[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 3

Panad0l

I am going to tw during Dec till Jan. This is my first solo trip.

I need some of ur advise.

-Is it possible to cycle? ( I was looking at Taroko)
-Is it possible to cycle within a day?

I was looking at Alishan or Taroko.
Since Alishan have tram to go up, so i opt for Taroko.

fireworks79

dec to jan, veri cold...not suitable to cycle
if realli wan to cycle
for taroko, 1 day cycle might b too rushing

fireworks79

actually looking at this map...

p273.jpg

are 北海岸及觀音山國家風景區, 東北角暨宜蘭海岸國家風景區 and 陽明山國家公園 worth going to?

that's y i ask if staying around taipei station ok or not, or too far/out of the way...

after that i will go down to hualien/taroko liao...

not too far, u can go there early in the morning n return back to ur hotel at night but den u must go out veri early if not will b veri rushing

calkel20

Alishan tram to go up? Not really. The train from chiayi to alishan was damaged n not repaired yet.
The only tram is from alishan recreation area to 祝山 and 神木。 All walking distance , no need bicycle.

xinyi71

Need money in tw

Hi, would like to check. Me in tw currently but I need ntd as change not enuff. If I sign credit card for buying things, is there any charge? If draw from ATM, can only posh/DBS card? What's the charge like?

calkel20

anyone can recommend where to stay in hualien? Planning to stay 2 nights. preferably have sea view or mountain view or nice natural sceneries.
After hualien, planing to spend 1 night at SML. Any recommendation?
Budget is about $100 per night.

Ur 100 budget is a bit tight. Want nice view etc really is hard lor. There is a minsu near 七星潭。
http://www.bayview.com.tw/en/mail.php see nice nice outside, u go ask price ba. 100-150 is easier. Go on a sun-thur period, the price diff could be the dealbreaker for u.

calkel20

Hi, would like to check. Me in tw currently but I need ntd as change not enuff. If I sign credit card for buying things, is there any charge? If draw from ATM, can only posh/DBS card? What's the charge like?

Sign card, say it maybe in the range of only 23ntd to 1 sgd. Withdrawal rates: some mentioned as dun have the 5 dollars overseas charges. Exchange rate is unknown.

Do u have sgd cash with u? If yes, can wait till tomorrow n get into any bank n change there maybe a better choice.

xinyi71

Sign card, say it maybe in the range of only 23ntd to 1 sgd. Withdrawal rates: some mentioned as dun have the 5 dollars overseas charges. Exchange rate is unknown.

Do u have sgd cash with u? If yes, can wait till tomorrow n get into any bank n change there maybe a better choice.

Yupz. Have abt $500 sgd with me. Thanks! Anyone knows how to get to DBS bank here in tw? Me staying near Taipei main station.

calkel20

Planning to book that for Feb...

But going out a bit of hassle. But non the less, it is a good choice. Just that quite a distance from night market. Going to zhongshan area/city centre is ok nearby by cab la. But to tze chiang night market. Cab may need abt 200 range.

Gixxerfied

But going out a bit of hassle. But non the less, it is a good choice. Just that quite a distance from night market. Going to zhongshan area/city centre is ok nearby by cab la. But to tze chiang night market. Cab may need abt 200 range.

Cabbing...4 person so easy easy..

calkel20

Yupz. Have abt $500 sgd with me. Thanks! Anyone knows how to get to DBS bank here in tw? Me staying near Taipei main station.

Sun yat sen memorial, walk over there. Got phone then use google map. It cannot get any easier than that. Stay where in TMS?
Shopping malls do not change SgD.
They take in RMB,USD,EUR,JPY, and GBP.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.