486 desktop pc can support Nvidia 5090 gpu?

Eddedd

Maybe, same x86 architecture wat. If can connect, Maybe take months to execute 1 simple instruction?

hardindex

Overlooking at 99999999ghz and buy the liquid nitrogen cooling for cpu. Maybe

Ye_Rongtian

are-you-for-real-cat.gif

DragonFire

Can work or not ah... IT experts can advise?

Nope.

80486 era PCs supported only 32bit legacy PCI bus. 5090 is PCI-E.

32bit PCI operating at 66 Mhz is capable of a bus speed of 266MBps

PCIE 5.0 which I assume is what a 5090 will use has a 16-lane bus speed of 64GBps.

Go do the math yourself.

Nevermind that the connectors and operating voltage are completely different lol.

BlackWing1977

Can dun ask these kind of questions?? The motherboard dun even have PCI-E slot required for modern day GPU.... :rolleyes:

pwongkk

Nope.

80486 era PCs supported only 32bit legacy PCI bus. 5090 is PCI-E.

32bit PCI operating at 66 Mhz is capable of a bus speed of 266MBps

PCIE 5.0 which I assume is what a 5090 will use has a 16-lane bus speed of 64GBps.

Go do the math yourself.

Nevermind that the connectors and operating voltage are completely different lol.
Can mod the connectors and use external psu.

Crooni

Anyway last time tech moves so fast. 1 year your pc obsolete liao cannot run cos of new instruction sets

DragonFire

Can mod the connectors and use external psu.
Different bus voltage and clocks. Instruction sets also different. I suppose a really smart engineer might be possible to construct a hardware interface board that allows a 486 era device to actually use a PCIE GPU for basic video output.

AngelRomeo

Can dun ask these kind of questions?? The motherboard dun even have PCI-E slot required for modern day GPU.... :rolleyes:
moi IT noob cannot ask meh...
i also dont know simi PCI-E slot, ask here first before bringing down to PC shop ask them help me to install

Magnuz

Fastest pci version of Nvidia card maybe.
You have to remember, pci was the fastest
thing in 486.

pwongkk

Different bus voltage and clocks. Instruction sets also different. I suppose a really smart engineer might be possible to construct a hardware interface board that allows a 486 era device to actually use a PCIE GPU for basic video output.
End up might as well just get a modern motherboard.

Powering up a 8088, 80286, 80386 and 80486 system does bring back the memories.

From Windows 3.11 to Win 95, there's really a wow factor. Today it's nostalgic to run a 80486 system in DOS mode. 8088/80286 see the base memory slowly counting to 640kb before the system boots.

pwongkk

BlackWing1977

moi IT noob cannot ask meh...
i also dont know simi PCI-E slot, ask here first before bringing down to PC shop ask them help me to install
Bro your 486 smelly smelly also more than 20++ years liao... you sure you have a working 486 PC??

BlackWing1977

End up might as well just get a modern motherboard.

Powering up a 8088, 80286, 80386 and 80486 system does bring back the memories.

From Windows 3.11 to Win 95, there's really a wow factor. Today it's nostalgic to run a 80486 system in DOS mode. 8088/80286 see the base memory slowly counting to 640kb before the system boots.
I doubt even got USB port nor any SATA port lor... :sick: at best IDE port for HDD.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.