Buffetlicious! The All You Can Eat Buffet thread - Part 5

shalome

I went to the Safra Jurong branch on Mon, n it was super crowded. Got a huge grp of army guys celebrating ORD or something. Lucky i started before them, so managed to hoot a few plates of food first ... then they started ... n it was like a plague of locusts ... almost everything was wiped clean ....

Good thing is those are young chaps, so dun jiak fish head. I had all the salmon fish head i can eat n then more :D Bad thing is for the entire 1 hr, just 2 orders of teppenyaki came. You know the stands which you place the clips for the item you want? First time i see the stand clip until no space :(

Btw, have you tried other branches of Sakura before? If yes, how does the Dhoby Green one compare?

the salmon fish head i wanted to take in the mid of the meal, but i didn't like teriyaki sauce over it and i pondered i might not have sufficient time so i gave it a miss :( actually i wanted to go yck stadium but i read the qoo10 reviews, they said the teppanyaki was so slow over there, so i headed over to dhoby green. the teppanyaki chicken quite nice, beef bulgogi with kimchi not nice (beef not marinated, rather they were like shabu in water, drained and then side with kimchi. the kimchi was an option at the buffet take yourself free flow.) teppanyaki here not too slow, had 3 rounds.

the thai sauce fried fish was nice.

i think i only tried sakura jurong and dhoby ghaut green. i will prefer the latter.

Toons

the salmon fish head i wanted to take in the mid of the meal, but i didn't like teriyaki sauce over it and i pondered i might not have sufficient time so i gave it a miss :( actually i wanted to go yck stadium but i read the qoo10 reviews, they said the teppanyaki was so slow over there, so i headed over to dhoby green. the teppanyaki chicken quite nice, beef bulgogi with kimchi not nice (beef not marinated, rather they were like shabu in water, drained and then side with kimchi. the kimchi was an option at the buffet take yourself free flow.) teppanyaki here not too slow, had 3 rounds.

the thai sauce fried fish was nice.

i think i only tried sakura jurong and dhoby ghaut green. i will prefer the latter.

Heehee, all the times i went, i did not get to see the teriyaki salmon fish head at all. Just saw the sign n empty tray :s8:

Luckily the stewed salmon fish head is nice. Actually the stewed one prolly a safer bet. Like you said, the teriyaki sauce might not be appealing, eg, too sweet, too salty.

The deep fried dory with thai sweet chilli sauce never try cos salmon > dory anytime :D Did you try the seafood couton n prawn paste chicken? Actually the fried stuff at Sakura not bad. Afterall, deep frying easiest to do well.

Did you try their durian puff? Tat one should be from central kitchen or same supplier, so std should be the same across the branches. It is quite decent wor.

Hmmm, you prefer Dhoby Greens over Jurong Safra ah? Keke, then i'll try the dhoby green one. Hopefully, with the fasting month, it will be less crowded.

Toons

any national day food deals?

Not exactly a National Day promo, but Olive Tree at Intercontinental Hotel having a 1 for 1 promo for their dinner buffet (Sun to Thu only), for DBS/POSB cc, until end Aug iirc.

Just a word of caution hor, i went there last month, n it was so so nia. Definitely a drop of std compared to previously when some of us here went ... was it last yr? Ah Tan posted a review, so can search if interested.

Anyways, the spread is much smaller now n items not as good. Got snow crab legs (decent), but they were replenished so infrequently. Previously their sashimi was good, but now only so so. Good thing is they still have swordfish sashimi.

Cooked food nothing i liked. Only saving grace for me was their beef short ribs which was really good. Tender, beefy, fatty ... sedap. Even then, out of the 3-4 rounds, 1 round the beef was dry n slightly tough.

All in all, i find the buffet there so so nia. I dun regret going, but i will say tat Square@Furama will be a better deal.

shalome

Heehee, all the times i went, i did not get to see the teriyaki salmon fish head at all. Just saw the sign n empty tray :s8:

Luckily the stewed salmon fish head is nice. Actually the stewed one prolly a safer bet. Like you said, the teriyaki sauce might not be appealing, eg, too sweet, too salty.

The deep fried dory with thai sweet chilli sauce never try cos salmon > dory anytime :D Did you try the seafood couton n prawn paste chicken? Actually the fried stuff at Sakura not bad. Afterall, deep frying easiest to do well.

Did you try their durian puff? Tat one should be from central kitchen or same supplier, so std should be the same across the branches. It is quite decent wor.

Hmmm, you prefer Dhoby Greens over Jurong Safra ah? Keke, then i'll try the dhoby green one. Hopefully, with the fasting month, it will be less crowded.

i only saw teriyaki salmon fish head that day. no stewed fish head. i saw they replenished 2nd tray. i wasn't that tempted because i tried their teppanyaki mushrooms and i disliked their over sweet teriyaki sauce.
the cereal fried chicken not bad. got hainan chicken which i didn't take.
but the deep fried fish with thai sweet chili sauce really quite nice wor. :D
think no prawn paste chicken. got kueh pati (d.i.y)

i don't eat durians.

i think the variety quite different from safra jurong. but then again, the one and only time i went was that time when qoo10 had that promo. maybe about a year ago?

i feel like getting the deal again but hard to find a day go.

will try square@furama if got chance.

Joelleyuan

hi all, any idea if i go jiak lunch buffet at Indulge at Park at Grand Hotel tmr, ish got oyster to eat anot?
thankss

dicxz80

just got sms from UOB

1 for 1 International Lunch Buffet at Triple Three, Mandarin Orchard Singapore

valid till 31 Dec (Mon - Sat)

I am wonderng whether seafood is served ? (lobster, oyster ?)

Toons

hi all, any idea if i go jiak lunch buffet at Indulge at Park at Grand Hotel tmr, ish got oyster to eat anot?
thankss

Dinner yes, lunch i dun think so iirc. Better call to check?

If you're a oyster fiend, i suggest the dinner buffet at Straits Cafe, Rendezvous hotel. Was there on Tue, n their USA oysters rocks. Rest of food so so nia though.

The best oysters i ate at a buffet was at 10@Claymore, 2 yrs back in Nov/Dec. The oysters then was big, sweet n more impt, very creamy. Dun have tat metallic tang which i dislike.

Since then, none of the oysters measured up, even the oysters at Claymore also not as good liao. However, the ones at Straits were a close second! I normally dun eat oysters, or maybe just take 1 to try. on Tue nite, i ate 13 ... or maybe 17 if its 4 plates instead of 3 (4 per plate, but i koped 1 from my dining partner :D )

carey

Anyway, Marriot Cafe got 1-for-1 promo now until 31 Jul

Not tied to any card :D

T&C is need to make reservations 2 days in advance I think...

Swordsman

Yea, they are trying to position Momiji as a more upmarket version of Sakura. Errr, we go Momiji cos of their seafood, esp when they had the king crabs promo. Their salmon belly, scallops n sweet shrimp, also nice. Cooked food abt same std as Sakura imo, except for the beef n pork ... the ones you order using the clips. Those are very nice too.

You went for lunch or dinner n how much did you pay?

Come to tink of it, actually i quite like Momiji :D

i went for lunch got the credit card voucher 10 off total bill min 50 dollars.

so about 20 dollars each.

the cooking station, the beef and other meat doused in soy sauce. like soy sauce free 1.

soup cold.

mostly eat fried and grill stuff then of course the ice cream.

Swordsman

I went to the Safra Jurong branch on Mon, n it was super crowded. Got a huge grp of army guys celebrating ORD or something. Lucky i started before them, so managed to hoot a few plates of food first ... then they started ... n it was like a plague of locusts ... almost everything was wiped clean ....

Good thing is those are young chaps, so dun jiak fish head. I had all the salmon fish head i can eat n then more :D Bad thing is for the entire 1 hr, just 2 orders of teppenyaki came. You know the stands which you place the clips for the item you want? First time i see the stand clip until no space :(

Btw, have you tried other branches of Sakura before? If yes, how does the Dhoby Green one compare?

momoji also same.. i thought hungry ghost festival started already.

Toons

i only saw teriyaki salmon fish head that day. no stewed fish head.

I finally saw the teriyakki salmon. Too bad they are using salmon pieces rather than the head. Still prefer the stewed version. Fasting month really makes a huge difference :)

kikuzushi

Any recommendation for 1 for 1 hotel buffet lunch promotion?

only managed to find Cafebiz at Traders hotel, impression was not that good.

Looking at fresh oysters and sashimi.

shalome

Anyway, Marriot Cafe got 1-for-1 promo now until 31 Jul

Not tied to any card :D

T&C is need to make reservations 2 days in advance I think...

lunch or dinner or both?

I finally saw the teriyakki salmon. Too bad they are using salmon pieces rather than the head. Still prefer the stewed version. Fasting month really makes a huge difference :)

so you went ghoby? any specials or which you prefer? jurong or dhoby?

Toons

Any recommendation for 1 for 1 hotel buffet lunch promotion?

only managed to find Cafebiz at Traders hotel, impression was not that good.

Looking at fresh oysters and sashimi.

Lunch buffet normally no oysters, not to mention those with 1 for 1 promotion. The better 1 for 1 promo lunch buffet tat I can think of is square@furama, but they dun have oysters for lunch iirc. I strongly advise against going to cafebiz for lunch. Tried it a couple of months back n I found it lousy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.