50s and unwanted. How?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

MoeLanYong

I met a group of old classmates recently. They are in their mid 50s

1 say jod too stress. He thought can take a break find another jod. Quit already now cannot find jod. 6 months ady.

1 say he find very long. A few years liao. Steel no jod.

Both got begree. Both got kids to feed. Now struggling to make ends meet. I am discovering more of such friends in EVERY social circle.

Last time work till 55 can retire. Garment say we are living longer and thus need to work longer.

Ok we listen to garment. Now 55, want to continue to work. BUT employers dun want us. Hiam our age. Want FT. No jods for older sinkies.

Seriously, something is very wrong with our system.

Is this a new emerging crisis?

(Dun laugh at me. You will reach 50s one day and this will be your fate too)

highsulphur

1 say jod too stress. He thought can take a break find another jod. Quit already now cannot find jod. 6 months ady.

Both got begree. Both got kids to feed. Now struggling to make ends meet. I am discovering more of such friends in EVERY social circle.

Last time work till 55 can retire. Garment say we are living longer and thus need to work longer.

Ok we listen to garment. Now 55, want to continue to work. BUT employers dun want us. Hiam our age. Want FT. No jods for older sinkies.

I'm almost 50. I don't take my job or my colleagues for granted. If I don't know, I'll ask someone who does regardless his or her age. I will try to contribute as much as possible and if the day comes that I can't, I deserve to get let go.

Spike

Why people don’t like to hire older people? Thought retirement age is 63. I 48 already find it difficult to get a good and stable job. I hate doing part time job because no job benefits. But no work no money.
Customers' preferences, and general assumptions.. :(

For example, for a Chinese tuition centre, you would expect a female PRC teacher. Whereas for a retail shop, you would prefer a young female salesperson. For admin and HR, young females are preferred etc.

Dopod007

At the 50s, once you lose job, the only jobs available are PHV, food delivery, cleaners, security guards. Need to absorb their pride and take on low paying jobs. If they have some savings and have guts for risk, they can play stocks and hope to make some money without physical labour work.

white_prince

At the 50s, once you lose job, the only jobs available are PHV, food delivery, cleaners, security guards. Need to absorb their pride and take on low paying jobs. If they have some savings and have guts for risk, they can play stocks and hope to make some money without physical labour work.
FT tenants will find security guards problem

xcodes

The reality of things.
Sinkie dun feel the pain until it become personal.
By that time, it is already too late.
And the one who voiced out the reality end up being labelled as ungrateful.

exactly bro ... those 65% made their decision because the reality hasn't set in for them yet ... once they realise like what TS has described ... it'll be too late for them liao ... this is the result of selfish thinking that as long I'm not affected, it's none of my business ... but they don't know it'll have repercussion for them some time down the road in the future for them ...

madcampus

Company only want to hire young obedient submissive employees. Older worker usually 不听话 due to longer work experience. So sure langa with younger managers. If you're old, best to start own business or do some teaching trainer job.

Caifan

Customers' preferences, and general assumptions.. :(

For example, for a Chinese tuition centre, you would expect a female PRC teacher. Whereas for a retail shop, you would prefer a young female salesperson. For admin and HR, young females are preferred etc.
I lost my sale to a young promoter today. The customer originally wanted to buy my product but later saw a younger person selling same product but different brand. 🫤

Medicated Oil

exactly bro ... those 65% made their decision because the reality hasn't set in for them yet ... once they realise like what TS has described ... it'll be too late for them liao ... this is the result of selfish thinking that as long I'm not affected, it's none of my business ... but they don't know it'll have repercussion for them some time down the road in the future for them ...
Dun need to harp on the 65% crap.
Part of them are not local.
Nothing will really change even if WP win 20 seats this time.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.