[Off Topic] The Longest Chit-Chat Thread in HWC - - - - - - - - Part 20

MoneyFace =p

I will be holding off till Skylake comes out (or even Broadwell-E, if my mobo can tahan so long). Main issue is: given my usage, 4-core or 6-core route?
There will be no Broadwell-E, Intel roadmap indicates immediate jump to Skylake-E. Whichever it is, get the best you can afford lor.

enenyi

AMD can support 10 bit on the fly.
There is just too much controversy on how TX or Ti can support 10 bit colour panel or not lol.
Maybe one question u needa ask urself (I asked myself before) is: do u really need 10-bit colour support? 10-bit native colour support vs colour-calibrated 8-bit, will it make a difference to the output (photo, video, etc)? Coz though we long for the best which is 10-bit, sometimes we dont even find ourselves needing such a wide dynamic range of RGB colour values. Games definitely dont need, photos/videos for social media dont need. Maybe photos/videos meant for professional or commercial use may benefit more from 10-bit colour accuracy.

enenyi

There will be no Broadwell-E, Intel roadmap indicates immediate jump to Skylake-E. Whichever it is, get the best you can afford lor.
Okay ba. I shall see how Skylake mainstream performs. And as long as my Asus Z77 V-Pro can still tahan (RMA-ed twice before running out of warranty, not a good mobo brand in terms of durable overclocking).

Mikiberry

Maybe one question u needa ask urself (I asked myself before) is: do u really need 10-bit colour support? 10-bit native colour support vs colour-calibrated 8-bit, will it make a difference to the output (photo, video, etc)? Coz though we long for the best which is 10-bit, sometimes we dont even find ourselves needing such a wide dynamic range of RGB colour values. Games definitely dont need, photos/videos for social media dont need. Maybe photos/videos meant for professional or commercial use may benefit more from 10-bit colour accuracy.

I actually to see it to believe it. But I have read across forums and articles and none have a good control settings to test. Reviews are limited as my panel can affect the pictures portrayed.
Unless I can find a friend with 10 bit native panel and with both tx and amd cards to test on the spot, this is will solve my problem.

Waiting 10 bit for myself is just for pure eye candy nia.

enenyi

I actually to see it to believe it. But I have read across forums and articles and none have a good control settings to test. Reviews are limited as my panel can affect the pictures portrayed.
Unless I can find a friend with 10 bit native panel and with both tx and amd cards to test on the spot, this is will solve my problem.

Waiting 10 bit for myself is just for pure eye candy nia.
This 8-bit vs 10-bit colour accuracy takes on about the same points of argument as the sRGB vs AdobeRGB accuracy. If u realise, a lot of monitor brands price their products at sky-high prices because of their boasts that the monitor can deliver "99% AdobeRGB". But seriously, sRGB is more than enough for most consumers. Only people who print out their images require the precision that the AdobeRGB spectrum provides. Else technically 100% sRGB is the key when buying monitors. 79% AdobeRGB accuracy of current top-end monitors vs 70% AdobeRGB accuracy of monitors 4 years ago dont make much of a difference to us mainstream consumers to justify the high premium the monitor makers are currently charging. All else is pure eye-candy.

kandinsky

Will the improvements in rendering of i7-5820k (or cheapest in HEDT line) over the i7-4790k (or most expensive in mainstream line) be worth the price premium I'm paying for? I cant weigh it now coz my i5-3570k is not hyper-threaded, so I cant feel the differences of a 6-core vs 4-core. Need someone with actual experience to guide me. Thanks. :)

Actually, with the recent dip in ddr4 pricing, have you calculated what the 'price premium' is? Seems like the price difference between a 5820k vs 4790k build has dropped significantly enough.

Trying a simple comparison using CPU+Mobo+Ram alone:

- MSI Mpower range mobo for both builds (prices from PCT)
- Cheapest 32GB kit I could find on amazon, the price premium works out to $85

4790K + Z97 Mpower : $812
Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB Kit (8GBx4) DDR3 1600 (PC3-12800): approx S$290 (US$215*1.35)
$1102

5820K + X99 Mpower: $917
Crucial 32GB Kit (8GBx4) DDR4-2133 (PC4-17000): approx $275 (US$204*1.35)
$1192

*Please feel free to correct me if my math or comparison is bad...

enenyi

Actually, with the recent dip in ddr4 pricing, have you calculated what the 'price premium' is? Seems like the price difference between a 5820k vs 4790k build has dropped significantly enough.

Trying a simple comparison using CPU+Mobo+Ram alone:

- MSI Mpower range mobo for both builds (prices from PCT)
- Cheapest 32GB kit I could find on amazon, the price premium works out to $85

4790K + Z97 Mpower : $812
Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB Kit (8GBx4) DDR3 1600 (PC3-12800): approx S$290 (US$215*1.35)
$1102

5820K + X99 Mpower: $917
Crucial 32GB Kit (8GBx4) DDR4-2133 (PC4-17000): approx $275 (US$204*1.35)
$1192

*Please feel free to correct me if my math or comparison is bad...
Ah. Okay. I see that u have i7-5820k.

Have u tried rendering videos with it? How's the performance? Does having 2 more cores result in a scaling in terms of rendering time?

In terms of purchasing, I'm not really concerned coz I noe that as months go by, the prices will continue to fall. I also intend to wait till Corbell brings in Avexir DDR4 Core White LED then i hoot also ba. Main thing now is the performance scaling. If I only get like a few seconds faster when rendering with 6 cores compared to 4 cores due to the inefficiency of software (H.264 codec etc) rather than hardware limitations, then the 6-core route may seem to be more of a premium liao.

laccas

hijack the thread. got some qustions to ask experts here.

1. is MSI H97 GAMING 3 mobo only support RAM up to 1600MHz? if I plug 2x4GB 1866MHz RAM, it will be no issue but capped at 1600MHZ? am i right?

2. if i only buy mobo+cpu, HDD and GPU at Tradepac. do they charge me more than the price on their pricelist?

Mikiberry

This 8-bit vs 10-bit colour accuracy takes on about the same points of argument as the sRGB vs AdobeRGB accuracy. If u realise, a lot of monitor brands price their products at sky-high prices because of their boasts that the monitor can deliver "99% AdobeRGB". But seriously, sRGB is more than enough for most consumers. Only people who print out their images require the precision that the AdobeRGB spectrum provides. Else technically 100% sRGB is the key when buying monitors. 79% AdobeRGB accuracy of current top-end monitors vs 70% AdobeRGB accuracy of monitors 4 years ago dont make much of a difference to us mainstream consumers to justify the high premium the monitor makers are currently charging. All else is pure eye-candy.

I am also curious when nvidia say they can support dx11 in 10 bit colour. This is what piqued my interest on these panel lately lol. Only way to tell is really look at it upfront to compare.

kandinsky

Ah. Okay. I see that u have i7-5820k.

Have u tried rendering videos with it? How's the performance? Does having 2 more cores result in a scaling in terms of rendering time?

In terms of purchasing, I'm not really concerned coz I noe that as months go by, the prices will continue to fall. I also intend to wait till Corbell brings in Avexir DDR4 Core White LED then i hoot also ba. Main thing now is the performance scaling. If I only get like a few seconds faster when rendering with 6 cores compared to 4 cores due to the inefficiency of software (H.264 codec etc) rather than hardware limitations, then the 6-core route may seem to be more of a premium liao.

Yeah, that's one of the main reasons I went for it. Went from a mobile 2.4 dual-core i5 to the 5820, so the improvement in export/encoding time was quite dramatic for me. 4-6 times faster export times? Not sure how it would compare to a 4790K though. Maybe it was like the jump from dual core to quad core?

There are some benchmarks here done by xbitlabs: http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core-i7-5960x-5930k-5820k_7.html#sect0

Mach3.2

I was just talking about colour space with my friend, what he told me was althought Adobe RGB have a wider colour space as compared to sRGB, but in then end when you are going to print your photo out, Adobe RGB might not be the best colour space to work with. :s12:

As with CYMK, printing out photos is not as clear cut as setting the colour space to CYMK, really have to take all the variables into play to decide on the colour space to use.

enenyi

Yeah, that's one of the main reasons I went for it. Went from a mobile 2.4 dual-core i5 to the 5820, so the improvement in export/encoding time was quite dramatic for me. 4-6 times faster export times? Not sure how it would compare to a 4790K though. Maybe it was like the jump from dual core to quad core?

There are some benchmarks here done by xbitlabs: http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core-i7-5960x-5930k-5820k_7.html#sect0
Wow, u basically edge me a step closer towards a workstation build with that i7-5820k comparison. :) Shall wait for Skylake to settle in before taking the plunge ba. :) Should either be Haswell-E or Skylake, more likely now Haswell-E, coz I doubt I can wait until Skylake-E next year Sept.

enenyi

I was just talking about colour space with my friend, what he told me was althought Adobe RGB have a wider colour space as compared to sRGB, but in then end when you are going to print your photo out, Adobe RGB might not be the best colour space to work with. :s12:

As with CYMK, printing out photos is not as clear cut as setting the colour space to CYMK, really have to take all the variables into play to decide on the colour space to use.
I guess AdobeRGB has its benefits at providing a wider colour gamut to work with. I've seen the actual improvement with my P2715Q at 79% AdobeRGB vs my U2412M at 70% AdobeRGB. Colours are most 'saturated', more refined. Photo-editing is made more fun since now we can tweak colours to our personal likings. Problem is after we have had our fun, the final output is independent of the AdobeRGB accuracy. Even we can have 100% AdobeRGB, but when we post to Facebook or Instagram, the image will still be viewed by our friends, some of them dont even get 90% sRGB accuracy. So in short, AdobeRGB is a marketing ploy that leads to self-satisfaction and the feel-good factor; it has not much tangible benefits to our final image/video output.

Mikiberry

Printer cmi also useless lol.

KWSW

Wah didn't know you all also do commercial photo video work. I only remember I started paying attention to colour when I got a call in the middle of the night saying the expensive luxury brand dress colour is slightly off in my photo and ask me to fix it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.