How much you will need to bring for a trip to Japan

anyhowsaysay

Might try bring SGD$1500 for 10days trip to Osaka/Kyoto/Tokyo for foods n shopping. Not include accomondation n Jr pass. Izzit possible?

Should be okay. $150 per day.

Last time i brought SGD$5000 for 25 days trip. Only left around $700. :eek:

Only food + shopping only! :eek:

cpuer

Shopping maybe the snacks n hobby kits. Not sure their clothing cheap or not. I also thinking getting suica card juz in case. Or how u manage the transport might sic with me thx.

I spent 100 yen for breakfast, then a heavy lunch that normally cost about 1200 yen. Then end the evening with a Yoshinoya kind of food for about 700 yen. So average 2000 Yen per day. In between some snack. So highest i guess per day is about 2500Yen. But your budget is so much more, so don't be giam siap like me, gagah jiak hor liao.:D

If travel within Tokyo, the max Yamanote fare is 190yen per trip. So from here roughly you know how much you are going to spend on transport within the city.

SUICA card is for the convenience, worth getting one, no loss other than the 500 deposit and the processing fee if you want the refund at the end of your trip. But just keep the card as either a souvenir or for next trip, it can be used for the next 10 years.

a1v1n_

whats a common/good denomination of yen to bring along?
will be bringing 2k sgd and will be there for about 2 weeks.

evilerniex

whats a common/good denomination of yen to bring along?
will be bringing 2k sgd and will be there for about 2 weeks.

u will need to provide more information for us to advise on how much u need. which are the places u are visiting? restaurants or small eateries?

u can refer to the first post to get an idea how to budget for the trip

a1v1n_

decided on 2k sgd. just not sure what sort of denomination to bring along. if i'm not wrong, yen has 1k, 2k, 5k, 10k?

probably most small eateries. maybe on and off restaurants.

from how i read, was thinking of majority 2k and maybe a couple of 5k, 10k.

xtwis7

decided on 2k sgd. just not sure what sort of denomination to bring along. if i'm not wrong, yen has 1k, 2k, 5k, 10k?

The most common denominations you will be using are 100 yen, 1k, 5k and possibly 10k in restaurants. Card can be used at major establishments or DFS.

evilerniex

oh, sorry, misread ur question.

for denominations, usually dun have much choice, coz money changer here will give u 10k notes.

given the choice, i think i will still bring majority 10k notes. coz less notes to manage. easier to see how much u have left. just break when u need loh

zetsueix

I like to change my currency at Fountain Money Changer (MS) as they usually give at least 10,000 worth of 1000 yen notes together with the amt that I changed. Say I change 50k JPYN, they will give me 4 x 10k yen and 10x 1000 yen notes.

cancer81

tip

get rid of the coins whenever the chance arises, especially the 1,5,10 yen coins. You can use that to give yourself an excuse to buy a drink or two from all those vending machines you see everywhere :s13:

a1v1n_

got denominations of 10k. they didn't have smaller notes as mentioned by you guys.

shikimi

My family will be visiting Tokyo in May. It is a 9 day 8 night trip and we'll be going to disneyland, disneysea, hakone etc. I'm thinking of buying kitkats, tokyo banana, clothes and make up etc.

Will $700 per person be enough to cover all food and shopping expenses?

Adenovirus

My family will be visiting Tokyo in May. It is a 9 day 8 night trip and we'll be going to disneyland, disneysea, hakone etc. I'm thinking of buying kitkats, tokyo banana, clothes and make up etc.

not enough. you need at least 1k i think. $1.2k~$1.3k should be safe

anyhowsaysay

Why people are afraid to bring more??!?

If cannot finish can change back sgd and just lose a bit!!

evilerniex

if it is just food and snacks, $700 is enuf. however, i dunno how much u are planning to spend on cloths and make ups. maybe u can set aside a certain amount for shopping, and work out how much u need from there

shikimi

I have limited budget ma. Thanks Adenovirus, anyhowsaysay and evilerniex for replies :)

xtwis7

Kitkats, tokyo bananas (assumed buying for friends and colleagues) can cost up to $100 already. Somemore you go disneyland and disneysea, see people buy the merchandise you will most likely buy also. Say another $100. Generally too little unless your breakfast is like a 100yen bun and lunch is yoshinoya 300yen beef bowl.

vincent007

A tip for u, for kit kat dont bother going to the one at seibu ikebukuro. Its way more expensive and only 3 flavours, cream cheese, sakura matcha, and chilli. The last 2 u can get it else where esp at the airport. ¥4xx for 4 pcs vs ¥8xx for a box of either 10/12 pcs. Tokyo banana also just buy at the airport.

ddstony

i will be travel to tokyo thru travel agency group and how much do i need to bring ?
for 7 days

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.