European Stocks Discussion 2015

limster

Starting a discussion. Feel free to contribute.

Planning to purchase individual LSE dividend stocks in 2016 via ADRs. Initiated position with GSK as Pharma is an under-represented sector in my ETF holdings.

My prediction is that sometime in 2016 is probably the time to buy oil and gas. Instead of worrying whether Shell or BP for oil, the cheap IBKR commissions will let me buy a little of each.

For commodities space, my worry with BHP is that its already heavily represented in many of my ETFs , and that seem to have been wasteful in their past spending, something that may affect their future prospects. Wonder if RIO is a better alternative.

For Telco/cable, just like Singapore, got to choose where to place your money. BT and Vodafone seem more interesting than Sky, Talktalk... any views?

I know a lot of analysts love Talktalk the way some analysts seem to love M1 in Singapore, but I am contrarian and vested in the bigger players because I feel that size = survival. Myself, I was a BT subscriber so maybe I'm also biased. :o

odie2108

going to buy some lloyds... 72 gbx represents good value

I read online fm the guardian published 2 days ago that British chancellor holds a lot of llyods
And their ave price is 73.6 pence

Asphodeli

Starting a discussion. Feel free to contribute.

Planning to purchase individual LSE dividend stocks in 2016 via ADRs. Initiated position with GSK as Pharma is an under-represented sector in my ETF holdings.

My prediction is that sometime in 2016 is probably the time to buy oil and gas. Instead of worrying whether Shell or BP for oil, the cheap IBKR commissions will let me buy a little of each.

For commodities space, my worry with BHP is that its already heavily represented in many of my ETFs , and that seem to have been wasteful in their past spending, something that may affect their future prospects. Wonder if RIO is a better alternative.

For Telco/cable, just like Singapore, got to choose where to place your money. BT and Vodafone seem more interesting than Sky, Talktalk... any views?

I know a lot of analysts love Talktalk the way some analysts seem to love M1 in Singapore, but I am contrarian and vested in the bigger players because I feel that size = survival. Myself, I was a BT subscriber so maybe I'm also biased. :o

Why not just allocate 80 to 90% in the IUKD ETF, and then the rest selectively pick a few?

limster

Why not just allocate 80 to 90% in the IUKD ETF, and then the rest selectively pick a few?

Of my UK portfolio, I am like 85% VUKE, 10% WUKD, 5% IUKD. For 2016, want to trade something new, so trying individual stocks that are not oil stocks =:p

limster

Got my first trade on UK shares, got GSK.

Just added some GSK today.

Another reason to trade ADR instead of UK stocks. Live data only US$1.50/mth (NYSE lvl 1). Main reason is the commission+stamp duty. =:p

Asphodeli

bro do you know if we hold shares on LSE what taxes are we subjected to for dividends and capital gains using SCB?

When they give dividend or give u the $ back lor.

It's easier to check the ISIN number to see if they are subject to tax or not. ISIN = international securities identification number. if it starts with IE (Ireland), GB or JE (Island of Jersey), and maybe Bermuda (BMG), I think should be OK

Asphodeli

Waiting for SCB to near 52-week low to average down...current average for me is 5.99GBP :D

Currently is > 10% below my average price, but the month isn't over yet. So can still wait a while and see if I can get better prices.

limster

Added GSK and initiated position in Aviva.

Anyone any comments about the UK utilities sector like National Grid? About 5% yield.

odie2108

Waiting for SCB to near 52-week low to average down...current average for me is 5.99GBP :D

Currently is > 10% below my average price, but the month isn't over yet. So can still wait a while and see if I can get better prices.
Asphodeli, don't ave too much as SCB cut div by 50%
Standard Chartered cuts dividend after sharp profit fall (FT)
August 5, 2015 11:16 am
In Mr Winters’ first set of results, revenues fell 8 per cent and impairments for bad debts almost doubled. Overall pre-tax profits fell to $2.1bn, down from $3.25bn a year ago, and its return on equity halved. The interim payout to investors was cut 50 per cent to 14.4 cents.

i just bought HSBC at 541.1 gpx recently then it dropped and closed at 502.18gpx
sian
not sure if i shld ave later at 487gbx

Asphodeli

Wah HSBC also kena sold down. Roughly same price as STAN now. Interesting...dividends given in USD.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.