Where to tailor clothes =D

cowed77

Eh actually I also same situation.. Got meself a navy jacket frm H&M at half price, was 240... The tag says wool, but just by feeling it, it looks like polyester mostly haha!

Then I tot to pair with my blue pants...

Issit really that bad a fashion crime? Cannot give chance one ah? Then I'll be left with my khaki chinos liao sia...

gaoxing84

agree.... buy bigger pants alter easier

there's a issue, the belt look will be close together and it just gonna look weird.

i am a w31, i have to buy w34 to fit my calfs. lol imagine the amount of alternation needed at the waist.

haha i will take a chance on a tailored pants. try to find similar color shade.

ecan07

the thing is i already bought the "blazer" ready made from zara.
and the zara pants of the same line is too skinny for my liking.
so i have find similar material or color to match it. Don't feel the mix color look for my first suit.
oh ya, won't have my own fabric, gotta choose from what the tailor have.
will be bring my blazer down to match

this is what i got from zara (i hate the pants can i got huge calfs, and sorry for my dumb smile :(, and dont mind the shoes)
the blazer material is some sort different from the regular material, so have to bring down to the tailor to see if i can find smt similar.
IMG-20140108-WA003_zps6072145e.jpg

Wee oh wee! Handsum!

zhane

there's a issue, the belt look will be close together and it just gonna look weird.

i am a w31, i have to buy w34 to fit my calfs. lol imagine the amount of alternation needed at the waist.

haha i will take a chance on a tailored pants. try to find similar color shade.

dunno leh... i still tink alter better..
they cut awae the excess to make it fit mah

yswrox

Refrain from trying to make a matching pants. go for a different color that is suitable.

My regular pants maker in Chinatown is Gold Tailor Fashion House. 2nd floor of Peoples Park Center.

CMT price used to be $40, CNY Period increased to $50. Will be $45 after CNY Period.

Just wondering, where you go to buy your pants material to bring to them for CMT?

Also was thinking of making some shirts, heard good stuff about Sze Sze. But also read someone say that they're not too good for shirts? Any truth to it?

I've been going to Dylan all along and now wanna try out other places...

Nayr-_

Just wondering, where you go to buy your pants material to bring to them for CMT?

Also was thinking of making some shirts, heard good stuff about Sze Sze. But also read someone say that they're not too good for shirts? Any truth to it?

Can try Chinatown/RSK/eBay or HST depending on your budget for pants fabric

arctuates

Unbutton the bottom button. It's not meant to be buttoned, plus it will help with the collar gap issue when you stand normally.

Rumpling on jacket sleeves and pant legs is due to the overly slim cut of jackets from "fashionable" retailers like zara. No saving you there. It doesn't look too bad in motion shots, or when you are standing there on your own - but it will show up painfully should you ever stand next to someone who dons a well-fitting suit. More accurate critique can be obtained if you stand normally, e.g. with arms at the sides and outta your pockets.

It's not necessarily that you have big calves, but rather than the pants are cut extremely slim as to be skinny (as per above point). Pants at present are also too long - leave the stacks to jeans.

Lastly, there is no need to tuck in the tie end (back blade), but you can do so if you feel up to it. These days traditional practices have gone the way of the window in favor of a sprezzatura look, and the Italians practise a high degree of individuality in their preferences.

Hope this is useful info to you. Not meant to criticise, I myself am not perfect in these matters - but then this is a community after all.

All in a Day

I have not been to either, but Dylan and Sze Sze are both at quite different price points so I assume you factored that in your expectations when u say u want to try another tailor? Price is an important component for the "good" reviews that you read. I don't doubt that Sze Sze gives good value for money to those who gave positive reviews.

Not saying one tailor is better than another, but there probably should be discernable difference in workmanship/attention to details along with that price difference. That said, if u do try and turns out Sze Sze gives you a shirt that is close to comparable with Dylan, do share!

gaoxing84

Unbutton the bottom button. It's not meant to be buttoned, plus it will help with the collar gap issue when you stand normally.

means the shirt top button, don't button is it? won't look weird with a tie on it?

Rumpling on jacket sleeves and pant legs is due to the overly slim cut of jackets from "fashionable" retailers like zara. No saving you there. It doesn't look too bad in motion shots, or when you are standing there on your own - but it will show up painfully should you ever stand next to someone who dons a well-fitting suit. More accurate critique can be obtained if you stand normally, e.g. with arms at the sides and outta your pockets.

oh... haha thanks for the pointer. still learning. i guess i have to make do since i bought it. but i feel comfortable in it though. not too tight.

It's not necessarily that you have big calves, but rather than the pants are cut extremely slim as to be skinny (as per above point). Pants at present are also too long - leave the stacks to jeans.

i think they are cut extremely slim but i still have big calfs. due to the sports i play and i was fat last time. lol sad truth.
ya they are too long, did not purchase, took them to try. will go for length that sits nicely at my shoes.

Lastly, there is no need to tuck in the tie end (back blade), but you can do so if you feel up to it. These days traditional practices have gone the way of the window in favor of a sprezzatura look, and the Italians practise a high degree of individuality in their preferences.

i guess i will not tuck it in but made sure i tie the tie in a way it sits above my belt bucket or pants

Hope this is useful info to you. Not meant to criticise, I myself am not perfect in these matters - but then this is a community after all.

my replies in red.
btw. it's a 2 button jacket, when i am wearing it, should i button both or just one? if one, the top or bottom one? of course when i am standing up. :)

thanks man

Nayr-_

my replies in red.
btw. it's a 2 button jacket, when i am wearing it, should i button both or just one? if one, the top or bottom one? of course when i am standing up. :)

thanks man

For 2 button jacket only button the top button and leave the bottom one unbuttoned. Interesting to look at mannequins of different brands and notice which SA knows about it.

Ties IIRC ideally should be tied such that the length allows the tip of the tie to just touch your belt.

urbanturban

Jacket buttons when standing:
Top - sometimes
Middle - always
Bottom - never

If 2 button suit, ignore the 'top' button comment earlier.

All in a Day

For 2 button jacket only button the top button and leave the bottom one unbuttoned. Interesting to look at mannequins of different brands and notice which SA knows about it.

Ties IIRC ideally should be tied such that the length allows the tip of the tie to just touch your belt.

I think the sweet spot for length of tie is between the width of your belt in a standing position, assuming you wear your trousers at your natural waist line.

yswrox

I have not been to either, but Dylan and Sze Sze are both at quite different price points so I assume you factored that in your expectations when u say u want to try another tailor? Price is an important component for the "good" reviews that you read. I don't doubt that Sze Sze gives good value for money to those who gave positive reviews.

Not saying one tailor is better than another, but there probably should be discernable difference in workmanship/attention to details along with that price difference. That said, if u do try and turns out Sze Sze gives you a shirt that is close to comparable with Dylan, do share!

Yes I did consider that the two price their services quite differently... I will probably try out Sze Sze after CNY for some simple shirts/pants and see how they turn out in comparison with Dylan's...

That being said, Dylan is really expensive :s22:
Spent nearly 1k there for a couple of shirts and pants, but he does always provide really quality goods.

htngwilliam

Guys, when we buy a suit, the pocket usually come stitched. Do you actually open up the stitch or you just leave it closed up?

arctuates

You're supposed to cut em open. Unless of course, the pocket was never meant to be functional in the first place - which should be fairly obvious (eg. sewn up tightly, as opposed to a running stitch that's easily undone)

bigtaste

the thing is i already bought the "blazer" ready made from zara.
and the zara pants of the same line is too skinny for my liking.
so i have find similar material or color to match it. Don't feel the mix color look for my first suit.
oh ya, won't have my own fabric, gotta choose from what the tailor have.
will be bring my blazer down to match

this is what i got from zara (i hate the pants can i got huge calfs, and sorry for my dumb smile :(, and dont mind the shoes)
the blazer material is some sort different from the regular material, so have to bring down to the tailor to see if i can find smt similar.
IMG-20140108-WA003_zps6072145e.jpg

really nice! More outstanding than some 'fashion' expert wanabes.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.