Apple track pad gone crazy

derrickgoh

It was fine all along but it went nuts earlier. When i move my finger over it the cursor jumps all over. I reboot the imac and still the same. Trackpad batt life 50%. Even tried removing & reinserting battery. Anyone know how to resolve this?

derrickgoh

know any friends with a Mac? ask them to try n see if e trackpad exhibits e same symptoms...
Sadly im one of the few mac users in my circle of friends. Certainly do not want to waste $ buying a new track pad to find out problem still exists & has something to do with bluetooth receiver on imac.

Will try resetting like renfred suggested when i get back & hopefully that solves the problem. Irritating sia, 4 years liao & no issue. Suddenly it goes nuts. Those of u old enough to remember mice with roller ball will know what i mean. It behaves like those old mouse with the rollers that are freaking dirty & needs to be cleaned.

renfred89

Sadly im one of the few mac users in my circle of friends. Certainly do not want to waste $ buying a new track pad to find out problem still exists & has something to do with bluetooth receiver on imac.

Will try resetting like renfred suggested when i get back & hopefully that solves the problem. Irritating sia, 4 years liao & no issue. Suddenly it goes nuts. Those of u old enough to remember mice with roller ball will know what i mean. It behaves like those old mouse with the rollers that are freaking dirty & needs to be cleaned.

if its faulty, its likely termed as ghost touch. capacitive products got such issue when its failing, so you might need to replace it if its faulty lor..

derrickgoh

if its faulty, its likely termed as ghost touch. capacitive products got such issue when its failing, so you might need to replace it if its faulty lor..
Well resetting seems to have worked, I just hope it doesn't screw up again.

The frustrating part about 2 devices is you don't know is it the iMac bluetooth receive that cork up or the trackpad itself.

derrickgoh

F*ck! Spoke too soon. Same problem is back. Clearly something is wrong but I guess there is no way of knowing if its a trackpad issue or not right? My only concern is after I get a new trackpad the same problem occurs!

szeli

F*ck! Spoke too soon. Same problem is back. Clearly something is wrong but I guess there is no way of knowing if its a trackpad issue or not right? My only concern is after I get a new trackpad the same problem occurs!

maybe u can go to any of e shops selling macs then buy something n ask e retail assistants to test yr trackpad for u? if u ask nicely maybe they will help. it's a simple task anyway...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.