iHerb free international shipping

wizzyslurpee

nice!

buy that Starwest try :D

Hehe, it is the most economical... and organic some more! I haven't opened my packet yet so don't blame me if you don't like hor. :p

But if you already have been drinking green tea, I think should be ok lah. :)

wizzyslurpee

And this is the Twinings gunpowder hotstuff was talking about:

Twinings, Classics, Gunpowder Green Loose Tea, 3.53 oz (100 g) - iHerb.com

Ok, I have finished 2 cups so here's my preliminary review :s13::

Since there is interest for this product, I took more pictures. This is the box itself:

Tfyz573.jpg

And when you open it, you see:

af6aZjp.jpg

The brewing instructions are on the foil (top right and below). 100 degree Celsius water and 3~5 min brewing time. But really, the black text on the silver foil makes reading impossible. I am not exaggerating – you can see for yourself when you buy yours - I had to literally use a magnifying glass to read the text (which was sharp and clear once magnified).

iSKN95h.jpg

wizzyslurpee

These are the tea leaves:

zB7Kouy.jpg

Honestly, the leaves look like maggots wriggling from the picture. :eek: But they don't really look as gross as the photo. :p

For comparison, this is the frontier organic gunpowder:

iR8Bfw9.jpg

(Fried onion rings, anyone?)

After you open it, the smell of the raw tea leaves is quite nice. The tin itself is quite suitable for keeping tea even after you open the aluminum foil. Nevertheless, green tea is not as fermented as e.g. black tea so you don’t want to keep it longer than necessary to ensure freshness.

Back to the brewing instructions, some will tell you the ideal temperature for brewing is e.g. 70 degree Celsius or that you should e.g. immerse the leaves for only 8~12 seconds. Personally, I am not so much a connoisseur so I normally use whatever temperature of hot water I have in my water dispenser. If the brewing time is given, I try to follow where feasible (since seconds and minutes are quite different!)

For this first try, I followed the brewing instructions for temperature and time. I used around 2 teaspoons (10ml spoon) of tea leaves to make 2x1.5 8 oz cups of tea. This is the “ideal” amount of tea leaves I have been tweaking for my Frontier gunpowder tea so I am using the same for Twinings. [Taste is subjective though so you have to find your own optimal amount of tea leaves to use for your preferred tea strength]

And this is the brewed tea:

4CwHbHp.jpg

The fragrance of the brewed tea is quite mild. You have to put your nose to the tea to smell anything. The color is yellow like yellow urine (oops) but then again, many teas have this yellow color. :)

Taste-wise, it is mild (it did say 1 out of 5 leaves for flavor strength on the tea tin). However, it is a very smooth tea (not oily smooth but clean smooth). I probably need to increase the tea leaves/brewing time to brew Twinings though (compared with Frontier). Edit: I really need to add more leaves - my tea is already pretty tasteless for round 2.

All said, I will still consider it a decently good tea. For those new to green tea, it is a good tea to start with. This is only a small 100g tin anyway so it won't be too big a loss if you don't like it. :)

ps - I have finally unraveled the mystery. They count each emoticon used as 1 picture... no wonder I can never get 8 real pictures in!

Edit: I just noticed the unfurled tea leaves. The Twinings one got holes in the leaves one... I don't think I ever noticed holes in the Frontier one. I will try remember to brew the Frontier one tmr and check for holes. *gasp*

hotstuff4u

I know. This one right?

2l4g3VS.png

I got try before. Ok lor.

Anyway just now I made an order via Prime Online. I added instant oat initially... then took it off. This is too healthy for me! :s12:

You know the thing about healthy food is that even though you don't mind the taste or even quite like it, you might not want to pick it up to eat.

Weet-Bix-makes-Australia-s-most-trusted-brands-list_strict_xxl.jpg

weet-bix

hotstuff4u

i find it very funny u go n read..it's true really cannot read wan..i just peel off nia

wizzyslurpee

dig ard the starwest section and find this:

Starwest Botanicals, Chunmee Green Tea Whole, Organic, 1 lb - iHerb.com

getting it also..
1lb.. the price is gd..

local I buy those really low grade green tea leaves already $5 for 200g :s22:

Hehe... btw don't get carried away and forget the currency hor... the iHerb prices are in USD. Punch your calculator to see the unit prices in the same currency. :s13:

Chun Mee tea - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I wonder what quality number this starwest product has. :s8:

But I didn't notice this last time. I will bookmark it for the future. :s13:

hotstuff4u

This is the non-organic frontier gunpowder I mentioned:
Frontier Natural Products, Gunpowder Tea, Special Pin Head, 16 oz (453 g) - iHerb.com

This is the organic frontier gunpowder I have tried:
Frontier Natural Products, Fair Trade Organic Gunpowder Green Tea, 16 oz (453 g) - iHerb.com

This is the organic starwest gunpowder that is actually the cheapest of the 3:
Starwest Botanicals, Gunpowder Green Tea Whole, Organic, 1 lb - iHerb.com

quite cheap hor.... 453 g is like x4 of twinings...twinings 100g $5.41 nia..

so u still prefer frontier lah? never heard of the brand before...:s22:

wizzyslurpee

I thot u say gunpowder wan is round round de..your pic quite blur

Sorry. Bad camera + bad photographer. I already tried my best. :o

It's not totally round in the symmetrical sense. It's like this one:

qteaKjN.png

Clearer picture I gop from the internet. :s12:

hotstuff4u

wizzy...

then...according to your expert tongue...which is your best green tea from iherb ah?

wizzyslurpee

Oh this one. I also eat before but this one is not oat leh.

It's "healthy" wheat but also wheat. My mum says it's like pig hay. I find it quite ok tasting with milk. But the box is so big; I always lost interest before I can finish them all.

All said, it is still wheat. Unhealthy healthy wheat. :s13:

hotstuff4u

eh...i was thinking at the back of my mind..alot of ppl in H&F must be rolling their eyes at us so nuts abt shopping for diet pills n food to eat :(

hotstuff4u

Oh this one. I also eat before but this one is not oat leh.

It's "healthy" wheat but also wheat. My mum says it's like pig hay. I find it quite ok tasting with milk. But the box is so big; I always lost interest before I can finish them all.

All said, it is still wheat. Unhealthy healthy wheat. :s13:

i got eat lah..last time wan slim down..got eat that with milk...can puke de lor :(

haiz..

eh ...u n me same..always lose interest easily n got mountains of things cannot finish..how ah? this 3 min hotness must cure :( got pills?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.