HDTV, Digital TV and antenna discussion thread [consolidated]

Yo2020

i hv this Astone AP360T player/recorder. it has build-in DTV receiver n a digital signal input at the back (indicated by RF IN in image below). i wanted to record okto's programme via this RF IN. i hv mio tv. may i ask the options available to make it work? thanks.

note: i hv been using the AV IN (output frm mio tv stb) but, unfortunately, it cant record programme in wide screen mode via the AV IN.

AP_300_2L.jpg

Astone Media Gear AP-360T 1080p Media Player with PVR & HDTV Tuner - Astone - Design for Life!

didymus

Stay in the west, able to receive digital 5, 8, CNA and HD5. But strange nit able to receive digital Channel U. :D

AnDyLe0

Totally agree on this.

When I was in HK, it really makes the viewing more pleasing. Just add something onto the sides if the black strips are 'not so nice'.

Just find Mediacorp being plain lazy I guess... It's been for so many years, still can't have a standardisation to industry practices. I think one day they might still have to do it, so why not just get it done earlier?

i think HD channels showing sd content in square box is easier to maintain... the HD channel shows the whole screen while SD channel just shows the center cropped square area... then they don't need to have 2 diff feeds for ch5 and hd5... or squeeze the whole 16:9 screen into PAL resolution.
the current mediacorp news aspect ratio is really confusing... suddenly fat suddenly thin... :s22::D

Kopi_Lui

Interested to know which type of the mixers you mentioned ($15):

507940-0.jpg

or

832632-0.jpg

thx

wonder does UF still have them, cos their shop in SLS just had a revamp. for $15 i surely wanna get one of those. have been using A-B switch for years

ricardoo

mediacorp's HD5 is 1080i over-the-air

whereas if you receive HD5 via mio TV, it is 720p

does anybody know any difference between the 2 ways of receiving HD5?

My viewing feels its slightly better quality with 1080i

AnDyLe0

mediacorp's HD5 is 1080i over-the-air

whereas if you receive HD5 via mio TV, it is 720p

does anybody know any difference between the 2 ways of receiving HD5?

My viewing feels its slightly better quality with 1080i

mio hd5 only 720p? any settings to change?
starhub hd5 is 1080i... but u can change resolution via set top box.
even other channels like ch8 u can also set the hubstation to 1080i and watch it upscaled.

recv thro antenna is the original feed direct from mediacorp... also with data like program guide etc... but if the signal is not good u can still get pixellated image.

Kiwi8

I use DIY antenna to receive. It seems to receive the digital channels better than some of the retail antennas that I use. :o

Nakedtoes

The news mentioned by end of next year all change to digital include channel u so those tv with digital tuner dun need to buy the new digital tuner? Are they using same tech?

wc1985

The news mentioned by end of next year all change to digital include channel u so those tv with digital tuner dun need to buy the new digital tuner? Are they using same tech?

yeah im interested to know about this also whether they will be using dvb-t2 for all or can use current dvb-t

Soul77

Recently I saw tender ads in the newspaper by Mediacorp, they're looking for OTT solution. Maybe that's going to be a better solution.

But imho, Singapore is very slow in this kind of service, even when compared to Indonesia, which just launched a full fledged OTT service, complete with EPG scheduling, catch up tv feature for all the programme, etc..

bebopbob

Made a call to the MDA hotline, this is the info that I received.

DVB-T2 broadcast from Dec 2013 onwards. DVB-T broadcast will STOP.

So your TV with the builtin DVB-T tuner CANNOT receive the over the air DVB-T2 broadcast. So be prepared to buy a new DVB-T2 receiver.

Folks looking to buy a new TV, look for models with support for DVB-T2.

All of Mediacorp channels will be digital after Dec 2013 but only a selection will be in HD.

yeah im interested to know about this also whether they will be using dvb-t2 for all or can use current dvb-t

Raj1969

If the DVB-T2 signal is not gonna be transmitted free via the SCV point, it will useless even if your future TV supports DVB-T2.

Although HD5 is a free channel, one has to subscribe to Starhub or Mio to watch it.

HDB antenna/Indoor antenna also cannot receive the signal in most locations. Heck...my block has no signal even for CNA via the HDB Antenna.

bebopbob

Hopefully the DVB-T2 broadcast signal will be better. At the moment. I can received the DVB-T over the air signal on a UHF $20 antenna.

If the DVB-T2 signal is not gonna be transmitted free via the SCV point, it will useless even if your future TV supports DVB-T2.

Although HD5 is a free channel, one has to subscribe to Starhub or Mio to watch it.

HDB antenna/Indoor antenna also cannot receive the signal in most locations. Heck...my block has no signal even for CNA via the HDB Antenna.

Kiwi8

So your TV with the builtin DVB-T tuner CANNOT receive the over the air DVB-T2 broadcast. So be prepared to buy a new DVB-T2 receiver.

All of Mediacorp channels will be digital after Dec 2013 but only a selection will be in HD.
I see, it's DVB-T2 ah? Then I'll have to take note not to buy any more DVB-T tuners liao. :o

petetherock

Guys can you post your comments and tips on all matters related to antennae, reception and Hi Def TV here please, thanks.

Nakedtoes

sian need to waste money liaoz

Soul77

Btw, has the DVB-T2 trial started? is the signal is free over the air? or just through starhub setup box? The news said it should already started last year, Sep 2011.

ah_cheng1882

MDA should work with HDB to send the signals to our homes. Why should we get the antenna ourselves? This is a nation-wide project!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.