😡 Beware the Big Bad Boss

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Milodrink

⚠️ Proceed with caution​

First things first: it is rare to have only good bosses throughout our entire career, says Rumi Mohd, associate director at recruitment agency Randstad Singapore, in an interview with Thrive.

“Once in a while, we will find ourselves working for an unreasonable boss, particularly due to their difficulties in managing people,” he adds.

Regardless of why a superior’s management style is bad, hurtful actions should never be swept under the rug. Some red flags 🚩 include:

• Micromanagement – an example being asking for minute detail updates regularly throughout the day
  • Inappropriate tone and language, such as shouting or sarcasm
  • Not giving credit where it’s due
  • Displaying favouritism
  • Making decisions that would impact the team without consulting them or providing necessary support

“Ultimately, these issues tend to stem from a lack of trust and poor communication in the workplace,” says Rumi, explaining that bosses are more likely to micromanage when they do not trust their staff to perform their duties responsibly. He adds that poor communication in particular often creates frustration and friction in the workplace, as employees could be acting on unclear instructions.

⏱️ Time’s up​

All this being said, there are many cases where the relationship between superior and subordinate is strained beyond repair 😔. Some managers become verbally abusive, yelling at their staff and denigrating them. In extreme cases, bosses may even become physically abusive.

“When you dread going to work and spend effort to avoid any interactions with your boss, continuing your employment with your company could lead to prolonged mental health issues, such as anxiety and depression,” warns Rumi.

Whether you choose to leave an organisation due to a toxic boss, or stay and fight to make it work, you need to start taking charge of your career.

Sometimes, even throwing in the towel might just be the one-way ticket to a more sustainable future that you need and deserve.

TL;DR
  • Bad bosses are not uncommon, but that doesn’t make their behaviour acceptable 🙅
  • Put in the effort to build a good working relationship with your boss and improve communication 👂
  • Verbal and physical abuse should never be tolerated 😤
  • Transferring to another department may be a possible solution if you do not wish to leave the company
  • Do not be afraid to say goodbye if all else fails, as long as you have done the necessary research and preparation beforehand

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/beware-big-bad-boss

addict951

ts, when r you leaving your current jod?
Quickly leave lah, so we dun have to hear your non-stop complaining
You have been complaining non-stop since day 1.
Tou long us lah, faster leesign go open your firm lah

dontwastetime

personally even indian bosses (despite the apparent faults) are still better than sinkie boss

(not racist, i'm promoting indians)

dambio

Just leave if find someone to work under. Or style not compatible.

Sooner or later will get rid of u also😂

cosmothecat

ts, when r you leaving your current jod?
Quickly leave lah, so we dun have to hear your non-stop complaining
You have been complaining non-stop since day 1.
Tou long us lah, faster leesign go open your firm lah
Agreed

TS, just quit the job

Ghost_is_here

I'm known to bomb bridges. Since I've been taught never to burn them, I will adhere to the industry standard. So toxic bosses would kanna big time from me.

And after so many decades, I'm still doing well, and better than the last. So now I do my own ways instead of all the hearsay.

Milodrink

I'm known to bomb bridges. Since I've been taught never to burn them, I will adhere to the industry standard. So toxic bosses would kanna big time from me.

And after so many decades, I'm still doing well, and better than the last. So now I do my own ways instead of all the hearsay.

Well done. I applaud you truly from bottom of my heart. 👏

Milodrink

How do you bomb Bridges

amransan

if in singapore 99.99999% u get toxic bosses.
the only different is how deep is their toxicity lol.

in my years working in singapore i had ONLY one boss who are really nice and fair.
the rest of the bosses are all toxic!

i walso worked overseas and so far the bosses i worked for are all nice and even the colleagues 99% of them are really nice people.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.