M1 FIBRE BROADBAND DISCUSSION / NETWORKING SETUP / INFO / PROMO

albertlee

activation for TP2 in 2 weeks? wait long long.

I called up opennet this morning. Opennet told me M1 has their own team of opennet guys to do swaps / installation.

Then I called M1. CSO dare not reply me, say will call me back.
Got a call ard 3pm, tell me same stuff: network issue - not enough capacity, so cannot activate TP2. We will take note of your account and give you a date soonest possible.

I interprete this as "OpenNet infra is loaded to the max, and need to lay more cables + add more switches + power up the backbone before we can offer anything more to you."

Looking at this process, it's going to take months before the "network issue" is resolved.

Seriously, if this is going on, none of the ISPs should be getting new signups / offering higher bandwidth as within the next few months, they are unable to fulfill anything at all!
:mad::mad::mad:

I also have my doubt on the lead time, let wait for AhWise to reply.

Based on what you said, it would appear the problem with capacity issue laid with M1 rather than OpenNet.

AhWise

Thanks, so the lead time is the same for activation of 2nd port and installation of black ONT? I'm inquiring as I will be switching RSP soon.

lead time for other ISP switching to M1 required about 3 weeks as OpenNet needs to activate Port 2.

For port 2 activation, the lead time hard to confirm due to Opennet needs to confirm the availability & backend activation. I have customer that manage to get it in 3weeks, but also customer who waited more than 1mth.

For those who missed TP installation, M1 can arrange the TP & ONT installation for customer and 3weeks lead time is quite confirmed.

SkimMilk

lead time for other ISP switching to M1 required about 3 weeks as OpenNet needs to activate Port 2.

For port 2 activation, the lead time hard to confirm due to Opennet needs to confirm the availability & backend activation. I have customer that manage to get it in 3weeks, but also customer who waited more than 1mth.

For those who missed TP installation, M1 can arrange the TP & ONT installation for customer and 3weeks lead time is quite confirmed.

come on lah... I re-contracted on the 6th, til date, I have yet to get a date. 3 weeks to get everything done? Nonsense! :mad::mad::mad:

ahtea

Apparently for switching to black ONT, the activation of TP 2nd port might be quite challenging for OpenNet to resolve.

You might want to call M1 fibre technical support for status updates. Ask if they have forwarded the request to ON.

If yes, call ON hotline at 65634273 and ask the CSO to investigate on the status of the request. And return call to update accordingly after they checked.

Need to follow up personally or else the issue will be left unresolved (as M1 will be waiting for ON, and ON will be waiting for the blue moon) until someone picks it up which might be a perpetual wait.
OpenNet say its just a pure capacity issue. Nothing other than wait is the solution. Don't know why. But somehow, I don't sense things are going right.

If there are 500 users in the area, shouldn't they plan for more ports than required? I also tend to think, not all the 500 users which they enable, will sign up with fibre services.

The worst thing is, even OpenNet themselves cannot give us a promised date on when they can resolve this issue. I really wonder, if this setup is genuinely right in the first place with so much limitations.

ahtea

hi SkimMilk,

I understand... nothing much I can do also, the process for recontracting & swopping the white to black ont is really a hassle. thats why it seems to delay and delay. u may wanna try go down to M1 CSC to see anything can be done?
Nothing can be done other than waiting. Been there, experienced that. Just have to bite the bullet, wait.

ahtea

1) around 2 weeks for ont installation
2) around 3 weeks if you required both TP & ont installation
To be fair, these dates might not be applicable if you are going to switch over from another fibre ISP. There is apparently some bottleneck somewhere for some areas in Singapore that OpenNet needs to address (according to OpenNet themselves).

ahtea

I waited for 2 months. Still nothing. So at the end of the day, its all luck.

I am expected to wait for another 1-2months at least according to OpenNet.

cscs3

activation for TP2 in 2 weeks? wait long long.

I called up opennet this morning. Opennet told me M1 has their own team of opennet guys to do swaps / installation.

Then I called M1. CSO dare not reply me, say will call me back.
Got a call ard 3pm, tell me same stuff: network issue - not enough capacity, so cannot activate TP2. We will take note of your account and give you a date soonest possible.

I interprete this as "OpenNet infra is loaded to the max, and need to lay more cables + add more switches + power up the backbone before we can offer anything more to you."

Looking at this process, it's going to take months before the "network issue" is resolved.

Seriously, if this is going on, none of the ISPs should be getting new signups / offering higher bandwidth as within the next few months, they are unable to fulfill anything at all!
:mad::mad::mad:

Is another IDA WHITE ELEPHENT project !!!
We call this a next generation narrow band project lead by IDA.

cscs3

Need another mega next gen project to re-wire the whole island again !
Here goes all the tax payer money again.

Sorcerer84

Sometimes i wonder M1 maintenance schedule they put on their website is zhun or not. On nights when no maintenance, my connection will d/c or suddenly no connection for a few hours. Yes, esp in early mornings like 2-4 am. Pek cek man.

JuXn5566

Sometimes i wonder M1 maintenance schedule they put on their website is zhun or not. On nights when no maintenance, my connection will d/c or suddenly no connection for a few hours. Yes, esp in early mornings like 2-4 am. Pek cek man.

Mine now is okay leh. Minutes ago mine also down, it said DNS failed as I'm surfing the web.
2 days ago at exactly 2am, I also tio the same problem. For that day, M1 website got put is for maintenance but I can't use internet for the whole night. Not the 1 hour as stated.

Really damn pek cek with them.

ahtea

Yea, got that too. It was down the day before around 12mn. Apparently quite a handful of my friends on M1 got the problem too.

ahtea

Mine now is okay leh. Minutes ago mine also down, it said DNS failed as I'm surfing the web.
2 days ago at exactly 2am, I also tio the same problem. For that day, M1 website got put is for maintenance but I can't use internet for the whole night. Not the 1 hour as stated.

Really damn pek cek with them.
It's very intermittent. You never know when the downtime will come/strike these days. :(

jejentor

Hey guys since the recent M1 fibre broadband downtime (like 2 days ago early morning 2 am) my connection has been very intermittent. Keeps connecting and disconnecting every few mins. Is anyone getting the same experience? Aljunied area.

cscs3

Looks like M1 will become a history in the broadband business.
Some maintenance team may think this is just a internet. is ok to get a down time once a while.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.