[ICS] Official Samsung Galaxy Note N7000 Ice Cream Sandwich discussion thread

chuppychup

btw i read from previous post that in ICS it is possible to show the battery level in % ? how to go about activating this ? cant seem to find the option

lxb_70

so... in conclusion....

we MUST do a factory reset BEFORE update to ICS?? is it?? (in order to avoid or prevent any issues)

paiseh ah... noob in android... :D

jasonsoh82

hi everyone.. currently i'm on ics le.. but y i cant download the flash player leh? can anyone help? thanks a million..

N3wXTyp3

sigh....thanks for confirming....guess i will live with the batt drain for now

Initially, it does consume the battery quite fast. Even it is rooted with apps disabled.

But really want to seek super improvement is to flash another kernel into it. Etc; speedmod

As far as it is concern, I wiped the phone during GB before upgrading. Then after upgrading, I wipe the storage and ICS one more time.

This is to prevent any other residues goes into ICS and cased problems which I will not be able to pinpoint.

The first 3 cycle was not as good because the battery drained quite fast. Barely using the phone, within less than ½ a day, the battery is like as low as 30%.

Now after quite a few charge cycle. The battery can hold itself until I am home. There are times despite heavy usage; I am still left with 40% sia.

N3wXTyp3

hi everyone.. currently i'm on ics le.. but y i cant download the flash player leh? can anyone help? thanks a million..

Any error message?

Do the following clean the playstore cache.

Else do a full wipe.

Remember to backup your important data.

N3wXTyp3

so... in conclusion....

we MUST do a factory reset BEFORE update to ICS?? is it?? (in order to avoid or prevent any issues)

paiseh ah... noob in android... :D

In simple term yesh, due to the fact, it is a complete different OS.

PS: Opps, I misread your post lxb_70: is not necessary to do a full wipe but it is recommended!

Cyborg

btw i read from previous post that in ICS it is possible to show the battery level in % ? how to go about activating this ? cant seem to find the option

Go to Settings > Display > tick on Display battery percentage.

strikeforcez

Boss, you missed the warning on the first page lor.

If you read... cannot use CWM recovery to wipe...

Yup, I knew about the warning, Just that i too fast never think saw the wipe data straight away press . LOL . Well, Status update : Engineer looking into phone .

lxb_70

In simple term yesh, due to the fact, it is a complete different OS.
oh... bro, sorry.. how to do a full wipe? what should i look out for (for example... what data should i save/backup?) using what to backup? kies (pc) can?

sorry... new android user... less than 3 mths nia... :D

samson1

I just realise something after I've upgraded to ICS.

When you go to Settings and Applications, ALL the apps are apparently 'active', meaning the 'Force stop' button is highlighted for all of them! Previously before the upgrade, I had some apps that were running in the background and consuming battery quickly. Force stopping them stopped this. I wondered if this is one of the cause for the high battery drain. I'm currently going through every apps to force stop, since this is abnormal unless you opened the apps before.

lunffy

Seems like alot of you are going to do full wipe. i recommend you to get "App backup & restore" or "App Backup Reinstall" for non root users. you will be able to backup all your apps after wiping. quite good

N3wXTyp3

oh... bro, sorry.. how to do a full wipe? what should i look out for (for example... what data should i save/backup?) using what to backup? kies (pc) can?

sorry... new android user... less than 3 mths nia... :D

Regardless is your phone on or off state.

hold the 3 buttons at the same time.

Vol up, The centre button and power button.

After that the phone will reboot, wait for a while then release, you will see a android logo coming out.

From there on is the recovery manager (default)

if you have CWM installed then better don't wip anything.

N3wXTyp3

I just realise something after I've upgraded to ICS.

When you go to Settings and Applications, ALL the apps are apparently 'active', meaning the 'Force stop' button is highlighted for all of them! Previously before the upgrade, I had some apps that were running in the background and consuming battery quickly. Force stopping them stopped this. I wondered if this is one of the cause for the high battery drain. I'm currently going through every apps to force stop, since this is abnormal unless you opened the apps before.

Yes you should do that!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.