Any recommendation for Mobo + CPU

providence87

Hi guys,

My mobo just went dead, any recommendation for mobo+cpu? Preferably intel

Mainly play games like football manager and total war.

planning to reuse parts from my old rig bought 3 years ago:

PSU: superflower leadex 550W 80+silver
GPU: Palit GTX 970
Chassis: Fractal R5

planning to buy 2x8gb ddr4 Klevv bolt 3000 ram

Thanks in advice!

gld998

Hi guys,

My mobo just went dead, any recommendation for mobo+cpu? Preferably intel
Mainly play games like football manager and total war.

planning to reuse parts from my old rig bought 3 years ago:

PSU: superflower leadex 550W 80+silver
GPU: Palit GTX 970
Chassis: Fractal R5

Thanks in advice!

standard ryzen or kopilake build... no budget how to recommend sia

wwenze

Buy those bundles with graphics card, then sell the graphics card.

tmfwy

Just buy a replacement

Haswell
Either used or H81

Skylake KabyLake
Plenty of mobo around

Coffee Lake
MSI / Gigabyte
Asus starts from $299
Asrock er.......

tmfwy

Miners will pay you SRP
and will even ask you for BEST PRICE $3xx for 6gb
Also got sob stories

I kena one
"My graphic card died. sob sob. really want to play, still studying...
after " ok ", HOW MANY YOU HAVE AR??? "

Not worth the effort

tmfwy

I apologise beforehand for my off-topic rant, but i have serious issues with this comment

FIRSTLY, why do you want to support the miners????
EVERY card taken off the retail channel means one less card for a gamer.
This means that any attempt to circumvent the system is a goal against the gamers, and a win for the miners

Miners have their own mining queue with their own prices and stock allocation. That is the proper channel for miners to get their cards.

Miners are in a better position than gamers, to pay the Mining Tax.
2. Miners are using Graphic cards as a tool of the trade. This tool generates revenue.
3. Games are a luxury and to most gamers, they don't generate revenue from gaming ( i say MOST gamers )

Some will argue that the restrictions impact upgraders as well. But i think as a whole, it is time for upgraders to move on from their old systems to the new. Coffee Lake and Ryzen are good platforms that represent good value as compared to the older platforms circa 2014 and below.

PUBG works fine still with the older cards. Just not as efficient.

I've seen upgraders skimp on system specs to go for budget G series procs, yet don't bat an eyelid to spend more than $200 on a keyboard mouse headset... So why not shift the budget abit from that fancy keyboard mouse and headset to a better graphic card / cpu? This is something that you have to balance between reflex and eyecandy but IMO, you can generally achieve the similar performance with a $100 budget for a keyboard mouse and headset combo, than a $200 or more combo

Another thing is OC. If one is not into OC, one can run perfectly fine stock. One incurs additional problems and costs when one decides to go into OC, WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER SPENT on a higher spec CPU / GPU in the first place. OC is a privilege, not an entitlement.

Eg: i see many dumping Hyper Evo 212/AIO into a base build, specifically for OC purposes but honestly speaking, how much can that help? That money would have been better spent on a higher spec proc/gpu.

Intel platform upgraders will probably be more used to this than the AMD platform users but instead of thinking of PCs as a platform waiting to be upgraded, adaopt a console mindset.

Think of the PC as a single use item. Assign a budget and get the max that you can afford within that budget into the system. ALWAYS assume that the next time you are buying a PC, you are gonna buy a brand new pc. Upgrading PCs is a myth IMO, coz by the time one decides to upgrade the PC, one generation or more would already have passed..

Again these are just my personal opinions.

Nothing against miners and mining in general but it breaks my heart when a student wishes to play PUBG, and is directly affected by the mining craze. Miners should just stick to the Mining Queue. They can order as many as they want. Just go through the proper channels.

y2c_whtdouwant

Miners will pay you SRP
and will even ask you for BEST PRICE $3xx for 6gb
Also got sob stories

I kena one
"My graphic card died. sob sob. really want to play, still studying...
after " ok ", HOW MANY YOU HAVE AR??? "

Not worth the effort
Asking how many graphic card one have is a dead giveaway:s22:

wwenze

I'm a free market kind of guy so... If you can get profit from selling the GPU also nice.

But if they aren't willing to pay high for the card... Well too bad just keep it for own use. Says something about what they think is the value of their own plans too.

joshuaho

Is it me or is the mod overstepping his boundaries? :s22: why the legitimate hate for miners? Miners are buying as an investment, yes it causes price spikes blah blah. But it’s the price they are willing to pay. Why not complain about COE prices also?

As a parent, I don’t want my kids to spend hours on a computer and neglect their relationship/studies. Excuses of kids saying they want to play cause they studied so hard? Ok, go to a lan shop, play to your heart contents. Want atas lanshop? Give them money to go Dhoby or something. Let them buy computer, also come from my pocket, let them play at lanshop, also from my pocket. At least at lanshop they are restricted to the number of hours they pay for. At least not so worried they stuck at home being keyboard warriors behind a monitor.

(PS I’m not against Builders OR miners as I’m a builder myself, but that’s my stand against the surge in prices. It may be a blessing in disguise for those with kids and have a more valid reason for buying one for your kids)

Anw off topic Liao.. currently best way is to get bundle like someone mention, and sell GPU away :s22: If want to be saint, find someone that really needs the GPU for GAMES and sell it to him/her:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.