Digital TV (DVB T2) in Singapore [consolidated]

mrsun18

postimg.org/image/4foe56lyn/ should be the MATV, postimg.org/image/ljnbow0c9/ should be the SCV point(mine is the older design, there are updated design at newer flats). :)
Yes...how come you are using the FM outlet for the scv point? So few people use it that they no longer provide the FM outlet.

coedes

Just got the daiyo EU 1702 to try HD digital tv on my DVB-t2 capable tv. I live red hill area. I do not have mio or starhub subscription. I know some folks r frus about the HD TV rollout, but I just want to say the pic looks amazing.

Watched ch8 journey in HD (n 3D too, using LG passive) n it's really good. The pic, not the show. The show still sucks.

Of course my assessment of the pic is coming from one who lived with snowflakes analogue for last 2-3 yrs.

Also unlike analogue tv, digital tv provides all the additional info on the prog. I can toggle between eng n Chinese subtitles too. And now I can programme the tv to record shows using lg's time machine cos digital channel has all the tv listings.

All in all, now more reason to suck me away from interacting w humans n to watch more tv.

V nice. Worth the $64 for the daiyo. Previously a salesman tried to warn me tt no guarantee will get signal, must put antenna near window etc. turns out as long as it is high enough n pointed a certain way is ok. Of course this may b subjective to areas other than red hill.

Kiwi8

Yes...how come you are using the FM outlet for the scv point? So few people use it that they no longer provide the FM outlet.

The angle of the photo probably made u mistake that the cable was plugged into the FM outlet lah. It's actually plugged into the TV outlet. :o

mrsun18

The angle of the photo probably made u mistake that the cable was plugged into the FM outlet lah. It's actually plugged into the TV outlet. :o
My very own 1st generation scv point...
P1030960a_1.jpg

In case you don't see the pic, click on this link

A picture not worth a thousand words huh:s22:

My optical sensors need repair liao...

JazzFreaky

Got a daiyo DVB-T2 antenna to hook up with my LG 55LA740T, and it works perfectly. Enjoying 7 FTA digital channels. No more sucky picture from analogue signal. Haha.

Maybe for those start receiving digital signal can also post here with their location. Reporting from Yew Tee.

mingfreakrsx

yeah it's actually the angle of the picture, the cable is connected to the TV outlet actually :)

mrsun18

Got a daiyo DVB-T2 antenna to hook up with my LG 55LA740T, and it works perfectly. Enjoying 7 FTA digital channels. No more sucky picture from analogue signal. Haha.

Maybe for those start receiving digital signal can also post here with their location. Reporting from Yew Tee.
Good. How about the reception for the other 4 FTA T digital channels broadcast on Chan 38?

I am curious to know the overal performance of indoor antenna as claimed by makers, not just for chan 27, 29 and 31. MediaCorp plans to migrate octo to chan 33 by the middle of2014, according to its FAQ. Can share the model no. of your antenna?

eno_lc

Tried using the Draco box in hougang with the free antenna that comes with it, zero signal strength

SilveR1_09

Tried using the Draco box in hougang with the free antenna that comes with it, zero signal strength

Try auto tuning again?
Else, manual tune on channel 27,29 & 31.

Which direction is the antenna facing?
Try moving it about and ideally pointing to a window that faces West.

eno_lc

Try auto tuning again?
Else, manual tune on channel 27,29 & 31.

Which direction is the antenna facing?
Try moving it about and ideally pointing to a window that faces West.

Will try again, but the included antenna is a round shaped one

coedes

Think even tho round shape u turn it to face diff direction can have effect. Also put higher if possible. N like the rest said, try near window, n use auto tuning on ur tv

ah_cheng1882

I was thinking of buying the Draco too, to see if it can display both digitial and analogue channels. But my home only has the SCV cable point. Any idea if I can plug the Draco setup box to the SCV cable point to receive both digitial and analogue channels?

PS: My mum enjoys watching Channel U shows and they are only available on analogue so far.

Hougang is quite an old estate.
If you have the HDB MATV, plugging the Draco to it might be better.

mrsun18

@eno_lc

I have tested comprehensively the behaviour of the Draco antenna for the past few days. Will write a more complete guide when I have the time.

Meanwhile, I suggest you do manual scan, instead of auto, channel by channel, for 27, 29 and 31. In manual scan, you have visual indication of signal strength as you move the antenna around. The response is pretty slow. Have to be patient.

There is a built-in amplifier but no need to try. It doesn't work (I tested).

If still can't work, you may try with an extension cable. Good luck.

Edit: try SilveR1_09 suggestion first.

mrsun18

I was thinking of buying the Draco too, to see if it can display both digitial and analogue channels. But my home only has the SCV cable point. Any idea if I can plug the Draco setup box to the SCV cable point to receive both digitial and analogue channels?

PS: My mum enjoys watching Channel U shows and they are only available on analogue so far.
The output of Draco comes with two options: HDMI and composite (cables supplied). If you tv set has a spare input for one of these, you can watch channels from scv as per normal. When you want to watch digital programs from Draco, you just select the source from the tv set accordingly.

AnDyLe0

draco set top box is for DVB-T2/DVB-T digital channels only. not for analogue.
for analogue channels, just connect scv socket to tv directly (as usual) and ur tv should be able to recv analogue channels clearly (as analogue signal is transmitted via scv cable, not over-the-air).

channel u was available on analogue before dec 2013. now all mediacorp channels are available via DVB-T2 digital.

coedes

ya have seen the draco one. mine is the Daiyo EU1702 without the tuner set-top box. it's rectangular. at first cannot get. then when raised it to certain height and pointed it another direction then can. when i moved it the signal was lost again, so went back to the sweet spot.

the good thing about digital antenna is that either u get the signal or not. no need to worry whether u can get stronger/clearer signal if u reposition antenna. once u have it, leave it there.

unlike analogue antenna which must twist here there point diff way and the signal strength can vary.

harky

hi
if my scv setop box is digital.... can i still receive HD? or need to upgrade to HD setop box?

becos my tv was not hdtv so did not upgrade But than tot of connect one cable to desktop to watch hd hmm..

minute_me

If my starhub set top box is the old one, can my T2 smart full HD tv receive the HD channel?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.