NUS ppl lip lai - Part 6

boredddddd

those who did logic, what were ur answers for last 2 ah? I just took a look at my rough paper. mixed up the rules for necessity and possibility :s13:
All 10 qns.
Caacccbada.
Qn9 im quite sure.
Qn 8 and 10..... not very sure.... see a lot of exist and neg universal.... do until too confused so just put infinite lor. You leh?

Bonadaly

All 10 qns.
Caacccbada.
Qn9 im quite sure.
Qn 8 and 10..... not very sure.... see a lot of exist and neg universal.... do until too confused so just put infinite lor. You leh?

Just saw the exam paper from my philo junior. This sem's exam quite easy hor?

Your question 9 & 10 are wrong.

Qns 9 should be invalid and infinite.
Qns 10 should be valid and finite. It looks invalid if you translate using propositional logic. But it's actually valid if you use identity predicate. (This ******* Ben gave a hint to everyone - "counterintuitive", last time we don't have such help)

boredddddd

q9
1.square forAllX Fx, u
2. ~ forAllX square Fx, u

3. ~ square Fa, u (from 2)
4. ~Fa, v (from 3)
5. forAllX Fx, v (from 1)
6. Fa, v (from 5)
closes?

Bonadaly

q9
1.square forAllX Fx, u
2. ~ forAllX square Fx, u

3. ~ square Fa, u (from 2)
4. ~Fa, v (from 3)
5. forAllX Fx, v (from 1)
6. Fa, v (from 5)
closes?

Did Ben teach you all predicate logic properly?

Everything exist is translated as for all x (If Fx, then Gx)

F: x is a thing
G: x exists

It's the same thing as Everyone exist.

F: x is a person

Check out Greg Restall's book for more information :D

But don't get frustrated. If you are interested in Logic, you should read more. Forget about exams and who is right or wrong about the answers.

Bonadaly

Common mistake in Predicate Logic is that people translate everyone or someone exists without the predicate of a person. The idea of predicate is to list out the properties of the sentence as much as possible.

E.g. every shiny cat is cute is translated as forall x ( If (Fx&Gx) then Hx)

Not very sure if Ben tells you all about this???

Bonadaly

Philosophical Logic is very different from Mathematical Logic.

I know this module attracts a lot of CS or Mathematics majors. And they tend to challenge the philosophical translations of sentences. They have autistic tendencies like philosophy majors.

Mathematical Logic is more precise. Linguistic logic is more ambiguous or vague. Philosophical Logic is somewhere between.

That's why I don't regard people like Frege or Bertrand Rusell as philosophers. They are just logicians playing their own game.
The early Wittgenstein is also not a philosopher. Only the later Wittgenstein is. He realized he made a mistake. But it's too late. These ******* Cambridge and Oxford scholars turn philosophy into analytical game. That's why people have a bad impression of philosophy.

boredddddd

Did Ben teach you all predicate logic properly?

Everything exist is translated as for all x (If Fx, then Gx)

F: x is a thing

It's the same thing as Everyone exist.

F: x is a person

Check out Greg Restall's book for more information :D

But don't get frustrated. If you are interested in Logic, you should read more. Forget about exams and who is right or wrong about the answers.

i see what you mean.... my lecture notes very confusing de.... "everything exists" translated as forAllX Fx (not using identity) "every horse has 4 legs" as forAllX, Fx -> Gx, F is being horse, G is having 4 legs. not that he never taught la... :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.