Any full time investor/trader here?

should be okay ba

anyway in the end the returns is just for own reference only

most important things when using a spread sheet is at a glance can see how's your portfolio doing

is it too volatile?
am I covering enough sectors? diversified enough or not?
as the prices move, is my portfolio PE too high?

some thing like that

it seem like those full time investors / traders don't just trade soley on SGX right

because as other bros also mention and I also experience myself ..hard to earn a big profit ..must scrab here a bit there a bit .....

unlike US market more stocks to play around

I will feel more happy if any full time investor / traders just solely trade in SGX can give some pointers

felixleong

if trade for a living hor...
do note that if u make a major mistake and lose your capital, its game over

I even seen case in 2007.. full time trader, got wipe out and jump down and die...

imagine u been trading full time for 2-3 years liao... then lose your capital... if u wanna go back find work.. very hard one... u will feel very depress and may even want to end your life...

so make sure u have at least 1 market cycle track record of profits, and confident that you can survive all the way once u go full time

once u take this path, there's no going back liao

wahkao3

you want to see high profits within weeks?

learn forex. it ain't easy but surely it is the only thing that can get you profits within weeks, even days.

but high profit also means potential for high or total loss.
there is also another term for forex
its called glorifed casino

Athelia

to have 100k is good for forex. but the beauty of forex is once you found your own strategy, you only need 5-10k for a start. i started with 6k in Dec 14, i had 30k in Feb 15. but the problem was i got over-confident in myself and deviated from my strategy and lost away 20k within 2 weeks. that's the danger of forex and playing it too well too fast. one art of forex is holding back when there is no good trade as well. cause there are so many pairs available to play. USD/JPY/GBP/AUD/CAD/SGD/CHF and so on.

options trading as well

wondrdoggie

I consider myself a full time private investor. Allocate my portfolio to several asset classes, mainly all run by professional managers. I don't need to do anything except look at it once every few months. I only trade a small amt to keep abreast of market. To be able to do this comfortably in the long run, I think you need 7 figures.

you can afford like that means you already quite well to do ?

7 figure ?

Obama486

lol math fail ah???

7 figures is

1 million and up la

LOL

but I think its true la

need at least that amount to generate enough passive income and not work

that's how u get out of the rat race

but sadly nowadays many young singaporeans are trapped for good

Car, HDB, study loans, credit cards

holiday trips, branded goods

too much ego to show off their life style on social network

seanyboydad

1 million say generate conservatively 5% per year is 50k. Good enough if your needs are simple and can still indulge in some luxury. But if want this and that, you need substantially higher sum.

Obama486

How long did u take to become a full time investor?

Obama486

to have 100k is good for forex. but the beauty of forex is once you found your own strategy, you only need 5-10k for a start. i started with 6k in Dec 14, i had 30k in Feb 15. but the problem was i got over-confident in myself and deviated from my strategy and lost away 20k within 2 weeks. that's the danger of forex and playing it too well too fast. one art of forex is holding back when there is no good trade as well. cause there are so many pairs available to play. USD/JPY/GBP/AUD/CAD/SGD/CHF and so on.

100k enough to do full time trading?
U full time trader?

Sinkie

1 million say generate conservatively 5% per year is 50k. Good enough if your needs are simple and can still indulge in some luxury. But if want this and that, you need substantially higher sum.

if 5%, might as well put in dividend?

wondrdoggie

How long did u take to become a full time investor?

I made my money at age 40 upon a successful exit of a business I co-foundered. It was a high profile exit, at least in the SG startup scene. I believe some of you would have used one of my my services or products at some point in your life. :)

I became a full time investor in mid 2014.

I know of many others like myself actually. Some went on to start other business, others went into semi retirement mode. I consider myself temporarily unemployed, maybe that will change in the future.

Personally I think it's doable to retire young (<45 years old) with 1m and generate income from investments but you may find it hard to weather downtowns or changes in life circumstances. You will need to do some leverage. With 2m, I think you will be in a much stronger position. Of course, it all depends on your lifestyle. Other key factors like discipline and planning/mgt are givens.

With regular salaries, it is hard for anyone to accumulate so much. Unless you climb to top mgt or become really good at growing your money via investments. Most people I know did it through entrepreneurship and one of my friends did it via real estate agency. I know some millionaires from selling insurance. So there are many pathways. None are easy and luck plays a part too.

Btw, sales jobs is a good way to make very good money. Sales people often get bullied and treated badly by clients. They put up with it, swallow their pride. But look at their pay checks. Those good ones don't even need too much education. And once they move up the value chain, their income is easily 100k or 200k or more.

lol math fail ah???

7 figures is

1 million and up la

LOL

but I think its true la

need at least that amount to generate enough passive income and not work

that's how u get out of the rat race

but sadly nowadays many young singaporeans are trapped for good

Car, HDB, study loans, credit cards

holiday trips, branded goods

too much ego to show off their life style on social network

actually I recently do a rough calculation of my investment total about 70k++ seem like still a road to go ....

:s34:

wahkao3

actually I recently do a rough calculation of my investment total about 70k++ seem like still a road to go ....

:s34:
wa not bad
i know some of my frens only have 10k for active income

see them work like a dog just to make ends meet

wa not bad
i know some of my frens only have 10k for active income

see them work like a dog just to make ends meet

so far I do earn but not much in fact I reinvest back on other stocks to multi trying to own my stocks ..next it take long compare you work full time every month constant a fix amount there

problem why I start this because I feel curious how those full time investor / trader works

I don't prefer broker here .

Actually problem is spot on those stocks got high gain within the week as usual buy low sell high than that week at least you can earn some money but is hard in fact trying to spot these stocks out of so many .

Perisher

so far I do earn but not much in fact I reinvest back on other stocks to multi trying to own my stocks ..next it take long compare you work full time every month constant a fix amount there

problem why I start this because I feel curious how those full time investor / trader works

I don't prefer broker here .

Actually problem is spot on those stocks got high gain within the week as usual buy low sell high than that week at least you can earn some money but is hard in fact trying to spot these stocks out of so many .

If you are trading, maybe take a look at rayner's thread on moneymind. He has some sound technique to profit from trading.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.