Airbnb in BKK

aqua_not

I'm heading for BKK in April and considering staying at an Airbnb.
Which neighborhood should I look at if I want to stay in the heart of the shopping area?

Below are the options from the Airbnb site

Lower Sukhumvit
Aree
Bang Kapi
Rat Burana
Klong Toey
Thonburi
Phasi Charoen
Thong Lo
Upper Sukhumvit
Yan Nawa
Din Daeng/Huai Khwang
Bang Na
Ratchathewi/Phaya Thai
Phra Khanong
Suan Luang
Bang Sue
Chatuchak

palmpda

https://www.google.com.sg/search?cl....0...1c.2.64.psy-ab..0.1.225....0.Ajn1vsHmH1U

Which neighborhood should I look at if I want to stay in the heart of the shopping area?

Lower Sukhumvit
Aree
Bang Kapi
Rat Burana
Klong Toey
Thonburi
Phasi Charoen
Thong Lo
Upper Sukhumvit
Yan Nawa
Din Daeng/Huai Khwang
Bang Na
Ratchathewi/Phaya Thai
Phra Khanong
Suan Luang
Bang Sue
Chatuchak

Beno777

Lower Sukhumvit
Aree
Bang Kapi
Rat Burana
Klong Toey
Thonburi
Phasi Charoen
Thong Lo
Upper Sukhumvit
Yan Nawa
Din Daeng/Huai Khwang
Bang Na
Ratchathewi/Phaya Thai
Phra Khanong
Suan Luang
Bang Sue
Chatuchak

Use the map search function to find those apartment near to or better still, just beside BTS station.

I prefer On Nut area or Udom Suk. Few more stations further from asoke or siam but the apartment at that area are new and cheap :D

travellover

my recent bkk trip I stay at this condo, with walking distance (about 10-20 mins) to Siam Niramitr, Big C extra, The Street (24hrs food mall), Big Dog Café, Esplanade Shopping Mall, Ratchada Train Night Market and Thailand Cultural Center MRT Station. There is also a 7-11 and some Chinese restaurants beside.

iCuteCube

Use the map search function to find those apartment near to or better still, just beside BTS station.

I prefer On Nut area or Udom Suk. Few more stations further from asoke or siam but the apartment at that area are new and cheap :D

I second for On Nut, stayed at a condo 3-5mins walk, nice and clean. Though it is further away from city central, but enjoyed the stay.

catinthesky

We stayed at this cute and clean place in-betw Ari and Sanam Pao BTS. It's around 10 mins to walk to either station. There's a 7-11 very nearby and some small cafes. Got some Thai zhi char stalls nearby too.

Really like this area cos it's safe and quiet, and quite near town. Just 2-3 BTS stations away from Siam.

beanstalk6

If one does not mind staying a little further away from the city centre, in the suburb residential districts, the experience can very pleasant. There are food peddlers and small tradesmen who will sell their offerings or wares in the sois, although there is already every convenience available. Some areas even have night watchmen who patrol and announce the time through the night. Some areas are very updated, and resemble Holland Village, with gentrified establishments like gyms, cafes and supermarkets sharing the street scene with hawkers and markets.

Delsamor

These airbnb apartment can bring friends stay? No need to declare to the owner how many people is staying right.

Papermate

Lower Sukhumvit
Aree
Bang Kapi
Rat Burana
Klong Toey
Thonburi
Phasi Charoen
Thong Lo
Upper Sukhumvit
Yan Nawa
Din Daeng/Huai Khwang
Bang Na
Ratchathewi/Phaya Thai
Phra Khanong
Suan Luang
Bang Sue
Chatuchak
Phrom Phong would be good for shopping (and makan). Stay near the BTS, and you can go to various other places easily for MBK, the Erawan Shrine, etc, etc.

Try the ferry ride, which can bring you to Chinatown, the Wats, Asiatique and maybe you might drop by at The Oriental Bangkok to see why it ranks so high among hotels...across is The Peninsula, a worthy rival which is worth a visit.

Papermate

If one does not mind staying a little further away from the city centre, in the suburb residential districts, the experience can very pleasant. There are food peddlers and small tradesmen who will sell their offerings or wares in the sois, although there is already every convenience available. Some areas even have night watchmen who patrol and announce the time through the night. Some areas are very updated, and resemble Holland Village, with gentrified establishments like gyms, cafes and supermarkets sharing the street scene with hawkers and markets.

Good advice.

It's like Singapore. There is really no need to stay in a hotel on Orchard Road. If one is adventurous enough, he could stay in Chinatown. If the government allows it, tourists on a budget could even stay in Ang Mo Kio, Toa Payoh, Jurong etc for a true Singaporean experience instead of only seeing big signboards everywhere screaming Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Prada etc...from shopfronts in Orchard Road.

With the MRT, it is so easy to move around, and seriously, the hotel room rate on Orchard Road might be say $100-150/night whereas you pay maybe $30/night on Airbnb in a HDB room (provided it is allowed), and the difference of $70-120 can more than pay for MRT rides, food, entrance fees to the zoo, Sentosa theme attractions...and even shopping.

So, I think there is no need to stay in the heart of the shopping district with the BRT making travel so fast and easy.....and so cheap. And as you said correctly, the experience away from areas which cater more to tourists is really what anyone should go for if we want to understand a country. But it's not for the fainted hearted, who tend to imagine all kinds of violence and crimes in their mind...when none exists or when it's not as bad as they imagine. Sadly, most Singaporeans belong to this group, and most have no guts to venture out far. If they do, they only go with organised tours by Chan Bros, SA Tours, etc...and in this aspect, I have to give it to ang mohs who are more daring.

pinpinpin

dont airbnb in the city.

I checked and it is expensive..........

somemore no bf and room service consider opposite 4 stars hotel maybe $10 more per night as compare to the airbnb.

Andrew833

dont airbnb in the city.

I checked and it is expensive..........

somemore no bf and room service consider opposite 4 stars hotel maybe $10 more per night as compare to the airbnb.

If in a group of 4 and above, airbnb is cheaper but as you said no room service.

voonnie

Was the place nice? Sounds convenient !

my recent bkk trip I stay at this condo, with walking distance (about 10-20 mins) to Siam Niramitr, Big C extra, The Street (24hrs food mall), Big Dog Café, Esplanade Shopping Mall, Ratchada Train Night Market and Thailand Cultural Center MRT Station. There is also a 7-11 and some Chinese restaurants beside.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.