NUS ppl lip lai - Part 6

Daimon

Since the argument has the word "Necessarily", isn't boreedddd's argument form correct? There should be a necessity modal operator in the form right? Or am I missing something? :s11:

Just add the bloody box in front of my translation.

Tree:
Square (for all x (If Fx, then Gx)), w
Negated (for all x (if Fx then square Gx), w

Daimon

That was your response. Yes, the two famed philosophers have made many comments about moral philosophy, metaphysics, and other fields in philosophy, but they are only correct for a few theories in our modern world.

I still don't see the need to gauge someone's ideas on philosophy (or in any other discipline, for that matter), and trivializing the works of all academic philosophers.

In any case, NYU has the critical mass of academic philosophers to blow your mind, and this is independent of your beliefs.

Perhaps. Taleb is good. But he is not an academic kind. And NYU hired the fraudster called Paul Krugman. The one who encourage printing of money to "save" the economy. Typical economist who doesn't understand risks.

mgx-alander

i already bery emose bcos of her grad oso nose mood to find jod

can dun rub salt on moi wound? :(

xerref

Grades are important especially when you're a fresh grad, just to secure the interview.

Anyway, hope everyone's exams went well

hilarious-yahoo-answers-wildammo-31.jpg

Daimon

Most of the philosophers were not academics kind with exceptions of German philosphers like Kant and Hegel. Leibniz was a polymath and diplomat. Hume is a historian. Schopenhauer was an independent philosopher. Spinoza grinds optical lenses for a living. Heidegger was an academic. But he wrote being and time outside the university.

More examples, Nietzsche was a solitary thinker. Poppper is an academic. But he is an outsider in the university. His colleagues don't like him.

Wittgenstein quit academics and advise his students not to join the academics as well. Sartre and Camus were novelists.

Descartes was independent philosopher as well. The university is a dogmatic place. Descartes wouldn't be able to write about doubting the existence of god.

Locke was an adviser to Lord Ashley.

Daimon

More: Marx was independent thinker funded by Engels. Francis Bacon was a politician. Montaigne was a mayor before he become an independent essayist.

Being an academic can corrupt one's soul. Especially when they are career conscious kind.

szupersub

Just add the bloody box in front of my translation.

Tree:
Square (for all x (If Fx, then Gx)), w
Negated (for all x (if Fx then square Gx), w
I don't think that there's a need for "F: x is a thing" in the glossary (at leas based on what we're taught and based on what we're tested on anyway)

'Everything exists' should be translated into '∀xFx' where Fx: x exists

tehhalia

fug my neh neh

exams over but i havent planned anything yet

anyone got lobang?

see that's the problem

before exam, you prepare for exams

but before holidays, you never prepare for holidays.

how can?

during exam period, take a few hours off and play. to better prepare yourself when holiday comes, you still know how to enjoy :s22::s22:

yihao93

see that's the problem

before exam, you prepare for exams

but before holidays, you never prepare for holidays.

how can?

during exam period, take a few hours off and play. to better prepare yourself when holiday comes, you still know how to enjoy :s22::s22:

ta ma de:s13::s13:

and mgx, i click the link gimme black box lei., HOW

tehhalia

any daimon, bonadaly or dr.bonadaly, what do you intend to do when you graduate? any ideas?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.