Recommend a Good and Cheap Air-Con Service Company

maxicoolservices

Hi DettolSg,

Apologize that we were not able to be of service this time round.
Thank you for keeping us in view and hopefully we can be of service for your future air-conditioning needs.

Best Regards,

Jason Tham
Maxicool Services

I recently did my chemical overhaul with Newway. Called up Zac as mentioned in earlier posts. Friendly and approachable guy. I actually wanted to get Jason for the job but he's pretty packed due to the haze period.

Two guys came for the appt. One Singaporean and his apprentice. They spent more than 2 hrs cleaning just one unit. I didn't really supervise how they were doing the cleaning but from the looks of it, I would say they really put in effort and clean very thoroughly. They laid plastic sheets on the floor, check gas reading before/during/after topping up, check/clear for leakage, dismantle the whole a/c and bring to toilet to clean. Even sprayed some purifier disinfectant solution after cleaning and assembling the aircon, which was rather thoughtful.

The guy who came is humble and knowledgeable. He also told me that actually for chemical overhaul, once every 1-2 years is enough for HDB units (rather than the standard once every 6 mths pitch). Price wise - I think it's cheaper if u svc more 1 unit. Mine is single unit and they charge more for single unit. For single unit, Jason is probably cheaper. My aircon is a lot cooler after servicing. Even though price is a bit higher, for the effort they put in I think it's still worth it, considering I can get an earlier appointment whereas other companies are fully booked till Aug. Also I think Newway runs a team of technicians rather than one-man show, and despite this, quality is not compromised, which is quite impressive.

Will give Jason a try next time.

maxicoolservices

Hi Alex,

Thank you for giving us a chance to be of service. :)
Yes unfortunately for your requested Saturday morning slots we are fully booked. Sorry to have to let you wait until September :o

Weekend slots are usually very popular and in order to alleviate the situation, we have opened up several Sundays slots for servicing too.

We do however still have some Weekend Afternoon slots and Weekday Slots available for the month of August for those who require our services.

We are contactable via the below avenues:

Tel/SMS: 86133818 (Jason Tham)
Webpage: www.facebook.com/maxicoolservices
Email: maxicoolservices@yahoo.com.sg

Once again our deepest apologies to those whom we are not able to offer our services during this period.

We would also like to thank those who have already booked an appointment with us. We look forward to be of service to you. :)

Best Regards,

Jason Tham
Maxicool Services

Just booked an appointment with Maxicool... in September ^^ They are really popular haha.

yweeting@hotmail.com

Avoid Best Tech Air Cond. Their staff, sales and installer are all unprofessional in handling customers.

Sales - talk very nicely before closing deal. After closing, they want you to follow their schedule, if they want to come down on Friday morning, die die u must take leave on fri morning to suit their schedule. Otherwise it is your fault for any delay. talk like ah beng, with "you are not my boss" attitude.

Installer - also very rude. I tried to explain where to install the air cond, the installer told me "stop talking , we know what to do, i want to go back d." then hang up my call.

The worst part, they install the aircnd at a very inappropriate place, after that, claiming that if i need to shift, have to pay charges. But in the first place, why are they installing at a place where is blocking the door of my furniture?

Also, I can't agree with their service, contractor cannot make decision on site. Whenever I have a request on site, they told me have to get back to office, and need to arrange another time to come down. Total hassle.

Service dept call operator - quite nice but dont have authority to make decision

BestCool

BESTCOOL AIRCON SVCS ! CHEAP & RELIABLE @ LOW RATES! TRYUSNOW TO BELIEVE!

Great Afternoon Folks! Finally its the weekend! Time to rest & slack or have outings with friends & family! Dont worry guys! We are OPEN! Call us for any appointment bookings/questions if you need to get your aircon serviced & working in its best condtion for your best enjoyment in this hot stuffy weather!

GURANTEED BEST PRICE IN TOWN WITH THE MOST RELIABLE SERVICES!
Check our Ala Carte Aircon Services Prices !
**Do remember that we always advice the needed service for your aircon with its current condition! But its still your choice :)

NORMAL SERVICING WASH per fancoil unit @ $20

CHEMICAL SERVICING WASH for per fancoil unit @ $40.

COMPRESSOR CHEMICAL WASH (outdoor unit), inclusive of checking gas @ only $65!

TOPPING UP OF R22 GAS @ $65 NETT !
TOPPING UP OF R410A GAS @ $120 NETT !
*gas top up depending on your aircon model as well

SEMI OVERHAUL of fancoil/aircon @ $80.00
OVERHAUL of whole fancoil/aircon @ $130. (*depending on type of PTU)

RELOCATION OF FANCOIL - *from $150 onwards, depending on distance.
RELOCATION OF COMPRESSOR - *from $220 onwards, depending on distance.

Want to make an appointment with us for the above package services?! CALL/SMS/WHATSAPP US NOW @ 81187581 CHERYL / 83329057 ERIC (24/7)

If you're sure of which services(including no. of units) you WANT to do,JUST CALL or send A SMS/WHATSAPP WITH THE DATE & TIME with your NAME & FULL ADDRESS
TO CHERYL @ 8118 7581 (24/7) . Upon confirmation of your time slot & date, I will give you a CONFIRMATION CALL or SMS.

Fastest Finger First! We are quite booked up so if you need urgent services, be make sure you give us a call & check!
WE WILL DEFINITELY SLOT YOU IN IF WE CAN SQUEEZE TIME OUT

Of course, we put our customers at our First Priority :)

HAPPY SATURDAY PEOPLE

sarion

had Acecool for servicing my fan unit, and the serviceman managed to get it working back to normal (was only able to get cold air at low 22C setting medium fan speed, which used to be achieved by 28C low fan speed).
3rd aircon servicing company i've ever used and this is the only one who bothered to take down the blower unit itself to clean. seems like previous company's "steam cleaning" just isn't efficient and that was always freaking dirty and smelly too.
had originally thought it was coolant issue (even though just topped up 1yr+ ago), but serviceman was honest and mentioned top-up not needed.
another plus point was very reasonable price.

apriliasiao

I had my faulty compressor replaced by Antara and also had a chemical wash done by them. They are very professional and the price is reasonable too. They are best aircon service company I had encountered so far. Please contact Mr Ghani at 9794 9498.

u a cronie izzit? create a new acc just to post your aircon servicing experiences with Antara. :s13:

ghost_83

u a cronie izzit? create a new acc just to post your aircon servicing experiences with Antara. :s13:

noticed alot of clones in this forum trying to bring down some of the a/c companies.

If they are really that bad, they would have already closed shop. That they are able to survive till now shows that at least they might be doing something right.

I advise all bros and sis to take comments here with a pinch of salt.

apriliasiao

noticed alot of clones in this forum trying to bring down some of the a/c companies.

If they are really that bad, they would have already closed shop. That they are able to survive till now shows that at least they might be doing something right.

I advise all bros and sis to take comments here with a pinch of salt.

yalor, post count so little and worst still, all posts are taking abt how good the air con nia.

maxmuzzer00

Just want to share on my experience with All Best IMM.

I have bought an air-con STARMEX INVERTER from them on 4th July and the salesman have told us we do not need to change our piping as it was the more durable kind that were used 10 years ago. Subsequently, the technician came to install late last week and by saturday, the aircon is not blowing cold air. We called them up and the same technician came over and said the gas pressure is leaking and will have to change the piping. This is ridiculous! We only have the aircon for 2 days! And to add on, the technician said it is due to the new refrigerant R410A that were used on the new aircon. Why they did not inform us early like two days ago!?

Any aircon experts here can recommend me on what will best for this case? All Best technician suggested to change pipes.Changing pipes will not be easy as most of the pipes are concealed. Should I call another company for a second opinion?

Appreciate your response.

Thanks.

berkeley

Just want to share on my experience with All Best IMM.

I have bought an air-con STARMEX INVERTER from them on 4th July and the salesman have told us we do not need to change our piping as it was the more durable kind that were used 10 years ago. Subsequently, the technician came to install late last week and by saturday, the aircon is not blowing cold air. We called them up and the same technician came over and said the gas pressure is leaking and will have to change the piping. This is ridiculous! We only have the aircon for 2 days! And to add on, the technician said it is due to the new refrigerant R410A that were used on the new aircon. Why they did not inform us early like two days ago!?

Any aircon experts here can recommend me on what will best for this case? All Best technician suggested to change pipes.Changing pipes will not be easy as most of the pipes are concealed. Should I call another company for a second opinion?

Appreciate your response.

Thanks.
Oh dear Maxmuzzer,

I hope you can get a fair recourse from All Best.

2 of the smaller companies recommended changing of my air-cons which are working just fine even though they are 9 years old.

So I said, ok I will change together with the pipes which are around 9 yrs old.

BOTH COMPANIES SAID, oh no, your pipes are ok, just change air-con. (change pipe will be "big project" one company said). I don't feel right as the pipes are old! also my place has rats and all.. I would surely want to change pipe if I were to spend so much to change the air-con!

After browsing through these forum and advice from Maxicool and Newway, I realised I DO NEED TO CHANGE PIPE. I reason, air-con last around 10 years, even if my pipe are ok at the 10th year mark, they probably can't survive 20 years with the new air-cons.

I decided to answer you here instead of pte messsage as I hope someone will reply you, so that we can have a clearer picture.

Are your pipes concealed in false ceiling? it should not be that difficult as I just did mine. Most of my pipes are concealed in the false ceiling.

I hope All Best could give you a fair deal, and perhaps you should make your enquiry to CASE?

berkeley

I recently did my chemical overhaul with Newway. Called up Zac as mentioned in earlier posts. Friendly and approachable guy. I actually wanted to get Jason for the job but he's pretty packed due to the haze period.

Two guys came for the appt. One Singaporean and his apprentice. They spent more than 2 hrs cleaning just one unit. I didn't really supervise how they were doing the cleaning but from the looks of it, I would say they really put in effort and clean very thoroughly. They laid plastic sheets on the floor, check gas reading before/during/after topping up, check/clear for leakage, dismantle the whole a/c and bring to toilet to clean. Even sprayed some purifier disinfectant solution after cleaning and assembling the aircon, which was rather thoughtful.

The guy who came is humble and knowledgeable. He also told me that actually for chemical overhaul, once every 1-2 years is enough for HDB units (rather than the standard once every 6 mths pitch). Price wise - I think it's cheaper if u svc more 1 unit. Mine is single unit and they charge more for single unit. For single unit, Jason is probably cheaper. My aircon is a lot cooler after servicing. Even though price is a bit higher, for the effort they put in I think it's still worth it, considering I can get an earlier appointment whereas other companies are fully booked till Aug. Also I think Newway runs a team of technicians rather than one-man show, and despite this, quality is not compromised, which is quite impressive.

Will give Jason a try next time.
Thank you so much for sharing! I engaged both Maxicool (Jason) and Newway.

I just signed a one year contract with Newway for a tenanted place. Will start in October as I just installed new aircon.

Jason just serviced my own home aircon. I used to put 25C, 5 bars fan speed. Now I just need to put 26C with ONE bar! its still a bit too cold for me, I wonder if I could put 27C. I will book Maxicoool for my parents aircon.

For my own place and parents place, we are flexible and could do weekday so Maxicool is fine, for the other place, I reckon Newway is more suitable as they will have more available dates.

But I have not seen how Newway service the aircon, would very much like to see. Jason's standard is super high, I really would be very impressed if Newway can come close to that level of cleanliness.

*Jason serviced 6 of our air-cons. Usually with my former contractor, I will only service 3 at a time as they will go out of stamina and the last few units are not as clean as they first few! Jason, however, explained that it is better to service all 6 at a go, to check some piping thing .. I can't remember. I prefer to have all 6 being serviced, and as I mentioned in the previous post, Jason did a thorough job. Embarrassed to say, our air-con have never been so cleaned. After watching how the air-con was being servived in the past, I don't see much value of servicing, so I service them half yearly.

My parents unit are ME starmax, according to Jason, he likes to service ME as he can remove the coil (or something), and the whole unit will be very cleaned! My parents rarely used their air-con and never serviced them before :( so I hope everything will be ok haha..

maxicoolservices

Hi Berkeley,

Once again Thank You for your kind comments.
I have dropped you a pm with an August date for servicing at your parents place.

What Jason meant by servicing all 6 units at 1 go is because all the pipings are linked for your 6 units which means that if you service all at 1 go, the pipes can be cleared more efficiently. Other than that it would also be more cost efficient. We are glad that your aircon is running at its peak efficiency and we cannot Thank You enough for your kind comments.

As for the Mitsubishi Electric units in your parents house. Rest assured that Jason will do his best to ensure that the units are thoroughly cleaned.
What he meant was to remove the blower (not the coils) during servicing.

For most of his servicing he will try to remove the blower for cleaning whenever possible (some of the models in the market does not allow removal of blower without dismantling the whole unit).

Once again we will like to express our Heartfelt Thanks to your recommendations and also for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you again.

Best Regards,

Celia/Jason
░▒░▒░▒ ░▒░▒░▒

Thank you so much for sharing! I engaged both Maxicool (Jason) and Newway.

I just signed a one year contract with Newway for a tenanted place. Will start in October as I just installed new aircon.

Jason just serviced my own home aircon. I used to put 25C, 5 bars fan speed. Now I just need to put 26C with ONE bar! its still a bit too cold for me, I wonder if I could put 27C. I will book Maxicoool for my parents aircon.

For my own place and parents place, we are flexible and could do weekday so Maxicool is fine, for the other place, I reckon Newway is more suitable as they will have more available dates.

But I have not seen how Newway service the aircon, would very much like to see. Jason's standard is super high, I really would be very impressed if Newway can come close to that level of cleanliness.

*Jason serviced 6 of our air-cons. Usually with my former contractor, I will only service 3 at a time as they will go out of stamina and the last few units are not as clean as they first few! Jason, however, explained that it is better to service all 6 at a go, to check some piping thing .. I can't remember. I prefer to have all 6 being serviced, and as I mentioned in the previous post, Jason did a thorough job. Embarrassed to say, our air-con have never been so cleaned. After watching how the air-con was being servived in the past, I don't see much value of servicing, so I service them half yearly.

My parents unit are ME starmax, according to Jason, he likes to service ME as he can remove the coil (or something), and the whole unit will be very cleaned! My parents rarely used their air-con and never serviced them before :( so I hope everything will be ok haha..

Last edited by a moderator:

librahaha

Hi.. need advise, what's the different between Armaflex 1/2" class "0" insulation and class "1" insulation.

Thanks

taloon00

Class '1' will release smog when burnt.
Class '0' will not.

That is the general difference. for residential usage, Class '1' is sufficient.

maxicoolservices

Hi Librahaha,

You can refer to Armacell website per below to find out more.
Inside you will be able to find the MSDS nd also brochure which will explain in more detail.

Armacell - Class 1 Armaflex

Armacell - Class 0 Armaflex

Basically the difference between Class 1 and Class 0 are only on the fire retardant properties. Supposedly when it comes to insulation for aircon, the thickness should play a more importation role.

As what some in the forum may have already mentioned for residential usually Class 1 is more then sufficient but of course this would be up to individual descretion.

Best Regards.

Jason Tham
░▒░▒░▒ ░▒░▒░▒

Hi.. need advise, what's the different between Armaflex 1/2" class "0" insulation and class "1" insulation.

Thanks

Swordsman

Hi Park Jin Young,

If you are looking for a new unit temporarily then cheapest way will be to get a portable aircon (cooling efficiency might be compromised) or window casement (nosier) as compared to a system 1:1.

Look around the major departmental stores for promos and pricing.

Hope this helps.

Best Regards,

Jason Tham
Maxicool Services

you recommend few brand/model before..

which is the most energy saving and largest btu ?

maxicoolservices

Hi Swordsman,

Understand from your posting on another thread that you are looking at window units.

Currently there are limited choices in the market for window units.
LG and Panasonic are the more popular ones.

If you are looking for the largest BTU, LG does have a 12000 BTU and a 16000 BTU model and the latter is not too common. Panasonic only carries 9000 BTU model.

Supposedly for HDB flats, 9000BTU should be sufficient to cool a bedroom however if you are those who is looking to cool the room really quickly or like you mentioned in another thread a polar bear, 12000 BTU and above seems to be the better choice.

You can also work out your required BTU based on the measurement of your room for a better gauge as it would not be really cost/energy efficient to have highly oversized capacity unit when a smaller capacity unit is sufficient to do the job but of course this would be up to your personal preference.

Energy saving wise unfortunately window units are not known to be really energy saving and the noise emitted is louder than a single split aircon.

Best Regards,

Jason Tham
░▒░▒░▒ ░▒░▒░▒

you recommend few brand/model before..

which is the most energy saving and largest btu ?

Dvrormt

Mold Issue and Air-con servicing

Currently, I have serious mold problem in my master bedroom (one year vacant). Two 10 squared cm black mold on the wall.

Do I engage a air-con service first or do I remove the mold first? As long I do not turn on the air-con after chemical wash, is it fine to service the air-con unit first?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.