CPU Cooler: H100i
Monitor: Asus vg248qe

Budget: $2500

Intending for gaming.

wuweiz

Read that Windows 8 not optimized for gaming. Might as well go Win 7 64 bit.

I see your current build, 32 bit windows won't be able to utilize 8Gb of your RAM. The most is 3Gb++ only.

Spend a bit more on GPU lah.. Go GTX 770.. :p

I think you can rip off your old PC RAM and storage.

enenyi

Any advice on this build?

CPU: Intel i5-4670k
Mobo: Asus sabretooth z87
GPU: Gigabyte 760 OC
Ram: Corsair vengence 2x4gb 1600Mhz
PSU: Seasonic 650W bronze
Casing: Corsair 400R
ODD: Any
SDD: OCZ vertex 4 128GB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB

Intending for gaming.
If for gaming just upgrade to a better GPU and monitor can liao lor. Buy an SSD as primary OS drive. Y need to overall your current Sandy Bridge system?

wuweiz

Why not go for a lower-tier Z87 motherboard and opt for i7-4770k?

I think he will under-utilize i7. Just for gaming only mah. Save the money for better GPU imo.

To TS: if u r heavy gamer, might as well look at higher capacity SSD. At least go 240Gb n above.

mypettycash

Planning to sell away my current rig and buy a new 1. But need to plan really carefully before buying a high end build.

I also wished for a better GPU. I will go for 780 if possible. 770 and 760 not much difference. There is no more budget unless there is something i could spend less on.

VG248qe is as good as professional gamers's choice, xl2420t. And it's not available in singapore. Have to import from US for $400.

My previous windows is 64 bit so that's why i have 8gb. But due to reformatted, i only have 32bit windows. Any information/article that states windows 8 is not for gaming?

twasken

If TS still using the rig with specs on the right, might as well just
1. upgrade to 64 bit Windows,
2. get SSD and install OS on SSD
3. upgrade GPU (Zotac GTX770 @ $609 a good consideration)
4. upgrade to a 23-24" monitor for shiok factor

Save the rest of the money, give parents or donate to charity :D

mypettycash

If TS still using the rig with specs on the right, might as well just
1. upgrade to 64 bit Windows,
2. get SSD and install OS on SSD
3. upgrade GPU (Zotac GTX770 @ $609 a good consideration)
4. upgrade to a 23-24" monitor for shiok factor

Save the rest of the money, give parents or donate to charity :D

Another reason i do not want to continue with my current rig is that pci-e on my current mobo is pci-e 2. Nvidia 700 series is all pci-e 3. although still can work exactly the same but more or less can have that feel that thinks the speed is running slower becoz of pci-e 2.

raysusan

Another reason i do not want to continue with my current rig is that pci-e on my current mobo is pci-e 2. Nvidia 700 series is all pci-e 3. although still can work exactly the same but more or less can have that feel that thinks the speed is running slower becoz of pci-e 2.

i will not get new cpu and mobo
use the $ to buy 780

wuweiz

Any information/article that states windows 8 is not for gaming?

It's just what I read in different forums.. Can't remember links. Lol..

Are you a fan of Sabretooth? :s13:

I almost wanted Sabretooth but I don't think I will utitlize all of its features and I still prefer to clean the mobo without thermal armour.

Maybe you can look at cheaper Z87 boards? Cheaper doesn't mean it's lousier and less stable or whatever. Just lesser features.

m3 th3 last

Any advice on this build?

CPU: Intel i5-4670k
Mobo: Asus sabretooth z87
GPU: Gigabyte 760 OC
Ram: Corsair vengence 2x4gb 1600Mhz
PSU: Seasonic 650W bronze
Casing: Corsair 400R
ODD: Any
SDD: OCZ vertex 4 128GB
HDD: WD Blue 1TB

Intending for gaming.

1. Please kindly do more research on non "Z" overclocking. It is available on Asrock "H" Series motherboard. Doing so can save you a bit on the motherboard.

2. Consider Plextor M5 Pro more value for money and dun lose out in performance.

3. H100i? Really necessary? Haswell can't overclock much cause of the Gap which dun allow the heat to be channeled to the CPU Cooler. Consider going for more mid range ones.

That's my 2 cent on where u can increase ur overall bang for bucks. Also there is Casing but a bit subjective. I would reuse back my old ones.

nippp0n

Since this is a gaming rig, you should go for at least a GTX770 or 7970 gpu. Drop to a lower level Z87 mobo and change your your cpu cooler if you don't intend to go for extreme OC.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.