22-year-old last year uni student looking for a supervisor she can trust for her first job

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

tripleg

It is neither salary nor job stability — two things job seekers would probably seek in a recession — that Ee Xuejing will prioritise when she enters the workforce next year.

The 22-year-old communications student, in her last year in university, will look for a supervisor she can trust. After having served her recent internship in corporate sustainability under a “very trusting” supervisor, she desires similar rapport in future workplaces.

With remote working arrangements becoming the norm, the boundaries between work and personal life have also blurred. She says this might put a strain on mental wellness, such as if you feel like you must reply to a text from your supervisor immediately.

To tackle this anxiety, she encourages “having conversations with your supervisor”, which is trickier when mutual trust is lacking.

“It’s difficult (to have these conversations), because as a new hire, we want to establish our credibility,” she adds, referring to the stigma associated with discussing mental health.

While an older generation may baulk at her job search criteria, especially now, career coaches whom CNA Insider spoke to say millennials and Generation Z skew towards intangibles when building their career. Even in a recession nowhere near its end.

These values, like purpose or autonomy, might come across as entitlement, fussiness, idealism or a lack of gratitude when they manifest in seemingly unrealistic expectations of employers.

At least this is the picture painted by one semi-viral Facebook post on “7 interesting young candidates”. And the question may soon become hard to miss: Are younger job seekers asking for too much?

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...reans-too-entitled-employers-exploit-13185358

CoolSunnyDay

lol..trust needs to be earned, and it's a 2-way thingie.
most can only talk big about it, but can't put into action.

Hypernova

who you meet is have as your supervisor is heng suay 1, unless beforehand you know certain people you want as your supervisor and you aim to work under them.

strawberries should come out and experience the real world where it's not a bed of roses like how school experience is like. it's more like a minefield where every turn can lead to your demise in the corporate world.

CoolSunnyDay

i generally have reservation about people (especially younger gen) who talks too much about mental health at work..

royfang

The 22-year-old communications student, in her last year in university, will look for a supervisor she can trust. After having served her recent internship in corporate sustainability under a “very trusting” supervisor, she desires similar rapport in future workplaces.

Why very trusting is in " "? :s11:

min0ri

What the hell she talking about? Got job already considered good and lucky liao. She still expect caring and compassionate Supervisor to come with the job as well?

tripleg

21-year-old poly grad: My generation is a little bit ‘strawberry’. You cant really push them so hard

Other young job seekers believe that old-fashioned hard work is still the most important thing in landing and keeping a job.

Having recently graduated in interactive and digital media from a polytechnic, Nurul Shafeqah is seeking the right company culture and environment while looking for jobs under the SGUnited Traineeships programme. But long hours, to her, are “part and parcel” of working.

“My generation is a little bit ‘strawberry’. You can’t really push them so hard because they’d start talking badly,” says the 21-year-old.

“That’s a mindset that shows you’re not ready for working life. You need to grow up first because not everyone should accommodate you. You should be accommodating to people too.”

She does not need a company that embraces her whole self either.

“Who am I for them to just accept me like that? During COVID, you either lower your standards or you have to find another job,” she reasons. “Lowering your standards is, like, one of the easiest things to do.”

She does not believe her hard work or passion will get taken advantage of, as she knows “when to stop” and when she is “actually being exploited”.

“I’m someone who’s quite vocal, so I’d say when I think a (task) is too hard for me,” she says, adding that her peers should just tell their employer likewise if they have difficulty doing something.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...reans-too-entitled-employers-exploit-13185358

Kum Jit Pow

can i be the supervisor that thrust her?

Sent from Samsung SM-G955F using GAGT

DynamiteZerg

Strawberries... Where got a little bit strawberry one? It is you are one or you are not.

Joseph12

Penultimate paragraph is typical of CNA journalistic writings

Anyway unrealistic and bizarre requirements. She thinks shes interviewing her boss instead

Kunkka

Need go ns to toughen such sinkies up

Posted from PCWX using LYA-L29

PointofCommonCoupling

She does not believe her hard work or passion will get taken advantage of, as she knows “when to stop” and when she is “actually being exploited”.

“I’m someone who’s quite vocal, so I’d say when I think a (task) is too hard for me,” she says, adding that her peers should just tell their employer likewise if they have difficulty doing something.

Yep, truly spoken by someone who have not been in a job before. Wait till she kena this situation.

articland05

don't worry
ceca is there to replace

Sent from Motorola Dynatac 8000X using GAGT

HumJiBeng

Other young job seekers believe that old-fashioned hard work is still the most important thing in landing and keeping a job.

Having recently graduated in interactive and digital media from a polytechnic, Nurul Shafeqah is seeking the right company culture and environment while looking for jobs under the SGUnited Traineeships programme. But long hours, to her, are “part and parcel” of working.

“My generation is a little bit ‘strawberry’. You can’t really push them so hard because they’d start talking badly,” says the 21-year-old.

“That’s a mindset that shows you’re not ready for working life. You need to grow up first because not everyone should accommodate you. You should be accommodating to people too.”

She does not need a company that embraces her whole self either.

“Who am I for them to just accept me like that? During COVID, you either lower your standards or you have to find another job,” she reasons. “Lowering your standards is, like, one of the easiest things to do.”

Her working attitude is the type traditional old school SME bosses and Asian companies love most. Pay them $1.5k/mth make her work 12 hours a day and 6 days week.

Tbh, she is spoiling the markert. Just like how FTs do

royfang

Strawberry and SJW "best combo" :s22::s22::s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.