BTO Feb 2015 Geylang

cloverpark

i went to the site a few times and found the noisy level is a bit unacceptable. I do not want to stay in a unit which i need to suffer for 5 years.

Did you try going up to block 93 and 94? The noise is many times louder at high floor.

Strangemushroom

Questions:

1) Anyone checked out the wet tiling or water proofing @ HDB?

Reliability good? or do I need to further renovate myself?

2) Is there such a thing as 'noise reduction tilings/wallpaper/window system'?

Gixxerfied

Questions:

1) Anyone checked out the wet tiling or water proofing @ HDB?

Reliability good? or do I need to further renovate myself?

2) Is there such a thing as 'noise reduction tilings/wallpaper/window system'?

1) You can only do overlay..Technically the waterproofing is underneath..Wont know how good it is until u actually move in..No hacking for 1st 3 years

2) Nv heard off..

Gixxerfied

Selection date out , end of May .. Wonder when they starting the first selection ..

You can roughly see by logging in to my hdbpage > my flat > new flat > click on reg no once it starts..

And also the q no scheduled for appt up till the end of the day..

Indomitable

There's a 4R Review so here is my 3R Findings after reading here and Facebook. Price reference 19th floor.

60/62 (318K)
- Face park/court.
- Currently unblocked but future high rise residential development right in front of it. Will be blocked eventually
- Entrance face the lifts (x4)
- Near single storey cafe (may or may not be noisy depending on type of cafe. )
- North facing
- Nearest block to MRT
- Least privacy/busiest lifts (18 units to one lift lobby of 4 lifts)

72/78 (318K)
- Face multi-storey carpark
- Near all the daycare centres
- Unblocked (sort of, but further down high rise industrial buildings will still block)
- Face direct East sun
- Face busy roads and industrial buildings
- Noisiest and dustiest
- Squarish floor plan layout (no open kitchen concept)
- Corner units
- Not much privacy/busy lifts (13 units to one lift lobby of 4 lifts)

32 (307K)
- Face wall of unit 78
- Indirect East Sun
- Diagonal unblocked view
- Cheapest unit
- Must go for mid/high floor
- Noisy (next to carpark and near main roads)

30/38/40 (312.5K)
- Face other units 30-40m apart
- 30 is quite close to 78 diagonally
- Least noisy and dusty (especially 38/40)

06/08/18/20 (323.5K)
- Same as 38/40 in terms of noise, dust and view
- More spacious for living room, kitchen and master bedroom because of the squarish layout
(no "waste" of space)
- Most expensive 3R units
- Most privacy (6 units to one lift lobby)

Currently I am still undecided as there are simply too many different variables.
Initially I naively thought high floor and unblocked is the best, just focus on those.
But after going deeper into researching every unit, it may not be the case and there are many other considerations as well.

Need to consider noise and pollution level, privacy and even layout! O___O

Many people including my spouse keep telling me its all about location but I think a great home is not just about that isn't it? It's not as though Singapore is very big and I am not even working near Macpherson but at far East side.

Nowadays all the new BTOs in non mature estates have water view, super high floors and shopping malls next to it. Initially my mind was shut off from these so called non mature estates, but as I researched deeper into this project, I need to be more open to the idea of letting this Macpherson Spring go when I am unable to get my desired units (which we are still considering)

My 2 cents. Welcome for more enlightenment!

happy.milk

1) You can only do overlay..Technically the waterproofing is underneath..Wont know how good it is until u actually move in..No hacking for 1st 3 years

2) Nv heard off..

Cannot hack HDB toilet for 1st 3yrs ah?

Tat bad~

scooterboy

Did you try going up to block 93 and 94? The noise is many times louder at high floor.

Yes it would be noisier at high floors therefore if deciding to get facing payalebar road or towards PIE, avoid high floors at all cost. just got my selection days - end of June! Super long wait -.-

Gixxerfied

If kitchen do open concept, is it very chui.
Cannot do heavy cooking.

Depends, some like some dont like..Like one usually light cookers, dont like one usually cook alot..

For me i will hack down the wall, overlay into the kitchen and open concept first..See frequency of cooking and how it affects us(The living room area) then decide if wana add in glass partition..

yabadabadoo

You can roughly see by logging in to my hdbpage > my flat > new flat > click on reg no once it starts..

And also the q no scheduled for appt up till the end of the day..
Oh no I happen to be overseas just 1 day before my selection date.

Any chance to reschedule it? I understand you can authorize someone else to choose it for you.

happy.milk

Depends, some like some dont like..Like one usually light cookers, dont like one usually cook alot..

For me i will hack down the wall, overlay into the kitchen and open concept first..See frequency of cooking and how it affects us(The living room area) then decide if wana add in glass partition..

U overlay the kitchen tiles ah?
I c HDB toilet tiles really is chui until LS leI.

Lol.

Gng to ballot ClementI nxt mth

If still dun have, then gng to Chiong bidadari liao.

Gixxerfied

Oh no I happen to be overseas just 1 day before my selection date.

Any chance to reschedule it? I understand you can authorize someone else to choose it for you.

Both applicants also overseas???

Google letter of authorisation

U overlay the kitchen tiles ah?
I c HDB toilet tiles really is chui until LS leI.

Lol.

Gng to ballot ClementI nxt mth

If still dun have, then gng to Chiong bidadari liao.

Yup, initially didnt want to but after discussion, not gonna cost too much on top also..So might as well..

Indomitable

If kitchen do open concept, is it very chui.
Cannot do heavy cooking.

One thing about open concept kitchen, if you are the type who will switch on air con in the living room, quite energy consuming.

Having a glass partition is another idea but usually very costly to install and based on experience, a headache to clean (need a lot of maintenance)

For 3R, open concept kitchen will also be able to see the service balcony which is quite ugly and outside people can peep inside. So must install blinds or somehow cover up that area.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.