Low Risk Blue Chips to invest in??

Perisher

not true :D

ts: read all the stickies in the forum 1st. wealth of knowledge there.

for sti etf you can read up about (monthly) dollar cost averaging (dca)

Haha, I also hope it's not true.

Perisher

and to wahkao:

Blue chips because during a crisis, likelihood of bankruptcy is lower, it falls the least(as a whole), recovers the fastest, possible takeover target if really fall big, has cash to do buyback, long record of incremental dividends even during crisis.

One of the best example is JNJ.

btw, can you stop asking the same question over and over again.

felixleong

poor people like wahkao buy penny stocks (speculative)
rich people buy blue chips (1-2 decade of solid track record, government backed like DBS, SIA , Singtel... 2016 coming.. they need our votes.. u think garmen will let their blue chip fail if crisis come? they don't bail out and let thousands become jobless? u think so?)

wahkao3

this is what happens to blue chips

When everyone believes a stock is not risky, their eagerness to buy usually increases its price to the point where it’s risky .

felixleong

When everyone believes a stock is not risky, their eagerness to buy usually increases its price to the point where it’s risky .

the STI is only trading at 13 times earnings, so what u say is not true at all... especially when there are other stocks on sgx trading at 30 times earnings or even much higher

simon_84

rich people buy blue chips (1-2 decade of solid track record, government backed like DBS, SIA , Singtel... 2016 coming.. they need our votes.. u think garmen will let their blue chip fail if crisis come? they don't bail out and let thousands become jobless? u think so?)

i'm happy to see lighting party go down in the coming election.
whether they stay in power or not, doesn't matter and i like to believe that TH is a separate entity from the govt.
take it as business and politics are separate issues, don't mix them together.

is a very old sch of thought that the rich must carry on voting for the MIW so that their riches will be maintain.

Perisher

That's why it's not as risky as others, blue chips when increase price to risky level, it will pull back eventually, going back to where it's less risky.

Penny stock when increase to risky level would just plunge to nowhere. Just look at those 3 penny stock saga.
Now look at what happens to keppel corp, SCI, Sembcorp Marine when oil plunge. The difference is one still has a floor, the other is free-fall.

And when you diversify, the possibility of your randomly picked 30 blue chips going down vs 30 penny going down... Think.

wahkao3

Penny stock when increase to risky level would just plunge to nowhere. Just look at those 3 penny stock saga.
thats true
most penny stocks are nonsense stocks
the trick is only pick the good small stocks. thats where to get good returns :o

Bedokian

Another point to blue chips - do take note of the sector they are in before buying them just because they are labelled as such. A lot people will tell you about the blue chips that fell from grace, like the oft-quoted Chartered Semiconductor and NOL. Whether backed or not, no one would want to invest in sunset and/or low profit margin businesses. Stable businesses such as banks and telcos would be safer because everyone uses them, and for newbies you could buy them first. Or, like me, just buy the STI ETF.

Sinkie

But when a price is not risky, then you will say FA bad, TA bad, no buy

Sinkie

Another point to blue chips - do take note of the sector they are in before buying them just because they are labelled as such. A lot people will tell you about the blue chips that fell from grace, like the oft-quoted Chartered Semiconductor and NOL. Whether backed or not, no one would want to invest in sunset and/or low profit margin businesses. Stable businesses such as banks and telcos would be safer because everyone uses them, and for newbies you could buy them first. Or, like me, just buy the STI ETF.

You didn't mention creative? Haha..

whether they stay in power or not, doesn't matter and i like to believe that TH is a separate entity from the govt.

is a very old sch of thought that the rich must carry on voting for the MIW so that their riches will be maintain.

you mean, "lightning"..? :o

felixleong

haw par corp
venture
yangzijiang
yanlord
smrt
creative tech

they were all once blue chips

what I am trying to say is picking individual stocks sure will have some sort of risk one

for new investors, the easiest way to avoid non-systematical risk is to diversify via buying an index

cheers

wahkao3

But when a price is not risky, then you will say FA bad, TA bad, no buy
price not risky is just 1 of the criteria
there is also fa and ta criteria

when all of these criteria are good, then can buy, else dont buy. with so many criteria, you have to look through many stocks to find the best one.

that's why i advocate researching all 800 stocks on SGX and cherry pick the best ones

and simple screening just dont work. you really have to dig their financials, just like digging for gold like that

felixleong

btw analysts are saying that elections might come as early as late 2015

"lightning" team has done a lot of small tricks to try make themself more popular, dunno if it will work or not

for me I am neutral on which ever side wins

most important is my stocks continues to be fundamentally well and pay me good dividends I happy liao hehehehe

Perisher

u sure or not

do u even know what is systemic risk and what is non-systemic risk?

please explain in your own words, if u can I will respect u

Wahkao, quick, go google what is systemic and non-systemic risk. You will earn your very first respect here. From felixleong somemore, the guy who invest for a living. ^^

wahkao3

Wahkao, quick, go google what is systemic and non-systemic risk. You will earn your very first respect here. From felixleong somemore, the guy who invest for a living. ^^
googling nao!!!!:s13::s13::s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.