Anyone visited Turkey recently?

Potent

I flew to Istanbul for the first time during covid in 2020.
That time 1 euro was to 6 lira, which was good rate as my friend told me that when he visited was around 3 lira. Starbuck was dirt cheap around 2 euro.

Fast forward now 1 euro is to 56 lira? nearly 10 times depreciation 🤯
Good time to take hot air balloon
Yaba yah doo.
Going to become Flintstone yah lol

DulanMax

Their taxi damn jialat, purposely never on meter try to scam us.

I shout at the driver at the end then he scared

rayban

Went 3 months ago.
No hot balloon ride due to cancellations the few days in Cappadocia.
Nothing much unless you are into history.
Food is not enticing.

Join local tour (almost like private tour) which cover internal flights (no long bus journeys) and hotels.
Affordable but nothing memorable.

The most exciting stuff I did was Paragilding at faith.

Magnuz

Yes stopped by for a few days last year.
Most places only accept USD! Paid by card or cash only.

Visor9999

Turkey economy is collapsing, just that global news never report much. Just like Iran the currency collapse

zoossh

Is it true their hustle culture there very scammy one?
Everyone is looking to rip off as much as possible from tourists. :look:
Then their airport stuff all sibei ex one?
Quite scammy

But Egypt reputation worse

also dun like turkish airlines but sometimes no choice as other middle eastern airlines had less flights to smaller European cities

randyap

Their taxi damn jialat, purposely never on meter try to scam us.

I shout at the driver at the end then he scared
I faced the same thing. Use Uber better. The other app also quite scamy, they can own self add additional charges one. I kena.

randyap

Quite scammy

But Egypt reputation worse

also dun like turkish airlines but sometimes no choice as other middle eastern airlines had less flights to smaller European cities
I quite like Turkish airline food though. Just the food. . . . I remember the blanket they gave the red fabrics will stick to my clothings, give me the impression they are dirty.

XcoVar

Is it true their hustle culture there very scammy one?
Everyone is looking to rip off as much as possible from tourists. :look:
Then their airport stuff all sibei ex one?
That's what I heard about Turkey and Egypt thus kept delaying my visit to these 2 countries. Gonna start planning a visit to Kenya for the great migration, tot maybe can drop by either 1 along the way.

randyap

hot air balloon? eek no thanks

seen and heard those balloon accidents, the risks factor so high
Sometimes I wonder why we study so hard and then came to a conclusion that it is a good idea to put our life in another person's hand. Someone we aren't even sure if we can trust. They probably didn't even complete primary education or have a deep awarenss of safety practices. We just hope we don't be the 0.001% part of statistics.

BigMonkey

just last christmas, saw it from the other end and took a leg off it.

rayban

I had the best kebab there. Lololol. So juicy. The pottery meat is amazing too

Oh yeah I tried that. Saw them knock the top of the pot, spread the meat out n light it with fire. Yummy.
One thing I dislike was the food there was all meat , hard to eat veggies

Potent

Oh yeah I tried that. Saw them knock the top of the pot, spread the meat out n light it with fire. Yummy.
One thing I dislike was the food there was all meat , hard to eat veggies
Have alot veg too. Jus need to order veg
Roadside kebab, full of all fresh vegetables..fresh and yummy

Grill fish burger woolalal

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.