him chase.... quickly lost him and hide in a rest-stop. Darn hilarious seeing the X5 zooming past while I am chilling in the rest-stop. I think that moron must have been looking for me all the way until JB.

fibbermeister

no picture of your bike ?

Hai... stupid right? One of my pals said the same thing. I forgot to do the classic "me and my bike against landmark" photo shots.

Never mind lah. Going up further north next month. Will do a make-up shot against something familiar then.

But you guys wun get to see my bike lah. Maybe a small part only. There's only so many in Singapore. Mine is too distinctive liao. Trying to maintain my privacy also.

I rode this up. Got a new owner waiting to take over once I am done with my Forever Alone quest.

fibbermeister

chiu are on the road or oredi finish the trip?:eek::eek::eek:

anyway,nice GPGT thread,sarpork +1 :s12::s12::s12:

Oredi finished the trip. Wanted to post pictures as when... but I am too numb nuah oredi. Its a big hassle using my Tab 10.1 to do such thing.

The destination's just a made-up excuse to try my bike's long distance ability lah.

Then while lazing around in Melaka, I thought riding like this also pointless. So I decided to do a quest.

Hence, <Fib's Forever Alone> series. This is only part 1.

Part 2 is next month. How? You think it would be fun if I post "LIVE"? Try out forumner's suggestions real-time?

Eg. Go KL's Hard Rock Cafe and take a random chio bu on a bike ride around KL.

+just kidding.... i ish forever alone humji+

Katz321

Oredi finished the trip. Wanted to post pictures as when... but I am too numb nuah oredi. Its a big hassle using my Tab 10.1 to do such thing.

The destination's just a made-up excuse to try my bike's long distance ability lah.

Then while lazing around in Melaka, I thought riding like this also pointless. So I decided to do a quest.

Hence, <Fib's Forever Alone> series. This is only part 1.

Part 2 is next month. How? You think it would be fun if I post "LIVE"? Try out forumner's suggestions real-time?

Eg. Go KL's Hard Rock Cafe and take a random chio bu on a bike ride around KL.

+just kidding.... i ish forever alone humji+

That would be cool!

Din0saurus

looks like a nice place to chill! i should be heading up this year but take bas :crazy:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.