Marriage, parenthood workgroup advances early proposals to not 'lose time' on falling birth rates: Indranee

havetheveryfun

oredi said one of the best ways is to officially state normal office jobs should end at 5 or 5.30pm instead of 6pm.

how many times parents often need to leave earlier to fetch their kids if their work end at 6pm as most childcare centers close by 7pm and want most parents to fetch the kids before 6.30 or 6.45pm.

This also helps singles in a way as they then have more time to rest and go out for dating afterwards. that 30 minutes makes a lot of difference.

Don't always say what expect support from employers and workplace culture. Make it the norm.

Teyemittisi

bringing up kids is not for city life couple in this modern world. alot of money and time are required which new gen couple prefers to use for their own, very few willing the sacrifices.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cjwxgz95jvgo
Be innovative! Who says it have to be a couple to be the family nucleus? What about 3 or even 4 living together? The logic is simple. It is more efficient for a family with 3-4 adults to raise many more children and to run the family. Economies of scale! Bigger households also equiv to better use of space and cheap housing per family and pax

Old_timer

You pack humans with other things in life, they loose interest or have no time for basic stuff. Period. U put 1 man and 1 women in a hut , provide them with basic food and needs , you will see the production factory start like in the early 60s or 70s

zetraw

How to be a politician.

We want holistic but we release pieces (to make PM balls shiok).

We will get consensus in parliment but those contentious we release first so that opposition got no chance to criticize.

Some will be happy (some not, but if I dont say, you won't know, I am transparent).

If there are results (which i can pick and choose and be transparent about what is not being disclosed), it will be a great success.

Dont ask demanding question, I will get your boss to fire you.

zetraw

Curfew!!!!!

After 7pm, must stay indoors. Nothing to do how?

After 7am then can go out, nothing to do how?

zetraw

If she can come up with a workable plan, it usually involves fear, fines and penalties.

Else the world surely got someone more clever than her, be it in government or assisting the government.

Do we really believe the world most intelligent people are surrounding her?

Dopod007

Give a new career to mothers (married or single mothers): $5K per month 1st baby, 10k two babies, 12.5k three babies, 15k 4 babies. Free education from kindergarten to university. Free sperms and PM LW is one of the donors. BBFA go to *** in sperm bank gets $500 CDC voucher per shoot...

testart

The little bird in my dream told me the possible reason:
- The Boss will be giving some baby goodies at the rally.
- If some one else did not do her due diligence, she will miss out the chance to claim credit for doing "work" to come up with the given goodies.
- She will look bad if she is NOT INVOLVED.
- Cannot say "NOT MY MANDATE".

The boss better not say this is an instant noodle solution or quick fix solution. It will take a decade to resolve and he wouldn't admit that inherited an ageing population and low TFR, unlike LHL, GCT.

zetraw

Govt take care of all kids borned until 6 years old, parents firsr chance to claim back kid.

Government take care of kids until 16 years old, parent last chance to claim back.

Thereafter kids become what the government wants to mold for the future, like rocket scientist, etc

hachi

If housing is the main issue... Bring back the built in advance... Not bto

Medicated Oil

The boss better not say this is an instant noodle solution or quick fix solution. It will take a decade to resolve and he wouldn't admit that inherited an ageing population and low TFR, unlike LHL, GCT.
They already using NCs to replace the numbers.
The NCs are enjoying the baby benefits and changing the passport of their kids later.

They dun care about the continuation of sinkie as long as there are cheap labor around.

kitaeshi

Just saying they release the report early but effective a not not my daiji, sinkies must appreciate their effort to push this very important report early so they can earn their credit

tootired

Be innovative! Who says it have to be a couple to be the family nucleus? What about 3 or even 4 living together? The logic is simple. It is more efficient for a family with 3-4 adults to raise many more children and to run the family. Economies of scale! Bigger households also equiv to better use of space and cheap housing per family and pax
it is not up to us to decide how each family preference to raise their kids. the way i see it, the cost and time are the biggest hurdle.

you can have 10 people to look your kids but how is the relationship between you and your kids is and whether they will be misled due to their influence will be another matter of concern or non concern to parent.

i believe most will want kids to be closed to themselves and make afford to shape them in good direction as much they could while kids are young (under 10yo) and it needs alot of time.

matrix05

They know the real reason and they cannot fix it. So no choice have to come out with other solutions that wun work to wayang

Exactly. Can't help but suspect the lowering TFR is a Managed decline. Clue: same leadership is allowed to continue for hitting the unspoken targets. Indranee does not lack cards or resources.
Eu, SK, JP all managed to reverse over the same period.

Philipkee

I think the number of marriages is irrelevant leh

24000 marriages registered means 48000 individuals got married if I see correctly

which means if let’s say last time we have 40000 live births a year, means almost everyone got married

The falling marriage number is more like the natural result of fewer people being born every year and reaching marriageable age a year as opposed to more people turning away from marriage (DINKS or only having one child is another issue)

so I think focus should not be on getting people to marry but to have more kids once married

havetheveryfun

I think the number of marriages is irrelevant leh

24000 marriages registered means 48000 individuals got married if I see correctly

which means if let’s say last time we have 40000 live births a year, means almost everyone got married

The falling marriage number is more like the natural result of fewer people being born every year and reaching marriageable age a year as opposed to more people turning away from marriage (DINKS or only having one child is another issue)

so I think focus should not be on getting people to marry but to have more kids once married
have to tackle all areas ma

-many couples are choosing not to have babies
-many bbfas want to get married but cannot get married
-some couples want to have babies but have fertility issues (qn - why so many fertility issues nowadays compared to the past? food for thought).

but i dont see them focusing on getting people to married at all also ma. all their policies are targeted at families, not bbfas.

coolmyth

Moi ish slightly triggered by the term "lose time".

Machiam rike must be efficient and make babies at the right time, so country can benefit.

The earlier the better so can squeeze more right from the baby's birth. o_O

Audio8

I have no idea what she's talking about. Can someone translate?

:o

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...moeLU-reNZW6WptiE8_aem_9xbq2sxwp1YiDLiNDOgxXA

SINGAPORE: Measures to better support families will be brought forward instead of waiting for the Marriage and Parenthood Reset Workgroup to complete its full report, after several areas of “clear consensus” on the challenges faced by families emerged from its engagements with Singaporeans.

Speaking at a National Day dinner in her Pasir Ris-Changi ward on Saturday (Aug 15), Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Indranee Rajah said the workgroup, which will release its full report in early 2027, has advanced a set of interim policy recommendations so that Singapore does not "lose time" addressing the important issue of falling birth rates.

These include taking a fresh look at the cost of raising children, access to affordable infant care and childcare, as well as other support for families.

Prime Minister Lawrence Wong will share more details at the upcoming National Day Rally on Aug 23, Ms Indranee said.

The Marriage and Parenthood Reset Workgroup was formed earlier this year to develop a roadmap to make marriage and parenthood more achievable, supported and valued in Singapore.

Ms Indranee, who chairs the workgroup, said its members have spent the past few months speaking to Singaporeans about their hopes, aspirations and concerns surrounding marriage and parenthood.

Asked why there was a need to advance the recommendations when the report is due in about six months, Ms Indranee said some issues were clearly on people’s minds and could already be addressed.

“Rather than wait ... because it’s an important issue, (we) might as well deal with this early and upfront,” she told reporters on the sidelines of the event.

"It's actually a huge review. We're leaving no stone unturned, and there are many other things that we have to look at.

"So we thought better to come up with these early, signal them early, and then after that we can focus on the other areas.

"FIRST WAVE OF MEASURES"​

Ms Indranee said the upcoming National Day Rally would be the “first wave” of measures arising from the workgroup, with more to come.

She said the workgroup’s engagements had shown that the cost of raising children, childcare and other forms of support were “very much on people’s minds”.

“We felt that, given the nature of this issue, we can actually advance some of our recommendations, which we did, and that’s what (Prime Minister) will be speaking about at the National Day Rally,” she said.

“I think it’s fair to say he will be focusing on support, what greater support we can give to families.”

In his National Day Message, Prime Minister Lawrence Wong said a “major review” was underway of how the government supports Singaporean families not just at the point of marriage and parenthood, but throughout their life’s journey.

WORKPLACE CULTURE AMONG AREAS BEING STUDIED​

One major area that will not be dealt with at the National Day Rally is workplace culture and norms, Ms Indranee said.

The workgroup has received feedback not only on work-life balance, but also on matters such as applying for leave and how flexible work arrangements are implemented, she said.

Ms Indranee said there was “clear consensus” that workplace issues needed to be tackled, but this would require more time because the workgroup was seeking to balance the interests and concerns of employers and employees.

She pointed to the role played by employers, human resource professionals and line managers in shaping employees’ experiences.

For instance, a parent taking shared parental leave could have a very different experience depending on the response of their supervisor.

“If your line manager is empathetic, happy for you that you have a child, it makes it so much easier,” she said.

But even if the leave is approved, a manager who reacts as though it is an imposition sends “a very different signal”, she added.

“So, learning how to create better workplace norms and cultures, I think, is a very important part of this.”

“There’s a combination of the more tangible measures, but you also need the intangibles, the software, and how people approach things, and that is actually quite hard to do.”

HOLISTIC SUPPORT​

Ms Indranee said the review was taking a holistic view of a family’s journey, rather than looking only at support around the birth of a child.

“When a baby is born, it doesn’t stop there, right? A child has to go through childcare, goes through primary school, goes through secondary school,” she said.

“In the review, we’ve taken a holistic view at the whole journey of a family, and we want to make sure that families are well supported at all stages.”

Singapore’s total fertility rate fell to a record low of 0.87 last year. Fewer than 30,000 live births were recorded in 2025 for the first time in 60 years, an 11.4 per cent drop from 2024.

About 24,700 marriages were registered last year, down 6.2 per cent from 2024.

Ms Indranee said the latest figures had “sharpened” the focus on marriage and parenthood.

With fewer marriages in recent years likely to translate into fewer children, she said it was better to step up efforts.

“Those that we can do early, we do early. Those that take a bit longer, then we will take as much time as we need to do those properly.”

In her speech, Ms Indranee said that reversing the country's downward fertility trajectory requires a "whole-of-nation effort" beyond government policies.

She highlighted that everyday actions - such as understanding employers fostering family-friendly workplaces, supervisors granting flexibility for family matters, neighbours offering support, commuters giving up seats to pregnant women, and community volunteers stepping in - make a "meaningful difference" to families.

"What we must do at a national level is to build a Singapore where families are supported and cherished. Everyone has a role to play in this," she said.
Why Singaproean remain single or stay DINK?
They want financial freedom. They want to enjoy life. They want to drive car. They want overseas holidays.

Proposed to give free COE for a small car for family with 2 or more kids. Proposed to give Leisure Voucher for every Singapore families with 2 kids and above.

This will make it more attractive and more enjoyable for Singaporean to have more kids with free COE for family car and paid overseas holidays for the kids.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.