[Official] Apple iPhone 6S/6S Plus Discussions

Conan1986

Thanks for the info! Anything i need to note of before committing to a 6s+ for 2years?

Nothing in particular, just be sure to don a screen protector asap if you are one who uses it. Do make sure the phone is free from defect before putting it on though. Some users complained that scratches on screen appeared despite babying their device. Otherwise, enjoy yourself!

mummy1234

Hi, I am new to this subforum but just decided to pop in as I just switched from Samsung to my 1st Apple iphone - Apple 6S...love the Rose Gold colour...in fact switched from Singtel to M1 just to get the out of stock colour...but great that my mum is also a M1 user and hubby will likely switch to M1 so can get free outgoing calls to them..

Samsung always give me cable and charging problems, had to go down to their service centre quite a few times...good thing about Apple is just need NRIC to go service centre unlike Samsung, need receipt..

Love the radio on Apple too which Samsung did not have and the speed even on 3G network seems faster on Apple..

Lucky177

Thanks for the info! Anything i need to note of before committing to a 6s+ for 2years?

Nothing much. If u switching from android to iphone, just download the "move to iOS" to transfer your SMS etc (not whatsapp) from android to iphone for the very 1st time before u setup your iphone. Is wireless transferring.

If u do not like to use iTunes, iCloud to transfer your stuff from iphone to laptop etc, can always use apps such as Wps office to transfer your documents and apps such as photo wifi to transfer your photos etc.

Other than that, there isn't really much to take note in particular. I also just switched over from Note4 to IP6S+ recently. :)

mummy1234

But as the SIM card is a different size, how do we transfer contacts over? Trying to do it manually now...

kopi22

But as the SIM card is a different size, how do we transfer contacts over? Trying to do it manually now...

I suggest to store all your contacts on cloud. Are you using Gmail / Outlook, etc? You can sync contacts up to the Gmail address book, and then add a Google account on your iPhone, all contacts will then be pulled down to the iPhone.

mummy1234

I suggest to store all your contacts on cloud. Are you using Gmail / Outlook, etc? You can sync contacts up to the Gmail address book, and then add a Google account on your iPhone, all contacts will then be pulled down to the iPhone.

Thanks for the advice!

Audiology93

How is the battery life of 6s+ vs 6+? Well im currently using a note 3 and am planning to jump to join the apple clan after 5 years of andriod.

Htc m7, note 2, note 3
I've used almost every android mid range and flagships. None beat the iPhone 6S plus(samsung chip. TSMC chip should have better batt life)that I'm using in battery life other than the Z5 on stamina mode. Happy with the battery life on the 6S Plus. My 6S has its own problem like top and btm screen having shadow-like causing uneven lighting and the drop in frame rate in the app switcher. If battery life is the most impt to u, get the 6s plus. Otherwise other android flagships phones can perform as well or better like camera or better screen. If u change ur phone every 2 years or later then get the iPhone. Android software not as fast apple(other than nexus-es). Other than the super troublesome iTunes sync for almost everything, other stuff should be better than android.

Sent from Samsung SM-G900F using GAGT

Lucky177

So the battery life is seriously good? For 6s+?

Is good. Previously using Note4. Thought the battery life already very good when it was in KitKat. Not referring to lollipop. But ip6s+ even much better. No doubt about it. ;)

Vindicatum

I used all kind of mobile OS. From Nokia's SymbianOS, Microsoft's Windows Mobile 6.X and I have been using Android since I got a proper smartphone. I've been a fan of Apple's build quality and how they make their products REALLY pretty. I just felt like Apple products are very resyricted compared to others like Windows and Android. I previously thought that paying the premium is not worth it when I can get a cheaper product and do more with it. With an open mind, I decided to recontract and get the 6S Plus. Now I don't feel like going back to Android anymore and seriously considering buying a Mac in the future. Battery life is awesome compared to my OnePlus One.

The Apple ecosystem is not for everyone. If you're a power user, this may not be for you. If you want simplicity, fluidity and continuity buy an iPhone. You really get what you pay for.

boringLife-

Anyone knows if I drop my iphone 6 into toilet bowl, can I exchange it for a new one if it's under warranty? My mum bought for me 5 months ago only :(

P.s. Using the rice method to drain water now, but if can change better la..

Morugana

if kena water will have the water indicator

so quite hard to get a 1 to 1 change from apple

boringLife-

if kena water will have the water indicator

so quite hard to get a 1 to 1 change from apple

I just googled the water indicator thing. I cant see any red or pink spot at the sim card there. Maybe I pajiao la, but does it mean my phone is safe to use? Because after taking my phone out of the toilet bowl it's still working fine for like an hour then I started to get paranoid and turn it off and put it in rice. :s22:

Conan1986

I just googled the water indicator thing. I cant see any red or pink spot at the sim card there. Maybe I pajiao la, but does it mean my phone is safe to use? Because after taking my phone out of the toilet bowl it's still working fine for like an hour then I started to get paranoid and turn it off and put it in rice. :s22:

There's another LCI that's in the phone that you can only take a look at when you open it up.. Apart from the LCI, you have to cook up with some excuse to warrant your phone for a 1-1 exchange. They tend to wanna repair faulty components rather than exchanging it nowadays. Good luck

boringLife-

There's another LCI that's in the phone that you can only take a look at when you open it up.. Apart from the LCI, you have to cook up with some excuse to warrant your phone for a 1-1 exchange. They tend to wanna repair faulty components rather than exchanging it nowadays. Good luck

Then suck thumb and pray nothing happens to my iphone 6 liao :(. How long do you suggest I put it in rice? I see some website recommending up to a week..

Conan1986

Then suck thumb and pray nothing happens to my iphone 6 liao :(. How long do you suggest I put it in rice? I see some website recommending up to a week..

I believe about 3 days is sufficient.. Most important thing is that it's turned off at the first possible moment and remain off till its dried up.. I saw a clip on YouTube from ifixit stating the fact that it's the corrosion that kills the phone though. I suggest making good back up once you get the chance and pray it stays well. Chances are it'll work till you need to upgrade, check the speaker as its one of the weakest component against water.

If all fails and water damage shows, you'll have to prepare about $450 to get a replacement set from AASP, unless you had AppleCare+

*adiBOY

I've managed to ask Apple to waive off the $550 replacement fee when I sent my iPhone 6 for a tumble in the washing machine. Lol.

mav3rick

how is the 6s battery life? can it last 12 hours between charge? and for travelling without portable battery?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.