Official: GTX 980 Ti Owner and Chit Chat Club

koroshiya8

That is the reason why I don't advocate it. Period.
The trend right now I am seeing here is that, "oh gpu too hot at stock - must water cool" then everyone jump in and psycho wc gaogao. More importantly must slowly troubleshoot first then decide what you really want before plunging in. Wc is for pure enthusiast, I agree but I still think is waste money haha.

I think koro Now very happy with the temps Liao lol. I think he just performance instead of going wc. Maylyn and I also very puzzled on how to help him since we are using the same ref card and cooler lol.

yeah. pretty happy now unless somehow my testing screwed up last night.
Now more focus on bringing overall temp down but not in the context of this thread. :s13:

and_who

My impression is that the extra cost of watercooling can go to getting the next tier hardware instead, which will more than make up for any performance gains derived through watercooling. Unless of course you are already top tier and no higher tier to spend on

E.g cost of custom loop to wc a 980 can get a 980ti. Even a 980ti on ref cooler can oc over and beyond any golden 980 on water.

Cost of wcing a 4570k can get a 4770k. Even though having more cores while on single threaded apps will not beat the oced 4570k on higher clocks under water, in multithreaded apps presumably the i7 will still beat a oced 4570k under water?

So I rather get higher tier stuff, the looks of a wc rig while nice will not outweigh the performance of higher tier stuff. Correct me if I am wrong.

Still gotta admire the passion of those who spend a lot of time and effort on custom wc.

Mikiberry

Now more focus on bringing overall temp down but not in the context of this thread. :s13:

Checked in the Evga forum and ocn, sc cards are ref card with 110 power limit by default. Go run ur firestrike in native 1080. Your graphics score should exceed mine at 38k.

Maximus_XXVIII

Run Furmark 15-30mins and see your GPU temps. If it's running at a steady 80*C or lower with a fan profile you're comfortable with then i think it should be fine since games won't actually churn out anymore heat than Furmark.

Mikiberry

Run Furmark 15-30mins and see your GPU temps. If it's running at a steady 80*C or lower with a fan profile you're comfortable with then i think it should be fine since games won't actually churn out anymore heat than Furmark.

Fur mark too extreme. Not recommended leh. Use witcher in game on everything and test better.

Maximus_XXVIII

Fur mark too extreme. Not recommended leh. Use witcher in game on everything and test better.

Furmark 15-30mins not ok meh? I think it's the most prudence to test temps. You'll not have issues with game temps once you pass Furmark's temp.

soufigo

My card is here and i underestimated its size. what a huge card. some pictures to share before i install in my system. Very excited!!

koroshiya8

Furmark 15-30mins not ok meh? I think it's the most prudence to test temps. You'll not have issues with game temps once you pass Furmark's temp.
Will try furmark tonight (normally i try only 5 min hehe)
Normally my benchmark is Crysis 3, GTAV or more rarely Witcher....... the casing is just beside me, so when suddenly i feel a surge of heat i know the GPU is working overdrive mode :D

Maximus_XXVIII

Will try furmark tonight (normally i try only 5 min hehe)
Normally my benchmark is Crysis 3, GTAV or more rarely Witcher....... the casing is just beside me, so when suddenly i feel a surge of heat i know the GPU is working overdrive mode :D

Hey bro, I think better don't use Furmark. Forgot that you're on 980Ti SLI, higher TDP than 970/980. Just use your games as benchmarks will be more realistic. Coz i heard of people frying their GPU with Furmark. My bad:(

koroshiya8

Hey bro, I think better don't use Furmark. Forgot that you're on 980Ti SLI, higher TDP than 970/980. Just use your games as benchmarks will be more realistic. Coz i heard of people frying their GPU with Furmark. My bad:(

Lol no worries
Anyway I more kiasee will monitor the temp as it run. Anything not right I will stop immediately.

soufigo

Looks like 2.5 slots and 1.2kg

after installation i can confirm that it is 3 slots. huge..and heavy, surprised that they didnt include the support stand like the arctic storm version

and yes bling2 included..on the zotac logo and fan shroud...white in colour though..doesnt match my system

koroshiya8

Wow the card looks big... wonder how it looks in SLI..

BTW i tested my card with a quick furmark for 5 mins by manual setting 80% GPU fan max.. temperature is at 83-84 deg.. not sure if will go up somemore but i think i have enough :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.