Advice on Career Change

b0h3mian_summer

do not slam me for not having an interest or passion or talent when you don't know my story.

i have been interested in arts from young but i have been brought up such that i shouldn't be interested in arts, but rather go for more "practical" jobs like r&d, medicine, law, business, etc. it is only after 3 years of studying biomed that i realise i prefer design over anything else.

the thought of making a portfolio never came across my mind, until recently when i decided to begin to take design more seriously. i do know how to use photoshop and illustrator, also a little of indesign, but my lack of experience made me unsure if i am adequate enough for design firms to hire me.

also, i am currently hired as a graphic designer intern, so thanks but no thanks for being so quick to put me down.

Jiayou! :) Actually you really have to go into it and then you will know how much you really want it.

Just that the "standard" singaporean education system all teaches us to be Lawyers/Doctors/Engineers. There is no room for the arts.

Due to my work now, I have met many many young arts students. Some are from Wee Kim Wee, SOTA, Lasalle, NAFA, dabbling in design, multimedia, music, dance etc. Most are trying to get out of Singapore, and those who are staying, are having 2nd thoughts about going into the arts scene full time.

it's bleak, but not totally hopeless. It's really the survival of the fittest (and having talent/network helps a great deal too)

popdod

the thought of making a portfolio never came across my mind, until recently when i decided to begin to take design more seriously. i do know how to use photoshop and illustrator, also a little of indesign, but my lack of experience made me unsure if i am adequate enough for design firms to hire me.

also, i am currently hired as a graphic designer intern, so thanks but no thanks for being so quick to put me down.

Since u know how to use those softwares and u r hired as a graphic design intern...you can always PR wif ur current boss
and ask whether any chance of bcuming as a Jnr Designer.
of coz, dun expect pay too high.

I used to come up a thread between the pros & cons of
Agencies, Design houses, In-house ...but dunno where it hidden liao.

In fact, how to climb up your career in the agency life is not too difficult.

but

how to do a profitable business in the creative industry is a different story.

I'd seen quotations from agencies to design hses & freelancers....the prices
hab fallen drastically just to secure the business. That shows,
too many fishes in a pond.

Always remember, you are the brand!
What makes you different from others!

Always improve your strengths to new heights!

forget about being an all-rounder....only a few can but most dont.

5 years later...come and visit this thread again.
Bookmark it!

;) =:p ;)

popdod

it's bleak, but not totally hopeless. It's really the survival of the fittest (and having talent/network helps a great deal too)

Just for an info for all those yang padawans.

Currently market is TOO MANY Art Directors,
TOO FEW copywriters.

If you have a flair in copywriting, a good thinking mind.
Congrates!

Be a writer!
Chances of getting hired is so much higher than Art Directors!

Hard Career Truths Yang Padawans!

;) :D ;)

MatrixFanatic

Design is under-appreciated in Singapore. Of course, what do you expect from a nation of engineers where everyone is virtually engineered? Plus, Singaporeans have no taste, not mature enough, still in the bling bling Louis Vuitton and fancy stuff stage, thus the standard of design is rather low because the market makes it low.

Also, design is not advertising. You need to have great design first to advertise well. See Apple. On the contrary to what people say, if their product has little substance, no amount of advertising can save it. See Samsung and their 'classy' jibes at Apple and pretentious adverts.

When I was in Europe on a semester exchange, the students aren't the most brilliant, but they have the opportunity aplenty, because design is appreciated there. Even a bloody old ang moh grandmother knows what a beautiful chair or lamp is. In short, Singapore is crap for creative work. No taste, nobody knows what is beautiful or not, nobody gives a flying,

If you are keen, sign up for NAFA or something, but it's going to be difficult road. How was your CAP from the Polytechnic? You might want to try NTU ADM or NUS.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.