Yes I foresee my mrt minimum top up is $100

By then I will be living in job cos I cannot afford the mrt rides

I now can't afford taxi nor car

cancer81

What threat? Hdb flat not overpriced is suddenly a concensus? Or we actually like it when prices go up?

How would that be a threat? You dun want to "slap" them arh?

NTB2DO

This sound like a threat...

But then hor, an obviously (and understandably) sore ex-PAP candidate did suggest something like that during the 2011 GE hor:

Hougang has become a slum: PAP
Hougang has become a slum: PAP’s Eric Low
By Faris Mokhtar | SingaporeScene – Sun, May 1, 2011.. .

People's Action Party's (PAP) former candidate Eric Low fired the first salvo at the Workers' Party (WP) in the battle for the single-member constituency (SMC) of Hougang.

Low was one of the ten guest speakers at a rally on Saturday evening in support of the party's candidate Desmond Choo, 33, who will be contesting in the ward. Choo will be going up against WP's candidate, 34-year-old businessman Yaw Shin Leong.

Rebutting WP's chief Low Thia Khiang statements that the ward is not a slum, Low said that it is the contrary.

"My answer to Mr Low Thia Khiang is yes, it (Hougang) has become a slum. The word slum means downgrading," he said to slight cheers from the 1,000-strong crowd.

Low also made a comparison of the HDB flats of Block 1 and 2 to the ones in Block 20 and 21, saying that if residents could not see the difference, then "we are blind".

"Let me share with you that for the last 20 years, your home, residents of Hougang, has been downgraded because of the poor maintenance and upkeep.

"I have been here for the last 12 years and I know it, because you complain to me that certain rubbish stays for days before they are cleared outside your house. Is that not true?" he questioned.

Adding that he had also received complaints that the car parks in the constituency are poorly maintained, Low advised residents in the ward to "make a wise move" come Polling Day, saying that "the time has come for the change".

He also sent a warning message to voters of Aljunied GRC.

"Before you vote, please take a walk in Hougang SMC and you will see the difference between what you are having now — maintained by the PAP town council — and then you may want to vote wisely," he said.

In the last two elections, PAP's Low, 62, suffered defeat at the hands of WP's Low Thia Khiang, who this time has decided to contest Aljunied GRC.

Seriously, such threat may have worked once or twice, but it's not gonna work forever. And in the first place, using tactics which capitalise on human being's selfishness is just so.. wrong.. Just like what LTK had lamented in his latest rally:

23 Jan 2013 Punggol East By-Election Rally Speech by Low Thia Khiang : The Workers’ Party of Singapore

..年纪比较大的,关心政治的国人就会知道,现在的PAP和以前的PAP 不一样了。他们告诉我,PAP 政府现在什么都讲钱,斤斤计较,平时与民争利,大选时就以各种利益引诱选民,使新加坡成为一个高度自私与功利主义的社会。PAP政府只有在大选的时候才跟你讲人情。...

adix_82

I was listening to radio and the news said which I hope it was reported wrongly..

Mr Lui Tuck Yew said our salary is raising faster than bus fare thus a increase in the bus fair is only fair to transport operator.

I hope Mr Lui can feel for ppl trapped inside the train today. Wasting how many Singaporean precious time..

537081_10151297618777934_1256932506_n.jpg

cscs3

But only lost 7 seats?

I call that a small scratch...

Stop thinking that by reducing their vote share that any party will learn from their mistakes. Only losing the seat will do it.

If your area had to be dirty and poorly maintained for 4 years endure it! And if prices of flat drop, grin and say "I am not contributing to the problem" :D

Otherwise we deserve the government we elect

I guess that applies to WP too. I never like a party who present no plan by their own and plug a number from the sky to start a debate !

Q&A ia always a easy job. What we are looking for is a party who is capable to come up with a plan to let other to do Q&A!

Providence

Our salaries are increasing faster? I never NOTICE that my salary has increased that FAST. I only know the ministers have super FAST increments on their salaries and they DRIVE cars. Not take public transports to work every day.

I can confirm that there will be dire consequences if we continue to create more tunnels beneath Singapore. Is the underground soil durable enough to maintain so many tunnels? The government will say it is durable. Any foreign expert that can double-confirm?

It is very risky to dig so many 'holes' beneath the island. I have a bad feeling about this.

stevetan2010

What I am going to say will piss off some singaporeans here. But I think we need to force them to scrape this MRT expansion. This expansion is not needed at all as it is aim and directed at accomodating the 10 million target (i dun think is 6.9 million target they are aiming). But then maybe my wishful thinking.

Inix

Our salaries are increasing faster? I never NOTICE that my salary has increased that FAST. I only know the ministers have super FAST increments on their salaries and they DRIVE cars. Not take public transports to work every day.

I can confirm that there will be dire consequences if we continue to create more tunnels beneath Singapore. Is the underground soil durable enough to maintain so many tunnels? The government will say it is durable. Any foreign expert that can double-confirm?

It is very risky to dig so many 'holes' beneath the island. I have a bad feeling about this.
Let's be fair. Our public transport costs isn't exactly the highest in the world. Its actually quite low, and over the years, it hasn't gone up that much. Private transport is another story, but its primarily due to the COE.

Looking at just from the Public Transport side, our salary did generally go up faster as compared to their increases lah.. But that's just looking at cost. If we were to start looking at other factors such as reliability, than I think he is off the mark loh.

Inix

What I am going to say will piss off some singaporeans here. But I think we need to force them to scrape this MRT expansion. This expansion is not needed at all as it is aim and directed at accomodating the 10 million target (i dun think is 6.9 million target they are aiming). But then maybe my wishful thinking.
Excuse me, but the trains are already overdue. Not building the trains does not mean people won't come, so they should start building instead of talking about it only.

stevetan2010

Excuse me, but the trains are already overdue. Not building the trains does not mean people won't come, so they should start building instead of talking about it only.

use the money repair existing lines better ok? We have leaking tunnels, fire accident, train no aircon, no enough problems? Now they are just rushing everything I dun want sloppish work. Now they rushing day and night for housing, MRT u sure u want to rush them? I rather they buy more buses. Overconstruction is what we cannot afford. Buses if too much can sell off, u think after the MRT expansion is build and suay suay something suay happen and less coming in can sell our expansion line to who?

cscs3

use the money repair existing lines better ok? We have leaking tunnels, fire accident, train no aircon, no enough problems? Now they are just rushing everything I dun want sloppish work. Now they rushing day and night for housing, MRT u sure u want to rush them? I rather they buy more buses. Overconstruction is what we cannot afford. Buses if too much can sell off, u think after the MRT expansion is build and suay suay something suay happen and less coming in can sell our expansion line to who?

Who is going to maintain those buses? Throw them away when they failed to work?

Inix

Err, repairing lines can make them less prone to breakdown but still not able to fix the damn issue of squeeze.

tequila_powered

just a side note. London tube has no aircon (and no platform doors), trains and stations. HK stations initially had minor aircon but depended more on 'pushed' air from the tunnel. London tube in summer could be a bummer when the train stops in tunnel.

We need both repairs and new lines/trains.

stevetan2010

Who is going to maintain those buses? Throw them away when they failed to work?

yeah yeah u mean u buy 150 buses and all failed at the same time? 1 bus fail will affect at most 100 passengers correct bo? Can tell me 1 train have problem how many affected? Not one station is more than one station.

Maintain those buses? U think I care? Cannot maintain throw them one place as a reserve can change and repair if needed. Who cares about the repair or maintainence cost sia? Repair MRT is more costly or a bus is more costly?

Worse come to worse is just sell the bus away correct bo? MRT leh? Can tell me how to utilise the tunnels that are being dug out? Can tell me how to sell ALL the things that are done? Take note buses can prowl everywhere, MRT cannot.

stevetan2010

Err, repairing lines can make them less prone to breakdown but still not able to fix the damn issue of squeeze.

If buses are allow to go the same route as the mrt (mean direct from one station to another NO STOPS in between EXACTLY LIKE MRT), please tell me can help to ease out the squeeze?

Digging more tunnels won't help. I see the mrt system in the future I faint, why like japan? You know the cost to maintain such a complex system using technology that doesn't belongs to us? Buses are more cheaper, we can switch if the company has pattern more than badminton until we song song but not MRT.

Also u say liao repair won't make them less prone to breakdown so end up have to rely on which transport to help save the day?

stevetan2010

just a side note. London tube has no aircon (and no platform doors), trains and stations. HK stations initially had minor aircon but depended more on 'pushed' air from the tunnel. London tube in summer could be a bummer when the train stops in tunnel.

We need both repairs and new lines/trains.

seriously I fear overbuild then underbuild for anymore consumption of land. Yes increase of buses will cost more space on the ground BUT the sacrific is justifiable. I just cannot imagine the day when we have no more money to maintain the entire mrt system, how har? u all tell me lor. Our land is small some areas are soft and worse is on top have homes and bottom is tunnel hor.....

Have already news say liao one side construction dig dig and the homes besides them have massive cracks liao. Imagine a tunnel collapse due to a lack of maintainence or lack of funds, not hard to figure out which is much worse.

Other countries land big big can run around and **** around if tunnel collapse or ground shaky, can just relocate but we cannot hor. Please remember.

My Little Diary 88

Other countries land big big can run around and **** around if tunnel collapse or ground shaky, can just relocate but we cannot hor. Please remember.

I am not competent to join in your debate.

Personally, I prefer MRT to buses.

However all good things, including the MRT, has a limit. Your point raised a concern.

stevetan2010

The debate here is not about which is more efficient, no I am not looking at this. I am looking more on the further cost and problem complexity because this two options doesn't offer a better efficiency over the other. MRT is good but maintainence cost is high and if problems should occur will be massive. Buses is a better option. Parts damaged or beyond repair can be easily replaced within a day but mrt have to wait for weeks for the new parts to be shipped to singapore. Drivers can be recruited at a higher pay and by nationalising our transport system will helps a lot. True road will be squeezed just reduce the car ownership will do. right now we have a 5 million ++ population and our transport system can survive liao. SO if any crisis occurs, will leave us about 3.8 millions left. Our transport system not enough?

stevetan2010

I am not competent to join in your debate.

Personally, I prefer MRT to buses.

However all good things, including the MRT, has a limit. Your point raised a concern.

dun be lured by it convenience because as what I see it is more costly than a bus interchange. Bus interchange can convert, mrt stations can convert but its leaking tunnel, u really think it is usable? A bit can but too much is not good.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.