any threads on Detention Barracks (DB)?

gaoxingdcf

Seen an NSman being escorted to DB during my reservist.

So better behave during reservist

If you are going to the range, please don't misfire or ND
Please listen to the conducting officer (regardless of indoor or outdoor range)
Confirm straight charge by CO plus escort to DB on the same day itself.

Kb chong

okay since a few want me to share i will just share what i have experienced not a lot since i am only a short term stayer over there. Depending on your situation, if you got arrested for AWOL outside by the MP (military police) you will be handcuffed to the DB place (not very sure camp name and where since i was arrested at night just know its near mowbay road). they will take down your particulars while your handcuffed and asked to face the wall...take urine test to check if you are under drugs and you will be ask to hand over ur belongings, even spectacles unless its plastic(prob scared u commit suicide),strip and wear a yellow t-shirt with blue colored shorts and then you get send to a holding cell...same like db cell. there is a small gap in the bottom side of the cell big enuf for ur hand to slide thru so you get ur food/drink over there. You stay there for like up to a day while you wait for your sentence. Inside the cell theres a wall and theres toilet (squatting type), a small type of well with a bucket for you to bath, drink, brush ur teeth. Once you get charged and you only pay a fine you get out otherwise if they decide to investigate further/sentenced to go to DB you will be brought to DB. If you get charged in camp you would most prob be sent to DB directly.

Inside DB you have to address all SAF MPs as sir. After that you will be brought to the main building with an orange gate. Theres a yellow line and you must note that every time you see a yellow line, you must stop and say, "permission to carry on sir!' or if theres 2 and more of you being brought to a place, 1 detainee would have to say, "1,2,3 and everyone of the detainee would have to say permission to carry on sir! and you will carry on if the SAF MP gives you the permission. If its an orange gate you have to say good morning sir and ask for permission like what i said above, more than 1 detainee to cross the gate one guy say, "greet 1,2,3, then everyone say good morning sir!, 1,2,3, permission to carry on sir!" and if your the first to cross the gate you must say, "1 sir!', next guy that cross say, "2 sir!' till the last guy that cross the gate must say his no xxx sir but also say, 'xxx number is the last number sir!' must be synchronised when you say that, like marching else you will be ask to repeat again.

You will find that every room has a yellow line you will be taken to a room where your asked to strip (check for injuries and tattoos)and wear another yellow t-shirt with blue shorts. You will be classified under 3 categories: CA (stands for close arrest), CD(stands for corrective detainee) for first timer, SUS(stands for soldier under sentence) second and subsequent timer. This new yellow T-shirt will have the Abbreviation on which category u belong to with a number below it. E.g. if your a second timer, you will be given a yellow t-shirt with the words SUS and a number below it. You wear plastic slippers thru the remainder of your sentence. There you will be given a straw mat, a green colored cup with the number samed as your T-shirt no, toothbrush with the same no, shaver with the same no, green colored blanket,exercise book, soap container with soap, a card holder with a white paper inside it that states your particulars, offence committed. sort of a 11B and your asked to pick a religious book. This and particulars done, fill up parent visit form(parents allowed to visit on mon,wed,fri unless special parent visit is granted for half an hr), your taken to a cell same as the holding cell i mentioned earlier. under a building which also classifies you into first timer, second timer, third and subsequent timer e.t.c.

90% of people in DB are awolees, the extreme cases being charged for going out for 15 mins to buy food and end up 7 days db, or 8 months awol charged 5 days db.
no mirrors in toilet, only plastic specs allowed (prob scared u commit suicide). Mon-Fri have to do regime (sandbag drill) for first timer, less for subsequent timers, sandbag around 20kg (like field pack). Before you do sandbag, they will get MO to check if your fit to do sandbag drill according to your PES status. Regime's around 8:30 to 10:30, not sure of time cos never see the time, around 8 pm rollcoll, 9 pm to 6 am lights out (sleep).

You will realise everything in DB you have to ask for permission, even
when you have to take your food in from the cell! my cellmate who been to changi prison told me even prison dont have something like this. Lamest thing ever. Most MPs are ok, but there are some guai lan ones including one chinese fat guy who wear specs that make u knock it down 20 if you dont greet properly/if ur voice is not loud enuf during rollcall. Can try complaining abt MPs when ur released, but you guys know how SAF is like.

JW (jehovah witness) are given the same outfit except they wear white T-shirts with no number. They have to serve for 3 years 3 months inside DB, never allowed to go home and when they leave the army, no reservist for them. They basically do the "household chores" in DB (cook the food, wash the clothes), e.t.c. However, they do not need to ask for permission this and that or call SAF MPs and sir and they can walk around DB/ play basketball

and yes, time in DB do not count in NS, altho a general guideline for Awolees is 1 day db = 2 day of awol, but not every case turn out that way like i mentioned earlier. This guideline, however, only applies to first-timers ONLY. Subsequent awol cases is treated as 1 day awol = 1 day DB. So if you already decided to awol, might as well awol as long as u can since the time u awol is counted as doing NS. just remember that after 21 days, theres a warrant of arrest out for you and if you get caught and court-martialed, the sentence is heavier and will not follow the guideline, so don't open the door lolx if you see 4 plain clothes guy knocking on the door and dont stay at home for like say the 1st month
Then need to shave botak, right? I heard.. really botak like totally no hair..光头。right? I saw my nsf friend kena db come back botak.

darkmatt

Seen an NSman being escorted to DB during my reservist.

So better behave during reservist

If you are going to the range, please don't misfire or ND
Please listen to the conducting officer (regardless of indoor or outdoor range)
Confirm straight charge by CO plus escort to DB on the same day itself.
NSman also can kena?

life_is_crazy

I have seen NS men kenna DB during my active days before (my unit was those type dealing with NS men one) due to fighting in the bunk.

crumpler ish jin expensiv

Maybe I can add on to this.. From a RP point of view. Now RP is replaced with security trooper already.

I served NS from 2007 to 2009. I was an RP at Glouscester camp.
During RP training, we were taught how to use handcuffs as well as how to restrain prisoners and detainees.
Its quite painful, if the cuff is used to restrain a violent or struggling person.
In my guardroom, we had a few sets of metal cuffs and keys.
These were used when a serviceman, NSF or NSman, was charged and sentenced to DB.
I'm sure you have heard about the process. I will outline it abit.

Serviceman is notified to answer a charge, be it for IPPT or AWOL or anything. Usually for NSmen its related to IPPT.
You come to camp in smart 4 to answer the charge and whether you are going to plead guilty or not. If yes, this is your 'N'th offence.
As the number of offences go up, the fine will increase correspondingly. Unit will usually give the lowest it can according to the sentencing guidelines.
CMPB side will just follow by the book. The JDO there usually sian already. Everyday hear grandmother sad story.
If you are sentenced to a fine, pay the fine and you can go. If you are sentenced to DB, it depends if you want to contest the charge. If yes, they will escalade to CO.
During that escalation, you are not allowed to leave camp premises. You can choose to have a witness to support your story and go speak to the CO.
During my time in NS, I encountered 1 case of this. NSman had his bro-in-law come to camp to be his witness. End of the day his sentence was reduced from DB to a fine.

If you don't contest, you will be allow to make a couple of phone calls to your boss or family to notify them that you are sentenced to DB and when will be your discharge date.
They can come to camp to pick you up on that date.
On our side, once you are sentenced to DB, your status changes to detainee. We are required to handcuff you when we move you from place to place. Its a humiliating and humbling experience.
Being the big sized guy, I'm often the one cuffed to the detainee. So we will have to go for a DB FFI. We have to go to the medical centre with the detainee for a medical.
This is to make sure that all injuries (if any), tattoos, marks on the person are noted down by the MO. This is also to ensure that we do not hantam the person or hurt him when he's in our custody.
DB FFI is quite special. Cos when we walk into the medical centre, its immediately apparent why we are there. We can jump queue one.
After FFI, we will go to Mowbray camp. In the vehicle, the detainee is also cuffed. This is to prevent any escape attempts.

At Mowbray camp, the detainee is handed over to the MPs who will process him into the holding area. All belongings are handed over to us.
We will be told when he will be released and the unit has to send a vehicle to pick him up from the DB.
Its quite humiliating as they do not speak to you like when you are having a normal conversation with a someone else.
Its as if you are the lowest lifeform and you are made to feel that way.
As a RP, they don't talk down to us. Its all business and everyone is professional.
We try to cheer the detainee up and I usually tell him that its just a few days.
I'll see you back at camp when you get out. IIRC, weekends and PH are not countered towards the sentence.
So if you are sentenced to 3 days DB and charged on a friday, lucky you. We will come pick you up on Sat morning.
You just spend 1 night in the holding cell.

The irony of this all is that after ORD, I repeatedly missed my IPPT. I got charged a few times and narrowly missed being thrown into DB.
I think if I had entered DB, I would have lost my job. My life now would be very different.

If you have lasted till the end, thanks for reading my story. Haha. All the best. If you are sentenced to DB, just remember that there's life outside of the SAF.
Once you are out, there's still chance to make your life right. It would be tougher. But it shall pass.

Thanks for listening to my TED talk.

firefoxxx

Maybe I can add on to this.. From a RP point of view. Now RP is replaced with security trooper already.

I served NS from 2007 to 2009. I was an RP at Glouscester camp.
During RP training, we were taught how to use handcuffs as well as how to restrain prisoners and detainees.
Its quite painful, if the cuff is used to restrain a violent or struggling person.
In my guardroom, we had a few sets of metal cuffs and keys.
These were used when a serviceman, NSF or NSman, was charged and sentenced to DB.
I'm sure you have heard about the process. I will outline it abit.

Serviceman is notified to answer a charge, be it for IPPT or AWOL or anything. Usually for NSmen its related to IPPT.
You come to camp in smart 4 to answer the charge and whether you are going to plead guilty or not. If yes, this is your 'N'th offence.
As the number of offences go up, the fine will increase correspondingly. Unit will usually give the lowest it can according to the sentencing guidelines.
CMPB side will just follow by the book. The JDO there usually sian already. Everyday hear grandmother sad story.
If you are sentenced to a fine, pay the fine and you can go. If you are sentenced to DB, it depends if you want to contest the charge. If yes, they will escalade to CO.
During that escalation, you are not allowed to leave camp premises. You can choose to have a witness to support your story and go speak to the CO.
During my time in NS, I encountered 1 case of this. NSman had his bro-in-law come to camp to be his witness. End of the day his sentence was reduced from DB to a fine.

If you don't contest, you will be allow to make a couple of phone calls to your boss or family to notify them that you are sentenced to DB and when will be your discharge date.
They can come to camp to pick you up on that date.
On our side, once you are sentenced to DB, your status changes to detainee. We are required to handcuff you when we move you from place to place. Its a humiliating and humbling experience.
Being the big sized guy, I'm often the one cuffed to the detainee. So we will have to go for a DB FFI. We have to go to the medical centre with the detainee for a medical.
This is to make sure that all injuries (if any), tattoos, marks on the person are noted down by the MO. This is also to ensure that we do not hantam the person or hurt him when he's in our custody.
DB FFI is quite special. Cos when we walk into the medical centre, its immediately apparent why we are there. We can jump queue one.
After FFI, we will go to Mowbray camp. In the vehicle, the detainee is also cuffed. This is to prevent any escape attempts.

At Mowbray camp, the detainee is handed over to the MPs who will process him into the holding area. All belongings are handed over to us.
We will be told when he will be released and the unit has to send a vehicle to pick him up from the DB.
Its quite humiliating as they do not speak to you like when you are having a normal conversation with a someone else.
Its as if you are the lowest lifeform and you are made to feel that way.
As a RP, they don't talk down to us. Its all business and everyone is professional.
We try to cheer the detainee up and I usually tell him that its just a few days.
I'll see you back at camp when you get out. IIRC, weekends and PH are not countered towards the sentence.
So if you are sentenced to 3 days DB and charged on a friday, lucky you. We will come pick you up on Sat morning.
You just spend 1 night in the holding cell.

The irony of this all is that after ORD, I repeatedly missed my IPPT. I got charged a few times and narrowly missed being thrown into DB.
I think if I had entered DB, I would have lost my job. My life now would be very different.

If you have lasted till the end, thanks for reading my story. Haha. All the best. If you are sentenced to DB, just remember that there's life outside of the SAF.
Once you are out, there's still chance to make your life right. It would be tougher. But it shall pass.

Thanks for listening to my TED talk.
Wah that's good that the RPs are professional in a way. Thought there will be some who are gonna be aggressive like certain MPs

crumpler ish jin expensiv

Wah that's good that the RPs are professional in a way. Thought there will be some who are gonna be aggressive like certain MPs
Yes. There's gonna always be people on ego trips. All the guys that we escort to DB, are from our own unit. It's our own guys. So it's not nice to be rude to them.

Laoyeh

My friend kick a army dog in the stomach with his boots. 3 day db. He say 3 day db he feel like going crazy already. Best is dont go db le

life_is_crazy

I still remembered last time during my active days my unit got one guy who often forged MC and moonlighting outside and he went absent for several months with forged 'mc'. and the first time he kenna caught by his superior but he choose to close one eye. The 2nd time he kenna caught he was sentenced to 40 days DB.

I still remembered seeing my campmates (not MP) handcuffing him to bring him to the DB. My unit was just beside the DB anyway. (Kranji Camp 2)

spectrearc

Nowadays should be no more metal cuff alr, should be all switch to flex cuff cos the metal cuff i thinkt oo many injuries

Usually also depend on your RSM/CO also, mine didn't really charge unless damn serious (non driver driving vehicle, bang fence etc.) cos lazy write charge report

SpecialKeyboardService

Not so sure what triggered the fight but I remembered that those involved kenna 2 weeks DB. That was many years ago... in around 2005....
2 weeks db.... Is a sweet spot .... More than 2 weeks is criminal record....... .

But both of lost their jobs..... Matador ND is 5 day db, got people kena before....

Do they lawyer up or not?
Occifer so db happy de...

Confirm is someone stir someone yet occifer close one eye.....

life_is_crazy

2 weeks db.... Is a sweet spot .... More than 2 weeks is criminal record....... .

But both of lost their jobs..... Matador ND is 5 day db, got people kena before....

Do they lawyer up or not?
Occifer so db happy de...

Confirm is someone stir someone yet occifer close one eye.....

Not sure whether they did lost their civilian jobs due to this but then they did not left a criminal record. However it will be very hard to explain to their family members and employers how come their ICT kenna 'extend' for 2 weeks in the 'last minute'.

What exactly happened I have no idea as I wasn't stationed in Sungei Gedong Camp where the NS Men were having their ICT.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.