[BREAKING] Shanghai Chong Kee owe more than 268 migrant workers $$$$

needhelpbadlynow

Investigations later revealed that 268 migrant workers were owed salary payments.

"As at Oct 31, Shanghai Chong Kee has settled part of the old payments and we are working with them on the payment schedule for the rest," said Mr Zaqy.

"So it is not that the employer had deliberately held back the payments, but we also understand that during these challenging times, sometimes payments are delayed. I think in the construction sector, we all know the challenges that they are facing too. So we try to mediate and see how best we can come to a middle ground (and) settle," he added.

"So rest assured that actually most of the payments have already been paid for. Their owed salaries are partially covered. So we are now settling the rest and there's an instalment plan being worked out."

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...-mo-kio-contractor-shanghai-chong-kee-3056451

shidenx

Lai laio. Which construction project impacted?

needhelpbadlynow

owe money mean owe monies lo still say what no deliberately. then pay partially nia. jialat lo. 没那么大的头就戴大的帽子。 them no monies pay still dare to hire workers

like that moi ask peepur work for moi do mani mani then moi later apologize say soli ok moi not deliberately not pay monies de. then moi say please give few months to pay ok? wait ok.

qcy888

"So it is not that the employer had deliberately held back the payments, but we also understand that during these challenging times, sometimes payments are delayed. I think in the construction sector, we all know the challenges that they are facing too. So we try to mediate and see how best we can come to a middle ground (and) settle," he added.

Money goes to buying new merc and GCB?

Challenging time means no need to pay salary? Then workers eat what?

sinkie886

Investigations later revealed that 268 migrant workers were owed salary payments.

"As at Oct 31, Shanghai Chong Kee has settled part of the old payments and we are working with them on the payment schedule for the rest," said Mr Zaqy.

"So rest assured that actually most of the payments have already been paid for. Their owed salaries are partially covered. So we are now settling the rest and there's an instalment plan being worked out."

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...-mo-kio-contractor-shanghai-chong-kee-3056451
Wow.
Saw the ah tiong and bangla holding sign to protest.
Hold they dun get throw into jail :)

tfkmueh

What a piece of **** company
Kinda agree with this, IMHO if nvr investigated will hold more salaries?

Not like the management team will come out own pocket to pay these lower income worker who might need the money to survive and support families compared those in management...

kiatkiat

they only owe migrant workers salary or also office staffs too? If both migrant workers and office staffs not getting paid mean company cash flow jialat liao. if office staffs still getting their paycheck on time mean bullying migrant workers

eAtNeAt

Thot they got place deposits. Anyway garmen turns a blind eye when companies exploits migrant workers so nothing new.
All the clap for workers are just hypocrisy

Kunkka

Maybe they worked with a sh*t paymaster too.

I'd say, more than half of the main contractors are f*cked up
Funny thing is these workers belong to another coy.

Means another coy processed their entry into Singapore but use them to work for other coy?

Overture1928

Funny thing is these workers belong to another coy.

Means another coy processed their entry into Singapore but use them to work for other coy?
Probably the other company don't have projects then decided to supply workers to cover their own costs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.