SIM UOL students lip lais! - Part 5

Jxxelst

You can take up to 6 mods per year, and maximum they'll only allow you to self study for 1 mod.

It is quite tough to take 6 mods in year 2 (I did it and my results are equally crappy) so you gotta plan well.

So meaning I have to pay for 'lesson fees' for 1 mod and another mod for self study for the 2 failed mods;
Then choose 4 new mods for year 2.

Am I right to say that?

screamopunk

So meaning I have to pay for 'lesson fees' for 1 mod and another mod for self study for the 2 failed mods;
Then choose 4 new mods for year 2.

Am I right to say that?

Yup that's right. Lesson fees for repeated mods will be charged at 50% off.

If you self study for the subject, you'll not be allowed to go for UK revision (I'm not sure about prelims I can't remember).

And yup you can choose 4 new mods for year 2 (provided you meet the specific mods requirements too)

fishercow

FM - 71
Audit - 67
MA - 65
Micro - 60

I'm giving away the notes from the above, but one condition is to meet at my convenience around Pasir Ris. Cheers :)

bees90

Any seniors can share how is ME and CF like? Thanks alot!!!

hi there! I took ME in 2012. Lessons by Mr manfred ting. During the lessons, felt that ME is one of the easiest to score. However, during the paper, I was totally taken aback by the difficulty of the paper. No joke. I actually did an essay question though its not compulsory. Was ready to fail it. But it turned out to be the best scoring subject out of my 4 mods. Haha! B. I think the paper was difficult to me as they changed their way of setting the questions. I took CF in 2012 too. From the start of the lessons, already knew that CF will be hard. so many things to know and learn! during the exam, the calculation questions were quite difficult and I did 2 essay and 2 calculation questions. I guessed the essay questions saved me. Managed to pass it. Hope this helps! :)

colourful_rainbow

I wan to clarify some qns. I failed my econ and ibm for the second attempt. What if the third attempt also fail, mean i will be exempted and which mean i cant graduate?

walsly

Yea for 1 mark only they might just give u to let u pass, I feel it's worth trying and appealing.

dont give misleading info ah brother.

unless chiu very sure they made a mistake in calculating your marks then u appeal.

if you r hoping to gain some sympathy marks hoping they kelian u let u pass then i say pls dont waste your 100pounds( or was it 50?).

theres a reason why they gave u 1-2 marks short of passing. i think many ppl here as well as lecturers hav made it clear liao. it simply means the markers think tat person shldnt pass at all. Appealing will only get them to re-calculate the marks, they will not re-mark the papers.

zephyr

dont give misleading info ah brother.

unless chiu very sure they made a mistake in calculating your marks then u appeal.

if you r hoping to gain some sympathy marks hoping they kelian u let u pass then i say pls dont waste your 100pounds( or was it 50?).

theres a reason why they gave u 1-2 marks short of passing. i think many ppl here as well as lecturers hav made it clear liao. it simply means the markers think tat person shldnt pass at all. Appealing will only get them to re-calculate the marks, they will not re-mark the papers.

ok la if it's 39 marks.. i oso think shud try. although lets say 99% chance the marker wun sympathise wif u... but i rather take that 1% risk pay 100 pound than use another year and another few k to retake it leh.. just my opinion la.. cos for me personally, i cant afford to waste any more years. by the time i grad (if everything smoothly), i will alr be 25.. cant imagine graduating anytime later sia

walsly

ok la if it's 39 marks.. i oso think shud try. although lets say 99% chance the marker wun sympathise wif u... but i rather take that 1% risk pay 100 pound than use another year and another few k to retake it leh.. just my opinion la.. cos for me personally, i cant afford to waste any more years. by the time i grad (if everything smoothly), i will alr be 25.. cant imagine graduating anytime later sia

i can unstd... a handful of my fnds tried.. only to be disappointed even further... but then again, even with that glimpse of hope is also worth trying when **** hits the ceiling

zephyr

i can unstd... a handful of my fnds tried.. only to be disappointed even further... but then again, even with that glimpse of hope is also worth trying when **** hits the ceiling

yea i understand oso. from my point of view, just dun be too optimistic lor. it's a chance, no doubt, but dun pin high hopes for it. It's just a gamble of 1% chance better than 0% chance i feel

Venice_7

Hi!

I just checked my results and I failed MA by 2 marks..

I am thinking of appealing..Does everyone had experience with regard to appealing with UOL?

Can you pls PM me? I seriously need advice.

Thanks!!

ping56

Anyone took monetary economics this year?
Seems like most of the ppl here took industrial instead..
I'm in enf so it's my turn to choose now lol
At first when attempting micro this year, thought it was easier than macro.. But end up macro marks is higher..

Hmm but it seems like industrial is hard to get A?
In a dilemma..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.