*Official* General Market Chit Chat Thread - Part 2

OngHuatHuat

Odd shares need to sell in odd shares market, the price is lower.
Try to avoid having odd shares, can opt for part scrip, part cash.

Perisher

If holdings very small take scrip how they calculate sia?

For example if only holding 100 shares :(

If you are using SCB, I suggest you take cash. The shares will be rounded down instead of up so you lose out. The excess cash will not be return back to you.

Sinkie

If you are using SCB, I suggest you take cash. The shares will be rounded down instead of up so you lose out. The excess cash will not be return back to you.

and dont think you can see 200 share odd lot also in scb

Genosis

OCBC scrip, 10% discount to market price~ really very cheap
I dont see why ppl will want to take cash?

Ya......10% discount is really generous.

One of the reasons why I made OCBC my priority nibbling target :D

OngHuatHuat

Scrip shares are newly issued or from treasury?

Sent from your gal nex door using GAGT

newly issued, normally will bring certain degree of dilution to the share price, but not to the extend of the discount they gave.

I am getting full 100 shares for my Malaysia Maybank shares every half a year, excess is in cash. No odd shares for me, coz I have to sell it at below market price(sometimes the discount is quite huge).

OngHuatHuat

If shareholding size is small, the difference won't be huge.

Not sure about SCB, for other brokerage, custodian holding normally need to pay extra for this kind of action, ie need to pay service fee to receive scrip shares.

Litmuss

Market starting to get weak Liao... No good news to sustain the uptrend.

Shortists, where are u?

lls0101

Also for ocbc can cheat code
Scrip u can round up to nearest share, damn song
Example 1000 mother shares
Dividends 0.16 u get $160 or
Scrip at $8
For 20 shares
If scrip at 7.95
U get 21 shares song till the max

Yes, I also always get scrip for my OCBC. They round up. Damn generous. This even works if you use CPF to buy. But do take note of what is considered as round up;

5. Fractional Entitlements
Fractional entitlements to a hundredth of a share or more will be rounded up to the nearest whole
Share, as illustrated by the following examples:
(i) Where the number of shares to be issued in lieu of cash is 25.01 shares, this will be
rounded up to 26 shares.
(ii) Where the number of shares to be issued in lieu of cash is 25.009 shares, this will be
rounded down to 25 shares.
(iii) Where the number of shares to be issued in lieu of cash is 25.11 shares, this will be
rounded up to 26 shares

But don't bother if you use SCB to buy. They don't round up :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.