Advice on HDB fire insurance

Summer78

I get from NTUC income.....covers structure and renovation if I remember correctly....:s34:

The basic hdb only cover the structure

whatmeworry

Make sure to ask if corridor is 1.2m or less got cover or not?
Don't later insurance claim building not according to safety design, so withhold claims!

Beh-Hawk

is it common to buy the third party one? meaning if fire spread to neighbour then they can claim from insurance indeed

WussRedXLi

It depends on whether you believe in this type of things. If you believe, do set aside a $200 sum for getting smoke detectors and fire blankets/fire extinguishers.

There shouldn't be any reason why a fire should take the life of you/your loved ones. And besides, when a fire is small and detected, you can easily put it out.

My neighbour downstairs kena one, 50k re-reno.....and 5 weeks out of action to clear debris and reno. Needed to put up at a hotel also, so you can go calculate. I don't think standard fire insurance takes care of that. even if it takes care of renovation and contents. Only the top-tier very comprehensive ones do.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...u-have-fire-extinguisher-home-5059776-11.html

stillgottheblues

It depends on whether you believe in this type of things. If you believe, do set aside a $200 sum for getting smoke detectors and fire blankets/fire extinguishers.

There shouldn't be any reason why a fire should take the life of you/your loved ones. And besides, when a fire is small and detected, you can easily put it out.

My neighbour downstairs kena one, 50k re-reno.....and 5 weeks out of action to clear debris and reno. Needed to put up at a hotel also, so you can go calculate. I don't think standard fire insurance takes care of that. even if it takes care of renovation and contents. Only the top-tier very comprehensive ones do.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...u-have-fire-extinguisher-home-5059776-11.html
Sometimes no one at home, hard to predict.

Sent from Window 10 using GAGT

WussRedXLi

Sometimes no one at home, hard to predict.

Never ever make the mistake and think that fire insurance covers everything. The comprehensive ones may overlook some stuff also.

And remember, they do not cover the inconvenience + some out of pocket expenses, like your neighbours kena curtains and paint kena blackened etc. That was what happened to my neighbour. Upstairs also need to pay.

Seriously, no one at home, you shouldn't even be leaving that MIC charger switched on, seriously.

WussRedXLi

Last time...

http://news.asiaone.com/News/The+New+Paper/Story/A1Story20090807-159759.html

Fire in McNair Road: 1 Dead

20090807.181804_mcnair_fire.jpg

By Celine Lim

A MAN died after a fire broke out at an executive HDB flat along McNair Road in Boon Keng last night.

The Chinese man was found dead in the toilet of the master bedroom. His name and age could not be confirmed at press time.

The fire was confined to the flat's master bedroom.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) received a call at 10.10pm about a fire at Block 110, McNair Road, and they arrived within a minute.

They sent two fire bikes, two fire engines, a red rhino, two supporting appliances and an ambulance.

When SCDF officers rushed up to the flat on the 11th floor, there was no response when they knocked on the door and rang the doorbell.

They used a power saw and a cutter to break down the door, and got the fire under control under 10 minutes.

When they entered the unit, they found a Chinese man dead in the toilet of the master bedroom.

It is believed that an elderly couple lived in the unit with their two grown-up sons.

The couple is believed to be in their 50s, and their sons are in their 20s.

When The New Paper arrived at the scene at 10.45pm, a woman, who appeared to be in her 50s, was overhead frantically asking a police officer: 'Can you call my house to see if there's anyone inside?'

Later, the woman was led to her charred home on the 11th floor by officers. Loud wails and inconsolable sobbing could be heard.

A next-door neighbour, who declined to be named, told The New Paper that when the fire broke out at about 10pm, she didn't hear anything as she was watching a television programme at the time.

It wasn't until her son, who was downstairs at the time, ran home and told her to get out of the flat that she realised something was wrong.

She described the family next door as 'quiet and often kept to themselves'.

Another neighbour, Madam Marilyn Han, 50, a housewife who lives on the eighth floor, said that soon after 10pm, she heard loud crackling noises and shouting.

She ran out of the flat with her husband and five children. Several residents also headed downstairs, worried that the fire could spread to their units.

Madam Han said: 'When I was leaving the flat, there was a horrible burning smell and thick black smoke was billowing from the window.

'I could also see debris falling from the burning unit's window.'

Another resident, Mr Leroy Lee, 45, a sales executive, said someone rang his doorbell to warn him about the fire.

Said Mr Lee: 'It was frightening because the fire grew as we watched. My family and I were just standing at the void deck watching, and we were just praying that whoever lived there would get out safely.'

The SCDF said they are investigating the cause of the fire.

WussRedXLi

Fire at Yio Chu Kang house kills 2 and injures 6 others

iZavMj6.png

Yxh6vn0.png

upDn9of.png

yeGHdwN.png

3Teynmt.png

Hoe Pei Shan
Updated today at 08:12 AM

SINGAPORE - A fire broke out at a house in Yio Chu Kang early on Tuesday morning (June 9), killing two people and injuring six others.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) was alerted to the fire at Parry Avenue at about 3am.

Firefighters arrived to find the fire engulfing the house and burning through the roof. They used four water jets to extinguish it at 4.30am, and two other water jets to prevent the fire from spreading to adjacent buildings.

Six of the residents had managed to flee the house, and the firefighters helped another two, including an elderly man, to escape.

The firefighters later found two bodies on the second floor of the house.

Of the residents, two elderly men, two women and a child were taken to Singapore General Hospital for treatment for smoke inhalation.

One of the firefighters who developed heat exhaustion was taken to Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

The cause of the fire is under investigation.

In all, the SCDF deployed three fire engines, three Red Rhinos - light fire attack vehicle designed to manoeuvre in tight concrete spaces - six support vehicles and three ambulances.

hpeishan@sph.com.sg

chech01

So what is the type of insurance to buy?

I think many did not bother and with so many siao lang around it can get scary.

Any insurance bro to advise?

WussRedXLi

So what is the type of insurance to buy?

I think many did not bother and with so many siao lang around it can get scary.

Any insurance bro to advise?

Get the "standard ones", better than appointed Etiqa one.

If you are worried about siao langs, get smoke detectors (1 for every room.....if you are ngeow you can get 2 for every room, 1 photoelectric and 1 ionisation type smoke detector).

You can check out AIG, quite good. NTUC income also decent. All are not expensive.

But if you compare a 5 years comprehensive coverage vs a full fire extinguisher + smoke detector and fire blanket set, the former is much more expensive.

WussRedXLi

A fire is really scary. In my neighbour's case, the living room caught fire (altar) and the kid alerted the sleeping mother in the MBR. The mother was like 6 months pregnant.

No joke bros.....

stillgottheblues

Get the "standard ones", better than appointed Etiqa one.

If you are worried about siao langs, get smoke detectors (1 for every room.....if you are ngeow you can get 2 for every room, 1 photoelectric and 1 ionisation type smoke detector).

You can check out AIG, quite good. NTUC income also decent. All are not expensive.

But if you compare a 5 years comprehensive coverage vs a full fire extinguisher + smoke detector and fire blanket set, the former is much more expensive.
Where to fix smoke detector and all the stuffs you said? Got pricing boh?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.