Anybody using 3rd party Windows scheduler utilities that...

RetroActive

allows me to schedule tasks to run at specific timing...

eg wanna schedule my Windows to sleep at specific timing...

my sleep after specific duration of inactivities settings dunno why suddenly can't work anymore...

danny8x8

my sleep after specific duration of inactivities settings dunno why suddenly can't work anymore...
Liddat you not suspicious meh? What if got nefarious background process preventing the sleep...... Hong gan liao. All your home made prawnz on the net liao.

Cut_throat

Command Prompt (admin) then enter powercfg -restoredefaultschemes and make sure no mobo utility software installed.
Delete all schedules then set again at Windows Task Scheduler if got specific timing for shutdown.

DragonFire

Use the built in scheduler. 3rd party apps are a definite nono due to the low level system access needed for a scheduler to run properly.

RetroActive

DragonFire

You want to shut down the machine or put to sleep?

You can schedule command line shutdown or sleep.

run "shutdown.exe -s -t 00 -f" to shut down
run "rundll32.exe powrprof. dll,SetSuspendState 0,1,0" to sleep

These commands are from google. Personally I just use "shutdown -s" from command line to shut down the pc.

== for shutdown ==
"Start a program"

Look for shutdown.exe under c:\windows\system32

arguments are "-s -t 00 -f"

== for sleep ==
"Start a program"

Look for rundll32.exe under c:\windows\system32

arguments are "powrprof. dll,SetSuspendState 0,1,0"

MAKE SURE YOU DO NOT CONFIGURE THIS TO RUN ON WINDOWS STARTUP.
IF YOU DO YOU WILL NEED TO START IN SAFE MODE TO RECONFIGURE THE SCHEDULER TO MAKE IT STOP

bikermice

get a script that does shutdown and put your machine to sleep lor...shud have lots of it free online

RetroActive

You want to shut down the machine or put to sleep?

originally i was using the power setting to make it sleep if no activities for an hour or something like that...
have been working fine until maybe recently after some windows update then seems like it stopped working...
tried to troubleshoot the issue under power settings but still same...
so thought might as well just run schedular to make it sleep at say 2am...
so yeah for now is trying to make it sleep but will wake up when i move my mouse... :s12:

EJB

thanks all for the suggestions...
tested but kena stuck cos got no sleep or shutdown option leh...

dIeC0e8.jpg
You need to write a BAT file or type the command in the box. I find it doesn't work well with spaces, Best to make sure your folder or file names don't have spaces in them.

DragonFire

Speaking of batch files, that might be preferable to a hard shutdown which will interrupt what you are doing with no recourse to save your work if you are pulling an all nighter.

simple batch file...

@Echo off
echo.
echo =========================
echo = Shutdown Script Initiated!
echo =========================
echo.
echo.
echo.
echo.
echo.
timeout /T 60 /NOBREAK
c:\windows\system32\shutdown.exe -s

bikermice

Speaking of batch files, that might be preferable to a hard shutdown which will interrupt what you are doing with no recourse to save your work if you are pulling an all nighter.

simple batch file...

@Echo off
echo.
echo ===================================
echo = Shutdown Script Initiated! Ctrl-C to Stop
echo ===================================
echo.
timeout 60
c:\windows\system32\shutdown.exe -s

another one online:

@Echo off
set /p timer= "Enter the desired shut down timer in seconds: "
timeout %timer%
shutdown -s

ricohflex

Not using this. But you can check this out.
RoboTask by Neowise Software.
Surf neowise.com to find out

DragonFire

best to add /nobreak argument in timeout command.

Without it, it is easy to accidentally bypass the timeout by inadvertent keypress, causing immediate shutdown. /nobreak will force the timer to countdown fully before execution, and display a message on how to cancel the shutdown by pressing Ctrl-C.

This gives a user time to save work if they want to shutdown, or abort the shutdown.

There is a trick to make the batch file make a sound by inserting echo ALT-007 in it.
ALT-007 is typed by pressing and holding ALT, entering 007 on the KEYPAD, then releasing ALT.
This shows up as a square character. This is the bell character, and will make the system play a tone.
You can try this in CMD.

It does not display in forum so I did not include it.
You will also need an advanced editor like Textpad or Notepad++ to key it into the batch file.
Notepad that comes with windows will just play a sound when you type ALT-007.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.