MyRepublic fibre - Part 5

yoongkc

Hi Johnny,

I am looking to subscribe to a Fibre broadband plan and video streaming is my main consideration for the RSP that I would want to sign up with.

I heard some good things about MyRepublic streaming PPTV content but at the same time, I read a lot about customer service issues and frequent downtime for internet. This is really my the other concern that worries me.

I understand that downtime do happen on and off and it is not exclusively to MyRepublic. I am more concern about the help when things like this happened and we can't get any help. Would you please advice me how should I go about rectifying the problem? If the downtime go into days, what kind of compensation would MyRepublic be offering if any?

I really don't mind giving MyRepublic a try and even provide positive feedback if the experience is good. Like what I said, I understand it will not be perfect, but problem must be rectified with minimal delay when happened.

I have also read reviews that mentioned technician missed/delayed the scheduled appointment and we would have to arrange another day to do it. Honestly, thinking from customer's point of view, is it a fair arrangement? I would also like to hear what's the company's stand when things like this happened.

I know I have brought up some difficult queries, but because we are looking at a 2-years contract. I don't wish to lock in 2 years for something that we can't use smoothly most of the time. If you do have a reliable salesman to recommend, feel free to let me know. I will contact this person if I decide to sign up with MyRepublic.

Thanks and hope to hear from you soon.

akiden

Wa kaoz! MR...

I've been with VQ for over 4 yrs and I've recently decided to take up your 1gb free trial to give u guys a try. What a terrible mistake to begin with...

Today is the appointment with opennet to open up my port 2.
I took leave amongst my busy schedule just for this. Waited and waited...no opennet came. Called up MR hotline...and was told "I don't think they are coming as they system shows they updated the status. They seem to be having issue with ports at your side..."

WTF!! Why didn't MR call me to inform the opennet has cancelled the apptm?!!
Wasted my whole day leave like this waiting in vain at home??!

What kind of customer service is this...
Lucky I'm prudent enough not to cancel my existing ISP b4 testing MR to be fully convinced of their service. However, looks like MR has no regards for new customers at all. Haven't activated service already pissed me big time...

Better to stay with my reliable ISP who has not failed me...

Johnnny

Wa kaoz! MR...

I've been with VQ for over 4 yrs and I've recently decided to take up your 1gb free trial to give u guys a try. What a terrible mistake to begin with...

I took leave amongst my busy schedule just for this. Waited and waited...no opennet came. Called up MR hotline...and was told "I don't think they are coming as they system shows they updated the status. They seem to be having issue with ports at your side..."

Lucky I'm prudent enough not to cancel my existing ISP b4 testing MR to be fully convinced of their service. However, looks like MR has no regards for new customers at all. Haven't activated service already pissed me big time...

PM us your registered email and we'll investigate this case! If ON cancels an appointment and didn't inform us or you, then something is definitely amiss.

BigMonkey

why cannot terminate now? why must wait billing department to contact you within 3 days than can terminate? so i be paying for nothing since i dun need your service any more? base on feeback, if no callls made within 3 days means i be liable for the charges which i already intended to cancel 3 days ago.

what i suggest is to have a comment section on the customer profile, stating that customer intended to cancel on xxx date. billing should stop on that xxx date, if MR nv cancel, it should be MR liability for any charges inccur.

blitzio

Steam downloads to SSD seem to be pretty good

sCbcYQI.png

panda_giggs

Test with a direct connection from ONT.

What router are you using?

Using a Asus AC66U. Anyway discovered the problem and managed to fix it and now seems to be running at 800+ mbps consistently. Forgot to disable the mac address cloning that i had used when using my own router for my singtel fibre. Thanks guys for the suggestions to use direct connection which got me thinking. Cheers.

xRenol

Using a Asus AC66U. Anyway discovered the problem and managed to fix it and now seems to be running at 800+ mbps consistently. Forgot to disable the mac address cloning that i had used when using my own router for my singtel fibre. Thanks guys for the suggestions to use direct connection which got me thinking. Cheers.

Glad that you managed to resolve your issue.

Just monitor for the time being.

madeener

why is twitch.tv ALWAYS lagging after 7pm?

timed throttling?

MyRepublic is really getting slower and slower

madeener

Wa kaoz! MR...

hey me too, gonna jump ship to VQ after contract with this wannabe 'fourth telco' ends

1. internet gets disconnected about once a month with downtime of up to 2 hours (i dont even count how many times the connection gets rekt while im asleep)

2. is MR throttling speeds because they dont have enough bandwidth during peak period? after 7pm, streaming from twitch.tv, a popular website, is impossible, even at 240p or LOW. eh, TWO HUNDRED AND FORTY leh. still laggy and choppy. eh hello, if u cannot handle the load, then dont offer unlimited bandwidth lah friend.... you know what? even my spotify premium is lagging now. haha thanks a lot bro, i cant even listen to songs that im subscribed to

3. while i am upgrading my contract last year, i wanted to get a new router and you guys so graciously disallowed me the router rebate. i see... newcustomers get the rebates while old ones get suckered? services were great last year so i shrugged this off

poor poor poor!

madeener

Zzz... connection these few days has been really bad.
1gbps gamer plan connected direct to ONT via cat5e cable speedtest result come out just slightly higher then 100Mbps.

hey they are trying to become a telco, you know, like cellphones and stuff

sure they neglect their current customers ma...

:s13::s13:

madeener

4278643737.png

150mbps gamer. Johnnny?

haha they are NOT gonna do anything about the speeds for you.

i have called in and asked them about this, about 2 days ago, and the speeds and lag is still there

all this Johnnny is doing sounds like PR work.

my results is this

Magickiller9

haha they are NOT gonna do anything about the speeds for you.

i have called in and asked them about this, about 2 days ago, and the speeds and lag is still there

all this Johnnny is doing sounds like PR work.

my results is this

Most likely cable issue lei. Got try?

andr3wyong

My result on ViewQwest server while downloading
4286363999.png

You can test to MR server on Speedtest.net by creating an account and changing default server to Singapore - MyRepublic.

On my end I've had a few complaints about 1Gbps speeds between MR and VQ subscribers so it's probably better to just test to MR server to diagnose cable or router issues

lunzi88

hey they are trying to become a telco, you know, like cellphones and stuff

sure they neglect their current customers ma...

:s13::s13:

32zs2gg.jpg

always fun to see i'm getting what i paid for.
Sorry i meant getting less than 10% of what i paid for :s22:
Cant wait for contract to be over.

BigMonkey

tracking termination progress : 1 day since called them to terminate, no calls received today = paying another day for not needed service.

xRenol

You can test to MR server on Speedtest.net by creating an account and changing default server to Singapore - MyRepublic.

On my end I've had a few complaints about 1Gbps speeds between MR and VQ subscribers so it's probably better to just test to MR server to diagnose cable or router issues

You quoted the wrong person?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.