35% of workers between 18 and 67 in Singapore have quiet quit their job

tripleme

Quiet quitting refers to opting out of tasks beyond one’s assigned duties and becoming less psychologically invested in work.

According to a recent survey by human resources agency Randstad of 1,000 respondents between 18 and 67 in Singapore, 35 per cent have quiet quit their job. This is 4 per cent higher than the global average.

Among those who indicated they had quiet quit, 41 per cent said they have done so to improve work-life balance, while 38 per cent said it was because of the low compensation and rising cost of living. About 33 per cent cited a lack of career growth opportunities for quiet quitting.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...iet-quitters-than-global-average-survey-shows

peaceheart

I suspect the % is understated or even reversed. Not surprised if 65% quiet quit. Ask yourself how many ppl you know are actually passionate about their job? At most they haolian their salary, title etc but nv about the jobscope itself. To many, It's just a means to an end, to put food on table, to buy branded, to sustain their lifestyle.

Laguna123

My prace a lot really quiet-quitted. Even manager level also
A few of them I got shocked also they seem to have forgotten how to perform their own jod scope :look:
Mean the manager just arrow the work to their subordinate and ownself shake legs?

tatsit

Quiet quitting refers to opting out of tasks beyond one’s assigned duties and becoming less psychologically invested in work.
How does one even accept to opt in tasks that's beyond one's assigned duties? This is not ministerial job leh, there's no allowance for doing beyond.

Young grads should understand this and don't be stupid. When i was fresh grad, o stupidity took additional duties, those in GLC will understand. I performed very well, end up to be told I cannot be promoted because of a cap and bell curve.

After I left the company and joined others, it was so peaceful, I only had my own job scope to take care. When I met up with ex colleagues who are still working there, they complain, I laugh

Lareina

Pls loh.. before inflation, already see people anyhow do their jobs, dun care no sense of urgency, act blur etc..
Definitely way more people are so called quiet quitting. They just know job is for living expenses, nothing more than that. Just do bare minimum can liao

Lchlch

I think those above 55, should do quiet quitting.
Take salary, work , go home.

prusswan.net

Pls loh.. before inflation, already see people anyhow do their jobs, dun care no sense of urgency, act blur etc..
Definitely way more people are so called quiet quitting. They just know job is for living expenses, nothing more than that. Just do bare minimum can liao
Less do less wrong

No do no wrong

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.