[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 4

calkel20

Sotong K might have those kind of design on her fingernails also.. :s13:

she still alive:s11::s11:

Telur17 zehzeh mentioned yuri still owe her twinning tea lor!

Yuri! Dun hide liao. Owe kopi pay kopi!
1400401_10153492106060136_1581850589_o.jpg

kevin301

1) Nearest HSR station is Chiayi. I would advise using the TRA to get to Chiayi TRA Station, bus frequency there is more frequent. Might be able to share a driver up to the main area

2) Alishan Main Recreation Area is done mostly by foot and the train system there. Others like fenchihu etc etc can be done by bus or driver if you can find others to share the cost. If you have nv driven left hand drive and in mountainous winding roads, i would suggest not to.

Thanks so much for the information and recommendations! :)
I shall be headed there from Kaohsiung. Will catch TRA train from Kaohsiung to Chiayi, then a bus (or share driver) to Alishan.

I checked Google Maps and there is a bus terminal about 2 or 3 blocks from the train station. It could be quite inconvenient to carry my luggage over this distance, so I was wondering if there is also a bus service directly from the train station (i.e. the location in photo)
Taiwan_ChiayiStation_zpscbdc780c.jpg

I have driven in Taiwan, Europe and US before, so left-hand drive is no issue. Was just thinking that it may be more relaxing (though possibly more time-consuming) to not drive this trip.

Gixxerfied

Thanks so much for the information and recommendations! :)
I shall be headed there from Kaohsiung. Will catch TRA train from Kaohsiung to Chiayi, then a bus (or share driver) to Alishan.

I checked Google Maps and there is a bus terminal about 2 or 3 blocks from the train station. It could be quite inconvenient to carry my luggage over this distance, so I was wondering if there is also a bus service directly from the train station (i.e. the location in photo)
Taiwan_ChiayiStation_zpscbdc780c.jpg

I have driven in Taiwan, Europe and US before, so left-hand drive is no issue. Was just thinking that it may be more relaxing (though possibly more time-consuming) to not drive this trip.

TRA to Chiayi..The bus heading up to Alishan is just outside the station to your right..Small bus terminal..

Cost of getting a car vs hiring driver/public buses..But generally IMHO, to rent a car for Alishan isnt quite worth it unless u're rushing to go elsewhere.

From your picture, we got our tickets from a small building to the left.

ger ger

My colles laugh at me say I kaisu So early book private driver to bring me around Taiwan,I told them some popular de aldy fully booked...sibei sianz

U all not only pro at Taiwan, online shopping also thumb up

Gixxerfied

My colles laugh at me say I kaisu So early book private driver to bring me around Taiwan,I told them some popular de aldy fully booked...sibei sianz

U all not only pro at Taiwan, online shopping also thumb up

My Hualien minsu was booked in Sept lehx... :s13:

Not kiasu..I prefer to settle things as early as possible and not rush around in the last 1-2 months before the trip trying to secure some bookings only to find out that it's fully booked..

kevin301

TRA to Chiayi..The bus heading up to Alishan is just outside the station to your right..Small bus terminal..

Cost of getting a car vs hiring driver/public buses..But generally IMHO, to rent a car for Alishan isnt quite worth it unless u're rushing to go elsewhere.

From your picture, we got our tickets from a small building to the left.

Thanks very much for the info!
So I shall find my way to the Alishan main area.

* Next item on agenda is to find a way to get from Alishan to Fenqihu and back to Alishan.

Gixxerfied

Thanks very much for the info!
So I shall find my way to the Alishan main area.

* Next item on agenda is to find a way to get from Alishan to Fenqihu and back to Alishan.

Fenchihu can be done by driver or bus thou..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.