[EDMW discussion] Shopping using Pinduoduo 拼多多 (PDD)

luei74

No need to download PDD. Can use Wechat to access.
  1. Open WeChat, tap the search icon.
  2. Type "Pinduoduo," "PDD" or “拼多多”
  3. Select the official Mini Program from the search results.
If can access through WeChat, think can also be done with Alipay 🙏🙏

sango65

Just bought 1 item from Pdd using credit card. Wondered will kena 3.25% foreign transaction fee? I used UOB plantium Visa cc. Otherwise Trust card better?
Can add Maribank credit card, no foreign transaction fee, also have 1.5% cashback.

The irony is Maribank is under Shopee, and PDD use SPX (also under Shopee) for last mile delivery to your home :ROFLMAO:

goodidae

Can add Maribank credit card, no foreign transaction fee, also have 1.5% cashback.

The irony is Maribank is under Shopee, and PDD use SPX (also under Shopee) for last mile delivery to your home :ROFLMAO:
I think shopee is focusing more on Maribank liaoz, my shopee app keep promoting Maribank to me. I think this is their long term solution to PDD.

coyote

I agree with this. We do not stand to gain anything from supporting ANY of these platforms. Support NTUC, Lazada, Shopee, what do you get? A GCB? Support Taobao, PDD, what do you get? Recognition from the CCP?

No, you get nothing. Use whichever platforms that give you the most benefit. The people behind these platforms are out for your money, nothing more. Don't get emotionally invested and conflate it with things such as nationality, patriotism and nationalism.

Once their marketing money runs out everything will be equal then.

I think you really overthink things. It's just buying some things cheaper from Pinduoduo or shopee or buying groceries from any supermarkets in Singapore out of convenience .... What conviction, what GCB...what CCP? What nationality, patriotism???

Do you seriously go to Shengsiong or NTUC to buy Malaysia round spinach/Shanghai Greens and ask them to prove their management or shareholders are not staying in GCB? Or go to Sim Lim Square buy a cake of DVD-R and ask them to verify if they have any association with forced labour or with any communist regime, North Korea or Phillipines or Africa??? Come on ... You just choose to buy or don't buy. Or buy from whichever cheaper or more convenient like from NTUC or giants or Shengsiong....

NTB2DO

PDD dun have app on Google leh... need download APK ah???
Temu is available in Google playstore though.

According to AI overview,

Pinduoduo is a massive domestic Chinese e-commerce platform, and Temu is its international sister app created by parent company PDD Holdings for global markets. Both offer rock-bottom prices using direct factory-to-consumer models, but they differ by target audience, language support, and shopping features. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

Target Market & Availability
    • Pinduoduo: Built strictly for users in China, requiring a Chinese phone number, local banking/payment methods (like WeChat Pay or Alipay), and operating entirely in Mandarin. [1, 2]
    • Temu: Designed for global shoppers across North America, Europe, Southeast Asia, and other regions, featuring local languages, currencies, and international credit cards. [1, 2, 3]

articland05

Temu is available in Google playstore though.

According to AI overview,

Pinduoduo is a massive domestic Chinese e-commerce platform, and Temu is its international sister app created by parent company PDD Holdings for global markets. Both offer rock-bottom prices using direct factory-to-consumer models, but they differ by target audience, language support, and shopping features. [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

Target Market & Availability
    • Pinduoduo: Built strictly for users in China, requiring a Chinese phone number, local banking/payment methods (like WeChat Pay or Alipay), and operating entirely in Mandarin. [1, 2]
    • Temu: Designed for global shoppers across North America, Europe, Southeast Asia, and other regions, featuring local languages, currencies, and international credit cards. [1, 2, 3]
Temu not comparable to PDD even though from same company...the listing on Temu is pathetic

Iamdone

When consumer found a life hack for cheaper thing, govt will close it. Look at gst for lower value: was gst free when it's under certain value, claiming level playing field with the retail. Slowly u see lazada/shopee stuff getting more expensive. Then when u compare with jhk malaysia shopee, price so much cheaper. Curse to be a sinkie.

Cheap White pump for fuel also, close by govt. Smlj govt will protect the rich la, later govt will discuss with pdd to stop cheap pricing to sinkies or pdd-sg app only for sinkie with different price tier just like malaysia vs sg shopee app or include smlj online tax for buying online in sg, its ok for middlemen/landlord to earn n chop commoner but not ok for the commoner to save $ on everyday items.

Easy way for govt is to implement punishing law on locals rather than they innovate. see rts, talk only, say simi local retail need to be creative but what can govt offer other than jhk benefitting most

yuzu28

Shoppe sponsors LCS. I think Shoppe will be most affected by PDD. Pls support Shoppe. it is owned by a Singaporean.
You support can already la.

Who cares whether the business is owned by Sporean or not. I support whatever that is friendlier for my pocket.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.