Difference in Big 4 and small audit firm - Part 2

ufoate

All Co. have politics, including Big 4.

In fact, i feel big 4 politics is the worst. Among same level peers below AM level is still managable. At and after AM level, the rest is all 命。

Your levels will be fighting for that limited number of manager positions.

Your counselling partner has their own likes and dislikes (including other partners).

Your portfolio allocations ....

Seriously. Big4 politics wont lose banking.

Sent from Asylum using GAGT

i'm from big 4 ... agree on above ^

SG-xLeox

To fullguard,

No one can give you a definate answer. Go find out from your seniors, ask them. U are asking auditors here about ur school internship arrangement. How are we supposed to know.

What i can tell u is, your jobscope as an intern depends highly on your seniors/manager.
It all depends on your attitude as well. In general, interns is the lowest life form. It is true that senior treat kopi or gong cha, will ask intern go tapao. In another words, intern is like coffee boy. Some interns spend the whole internship doing tapao, photocopying, vouching, stocktake (tag with an associate). Some interns spend their intership doing sections of the audit, like real audit team. You need to understand, due to the risk of intern being not an experienced member, one is unable to task the intern to do high level stuff such as revenue recognition or complex consol. We cant delegate judgemental sections to intern.

To clarify, big 4 is audit firm. We have advisories, assurance, tax and other specialised department too. So it still depends on where u end up with. Regarding bookkeeping, in my example above, in the assurance team - we audit the books, not prepare the books, hence, ur data entry question is not relevant.

I hope the above clarifies.

Milo-Dino

yes every company has but im referring to this:-

"I would say it is largely more on the profile of the client u audit than the big4 u are in.. However some say PWC has the most friendly culture and less intense.. This however means u will learn slower in yr big4 career"

actually i am curious how can a less friendly culture make you learn faster. too stressed?
He is referring to the intensity.

PWC is well known for their more gradual learn curve whereas the other big 4 can give u exposure to audit senior's sections when u are only an assistant due to engagement team size.

Sent from INO 3 using GAGT

Firstmoment

All Co. have politics, including Big 4.

In fact, i feel big 4 politics is the worst. Among same level peers below AM level is still managable. At and after AM level, the rest is all 命。

Your levels will be fighting for that limited number of manager positions.

Your counselling partner has their own likes and dislikes (including other partners).

Your portfolio allocations ....

Seriously. Big4 politics wont lose banking.

There is politics everywhere.. I would say in big4 if u dont like to work for certain partner or manager.. U can feedback to other and negotiate not to do his or her jobs.. In commercial.. U dont like CFO or FC.. Wat can u do beside resigning?

Office politics is everywhere.. Its how you manage others expectation and relationship.. I always think building good relationship with colleague n client will always make the audit easier.. A happy client is a happy audit..

Sent from my phone using GAGT

itachisama

There is politics everywhere.. I would say in big4 if u dont like to work for certain partner or manager.. U can feedback to other and negotiate not to do his or her jobs.. In commercial.. U dont like CFO or FC.. Wat can u do beside resigning?

Office politics is everywhere.. Its how you manage others expectation and relationship.. I always think building good relationship with colleague n client will always make the audit easier.. A happy client is a happy audit..

Sent from my phone using GAGT

agree, but sometimes the client give u **** no matter how nice you are to them it will end up not a happy audit..

anyway happy busy season all. huat ah :s22:

doorsen

Hi guys. I'm a sim uow student with relevant IT security background graduating in March 2017. Have always had an interest in IT audit and I'm thinking of applying for an IT Risk Assurance position in one of the big 4 (looking at PwC).

Currently into my second semester and my results are average with a credit and distinction. I'm trying my best to maintain an average grade of > 75 marks for all modules taken so I have a higher chance of getting into the job of my choice.

Any seniors whether from uow or not have any similar experience or advice for me? Cheers.

losthopeguy

Hi guys. I'm a sim uow student with relevant IT security background graduating in March 2017. Have always had an interest in IT audit and I'm thinking of applying for an IT Risk Assurance position in one of the big 4 (looking at PwC).

Currently into my second semester and my results are average with a credit and distinction. I'm trying my best to maintain an average grade of > 75 marks for all modules taken so I have a higher chance of getting into the job of my choice.

Any seniors whether from uow or not have any similar experience or advice for me? Cheers.
sry to burst ur bubble. But apparently PWC recruitment policy is that they do not consider private uni candidates, the other 3 might still consider.

Unless things change by the time u have graduated, the chances of getting in PWC i would say is 0. I only got 1 friend who is from SIM going into pwc and she herself admit she got in based on connections. without it, its tough

Take this advice from someone who have sourced info from friends working within pwc but not saying that u should not try.

ZacharyA

sry to burst ur bubble. But apparently PWC recruitment policy is that they do not consider private uni candidates, the other 3 might still consider.

Unless things change by the time u have graduated, the chances of getting in PWC i would say is 0. I only got 1 friend who is from SIM going into pwc and she herself admit she got in based on connections. without it, its tough

Take this advice from someone who have sourced info from friends working within pwc but not saying that u should not try.

interesting... abit different from my understanding according to info from their HR partner

losthopeguy

interesting... abit different from my understanding according to info from their HR partner
care to share whats ur take? haha

but again, there might be 2 sides.

1.) the hr partner might just be trying to make it seem that they r "graduate friendly" by seemingly giving everyone a chance OR

2.) my friend is being selfish, by trying to dim the hopes of others just to get some advantage in getting in

But even if they take in overseas grads, dun they downgrade u by 1 lvl ?

tiodiao

Hello, I had just completed my ACCA. Am working in a small accounting firm doing tax for the past 9 months as pre grad but handling quite a number of portfolio. Am looking to look for tax job in bigger accounting firm. Should I wait for big 4 reply or just go to any mid tier like RSM etc when there are chances?

And is there even any chance for me to go big 4 at this stage?

Appreciate any advice given! thanks!:s13:

ZacharyA

care to share whats ur take? haha

but again, there might be 2 sides.

1.) the hr partner might just be trying to make it seem that they r "graduate friendly" by seemingly giving everyone a chance OR

2.) my friend is being selfish, by trying to dim the hopes of others just to get some advantage in getting in

But even if they take in overseas grads, dun they downgrade u by 1 lvl ?

i believe it's rather reliable as there was no necessity for the HR partner to sugarcoat her words to me since i'm not applying for a job there. i was told that pwc requires at least an academic degree to be considered for a position in their firm. meaning - they do consider overseas grad. but they don't recognise professional qualifications such as ACCA / CPA(Aust) on a standalone basis (based on current practice).

in the past they may still accept ACCA graduates, but not now anymore... unless you already have other big4 experience in your resume.. anyone who beg to differ may share their views

doorsen

Care to share your view? Cos I saw the requirements and it seems like they accept a degree from an overseas uni also

doorsen

i believe it's rather reliable as there was no necessity for the HR partner to sugarcoat her words to me since i'm not applying for a job there. i was told that pwc requires at least an academic degree to be considered for a position in their firm. meaning - they do consider overseas grad. but they don't recognise professional qualifications such as ACCA / CPA(Aust) on a standalone basis (based on current practice).

in the past they may still accept ACCA graduates, but not now anymore... unless you already have other big4 experience in your resume.. anyone who beg to differ may share their views

Just saw your reply. For my case ACCA isn't relevant cos I'm applying for a non-accounting position

losthopeguy

In that case, i probably have been misled by them. because of what they said, during my application for jobs, pwc was the only 1 i did not bother to try. they still seem so confident as to say " oh its the recruitment policy, nth u can do abt it"

lesson learnt! nvr take others word easily haha

doorsen

In that case, i probably have been misled by them. because of what they said, during my application for jobs, pwc was the only 1 i did not bother to try. they still seem so confident as to say " oh its the recruitment policy, nth u can do abt it"

Hahaha. So you gonna try PwC now?

bunnyz

I'm in no authority to comment, but based on my understanding, overseas grad (i.e. really study overseas) =/= private uni grads (i.e. overseas uni degree done locally). Overseas grad no problem, but private uni... generally, might be a little more difficult. Suggest Doorsen to try the other Big 4 too.

doorsen

I'm in no authority to comment, but based on my understanding, overseas grad (i.e. really study overseas) =/= private uni grads (i.e. overseas uni degree done locally). Overseas grad no problem, but private uni... generally, might be a little more difficult. Suggest Doorsen to try the other Big 4 too.

Thanks for the advice! From the requirements stated, it says "from a reputable overseas uni". However it doesn't say if your degree is done locally or overseas. Maybe I'll try to ask the HR team about this.

losthopeguy

hahha are u sure overseas grad no problem ^^.

my friend came back from aussie still struggling to get in hahaha. end up went to a small firm n do accounting. i feel that if u did ur studies abroad , its easier to join the big4 in that host country before trying to get a transfer back here

big 4 priority i guess == 1st- local uni which makes the bulk, any additional vacancies or whatsoever then overseas grad and after if there r still some spaces, pte uni hahahas

pencil2012

Thanks for the advice! From the requirements stated, it says "from a reputable overseas uni". However it doesn't say if your degree is done locally or overseas. Maybe I'll try to ask the HR team about this.

Erm,HR is never ever going to say that they do not accept private uni's applications. They are just going to say they hire on merit and invite anyone and everyone to apply to their jobs. Then, they'll just filter them out.

I have not seen any private unis auditors in Pwc during my short little career there, though people in this forum claimed otherwise. During my time, someone from uniSIM did do an internship with me, but he didnt re-join the firm after that. I assumed he didnt get offered a priority placement, since I saw him in KP subsequently.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.