Tim Ho Wan to open in Plaza Singapura

Sen

saw the weekend morning crowd, easily 2 hrs if you come after 11:30am~

Charlie_Zhang

Few hours queue is too long - not even a Michelin star in sg .... Rather go cherry garden, royal china etc....

Swordsman

overhyped maybe... "most" i dunno... not nice..? well i find it nice lor... better den average dim sum... but not worth 3-4hrs queue... maximum 1hr queue maybe... :o

regards,
wacky

u very patient. me the most 15-20 mins is considered very long waiting time.

mikafire

most overhyped new restaurant in 2013.
2nd tat strongly..din noe t standard tat bad..wasted 1hr queuing n stomach eating for friday lunch

bad dim sums:
- char siew baos: overly sweet n nthing special with t crush skin
- Pork liver chee cheong fun: liver is small chunks n tough..taste so so..skin is thin thou
- Carrot cake: totally bland and tasteless
- congee: salty n nt as mian as HK congee..pork meat is tough
- sie mai: tasteless
- veg dumpling: weird taste

not bad dim sums:
- Malay cake: nice black sugal taste n soft
- har gao: best with gd taste n plenty of prawn (only HK taste dim sum)
- beancurb skin: both fried n steam are nice
- bak gu chicken rice: rice is gd taste

wat michelin standard? wat hk taste? only match dim sums stall at our food center..ban tis restaurant

elf108

finished my dinner at 830pm and saw super long que right till the end.
Many stupid couples waiting.

I hope those gf/bf would have dumped their bf/gf for wasting few hours and starving at the same time. stupid singaporeans.

ocping

not tried yet... anything that takes more than 15 mins to queue is probably not worth it 99% of the time. i'm probably never gonna taste tim ho wan unless short queue. this has me thinking, are they getting such a bad rep because of all the kiasu s'poreans queuing for sake of queuing and thus lowering the quality of their food to serve dishes faster?

alpc

Well... Review bad is from people in this forum. The rest hear only the famous name - so die die must go and try lor.

wackykid

review so bad still have such long queue??

Well... Review bad is from people in this forum. The rest hear only the famous name - so die die must go and try lor.

ya... usually ppl who complains makes the loudest noise too... :s13:

i didn't think it was bad... it's actually pretty good... just that not THAT great to worth 2+hrs queuing..

regards,
wacky

jumpmanz

Went once to Sweet Choon and never return. Food is crap, I think people go there as a hang out place known for dim sum rather than going there for good food.

Crystal Jade which I used to visit fairly regularly (more than one a month) have better dim sum than SC.

I am also waiting for the crowd to die down before heading to try the Sg branch. I first heard of THW hk when it was at its peak with massive long queues at Mongkok and I tried the Sham Shui Po's branch(recommended cos lesser people go there eat) and the dimsum is both nice and extremely cheap when compared to the quality we get and pay for in Singapore.

But now we are paying for more expensive dim sum in Singapore for supposedly the same thing in Hk. In the first place people flock to their hk branch is partly becos of the cheap prices... If I did not remember wrongly, 3 friends and me ate 9-10 plates or more for low SGD 30+. You can never get this price in sg even for inferior dim sum.
lol. if the food is crap they wont survive so long with gd business.
one man's meat is another man poison.

yet to try thw but i doubt i ever wait more than an hr for dim sum. :(

s7460597

I am also waiting for the crowd to die down before heading to try the Sg branch. I first heard of THW hk when it was at its peak with massive long queues at Mongkok and I tried the Sham Shui Po's branch(recommended cos lesser people go there eat) and the dimsum is both nice and extremely cheap when compared to the quality we get and pay for in Singapore.

But now we are paying for more expensive dim sum in Singapore for supposedly the same thing in Hk. In the first place people flock to their hk branch is partly becos of the cheap prices... If I did not remember wrongly, 3 friends and me ate 9-10 plates or more for low SGD 30+. You can never get this price in sg even for inferior dim sum.

Agree with you. My lunch kakis want to try but I told them to wait till the queues are much shorter or gone.

I went to the Sham Shui Po branch as well. Got a table very quickly but the place was packed. Any empty table is taken almost immediately.
The dim sim is ok but the prices are cheap even by HK standards.
THW is not a place to get and pass the time unlike other HK dim sum restaurants.

swatchie

lol. if the food is crap they wont survive so long with gd business.
one man's meat is another man poison.

yet to try thw but i doubt i ever wait more than an hr for dim sum. :(

The thing with Swee Choon is that it has been around for many years. And many years ago, the dim sum was good. Fast forward 20+ years, food quality is now pedestrian but inexpensive. And people usually just go there to hang out and for nostalgia imho, very much like Red Star and 126. :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.