[OFFICIAL] Taiwan Guide and Taiwan related matters - Part 4

fireworks79

Hi everyone,

Need advise on where to stay.
We will be gng in end feb for 9 days 8 night. Planning to visit alishan for Sakura and hualien for taroko.

We are not into catching sunrise in alishan as to us it's not worth the trouble. Mainly to visit alishan for Sakura only. Where will be a better place to stay alishan area or chiayi? Will be flying by Scott's reaching tpe at 6am. Thinking of go direct to Jiayi first but the big luggages will be a concern.

If staying in jiayi will be hotel, need advices of taking the 2 hrs bus ride up to alishan will be worth the effort or spend our night in alishan will be better.
Is there a time restrict for vehicles to enter alishan ? Previously during this year trip, was told by our driver there is such restriction.
Those who stay in alishan, is there anything else to do in the end other than visiting 7/11 if any?

For taroko gorge visit, we are thinking of either cheong all the way from jiayi and spend our night in hualien and next day taroko with a private cab. If not will be go back tpe for 1 night than cheong taroko. Any drivers to recommend other than Tiffany ?

Where do u guys stand in hualien or taroko ?

Back in tpe, we plan to visit hou tong for the kitties. Cause we have covered generally jiufen, shifen, jing guashi etc.
sunrise is a must when u go alishan. if u r just going for sakura, can go yangming shan. dun need spend so much money n time to go all the way to alishan. at alishan area, other than sunrise, sakura, sunset, forestry train n cypress trees, it natural sightseeing n fototaking.

fireworks79

Hi guys! need some help here :o

I'm heading to Taipei for a semester of study (exchange) in Feb next year all the way to July, along with a few other friends. We require accommodation out of campus..so I'm wondering if there's any apartment that we are able to rent for a period of 5-6 months?

Location of my university here

Will greatly appreciate it if anyone can point me in the right direction, thanks! :)
i tok uni will settle for u??
if u want, i can ask my frd to ask ard

Gixxerfied

change to Tmax:s13:

Last time when downgrading my 750 to a scooter already tot of t-max, somemore shop was offering me a good deal for a 2nd hand low mileage t-max 500...

But the insurance, still class 2 cat..Sua..Now my insurance is about $170 TPFT niax..

fireworks79

Last time when downgrading my 750 to a scooter already tot of t-max, somemore shop was offering me a good deal for a 2nd hand low mileage t-max 500...

But the insurance, still class 2 cat..Sua..Now my insurance is about $170 TPFT niax..

but last time, u still below 30 mah....now over liao insurance should b $300-$500 only

Telur17

LMAO. Then hope it will get colder when you leave lor...:s22:

tpe dun snow like NY...of cos not cold la
even high mountains snow, the thickness is only 1-3cm. a normal snowfall in NY can easily win tw liao
my tw friends tell me its cold. wear more layers. but not cold at all lor. wish it would stop raining though.

finally had mala steamboat yest. soooo yumny

Gixxerfied

but last time, u still below 30 mah....now over liao insurance should b $300-$500 only

300-500 reh...

My runner 1st insurance under 30 was like $220 only...currently at 170 can renew for 2 1/2 years siax.. :s13:

Tyres also cheaper..

fireworks79

my tw friends tell me its cold. wear more layers. but not cold at all lor. wish it would stop raining though.

finally had mala steamboat yest. soooo yumny

taiwanese seem to b like veri scared of cold wan
when i wear normal long sleeve of polo t wif jeans n take mrt wif frds....everyone always like looking at us....
for most sinkies who always stay in air-con room, basically even 15deg is not veri cold lo

if u drink some rice wine, even better

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.