Bricked Kindle Paperwhite. Help?

nickasnack

Hey guys,

I've been using my kindle for a year, but recently the system has been lagging and I thought a reboot would help set things straight.

But after reboot, the "Your kindle needs repair" screen came up, and stays that way no matter how many times I try to reboot.

Does anyone have any idea how to fix this? If not it's gonna be a very expensive paper weight...

davidktw

Hey guys,

I've been using my kindle for a year, but recently the system has been lagging and I thought a reboot would help set things straight.

But after reboot, the "Your kindle needs repair" screen came up, and stays that way no matter how many times I try to reboot.

Does anyone have any idea how to fix this? If not it's gonna be a very expensive paper weight...

Seriously it don't even qualify as a paper weight.

http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=206064

nickasnack

Hmm I appreciate the help. I've come across that post too, but it doens't work on a paperwhite.

"Installs a pristine 3.4 (K3), 4.1.1 (K4), or 5.1.2 (KT) firmware; other devices (K1, K2, KDX, Paperwhite) are not supported!"

amberlight

how muchie chiu bought?

i feel like buying but rike welly expensive :(

but sho fast spoil riao.... kinda makes me wonder should invest in one anot :s22:

no more warranty, cannot ask amazon CS for repair?

nickasnack

About a year, but maybe it could just be me? Cause I installed a programme called Caliber. It's supposed to be non intrusive but... Who knows.

System just lagged suddenly, couldn't turn the pages without lagging too. THen reboot liao that message come up.

But seriously, buying a kindle was the best investment for me.

nickasnack

how muchie chiu bought?

i feel like buying but rike welly expensive :(

but sho fast spoil riao.... kinda makes me wonder should invest in one anot :s22:

no more warranty, cannot ask amazon CS for repair?

I bought for about 100+. From some hwz-er. Quite cheap. Brand new too. She had an extra set she didn't need. But serious, damn good investment.

ckling

About a year, but maybe it could just be me? Cause I installed a programme called Caliber. It's supposed to be non intrusive but... Who knows.

System just lagged suddenly, couldn't turn the pages without lagging too. THen reboot liao that message come up.

But seriously, buying a kindle was the best investment for me.

calibre is installed on pc leh...i also using no issue

nickasnack

cking how long have you used for already? I've upgraded from a kindle touch to the paperwhite a year ago.

amberlight

I bought for about 100+. From some hwz-er. Quite cheap. Brand new too. She had an extra set she didn't need. But serious, damn good investment.

can explain why good investment?

been comtemplating for a yr riao.......

i got many nice pdf books, duno will display well anot as heard reviews some say no good some ok :s22:

FWAH! She still got anymoer extra set, 100plus a bit like jin worth it!

nickasnack

can explain why good investment?

been comtemplating for a yr riao.......

i got many nice pdf books, duno will display well anot as heard reviews some say no good some ok :s22:

FWAH! She still got anymoer extra set, 100plus a bit like jin worth it!

Good la! If you really read a lot of books, and you're not so keen on buying them (ahem), then the kindle is so worth it. So portable, can take out anywhere and read. Hmm i'm sur eyou can find the correct format for kindle for your pdf books (ahem). But from my experience, still display quite well.

amberlight

Good la! If you really read a lot of books, and you're not so keen on buying them (ahem), then the kindle is so worth it. So portable, can take out anywhere and read. Hmm i'm sur eyou can find the correct format for kindle for your pdf books (ahem). But from my experience, still display quite well.

hahaha i thought the price device is as expensvie as purchasing about 6books in equivalent. i just did a research on ebook reader and found the kobo aura to be better in pdf format because my collections are in pdf for (ahem) obvious reason :crazy:

sighz, it's expensive tho S$239 at ebookreadersingapore.com siol :( can't wait for US to have summer sales before i take money out from wallet, which hopefully is a good form of investment just like u :o

do let me know if you find kobo aura a bad choice to proceed :crazy:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.