Car Radio recommendation

RRSS128

My car radio volumn control button has gone haywire, instead of turning down, it increase the volumn.

Thinking of replacing as the car is 6yo. Any recommendations for a reasonable shop selling and installing for around $500?

EJB

You can check with any audio shop. Make sure they have replaceable units without need to cut or customize etc.

aspenco

Help me understand better. So u press volume down and sound gets louder? U tried volume up button to bring down the sound? Did it work?

RRSS128

Help me understand better. So u press volume down and sound gets louder? U tried volume up button to bring down the sound? Did it work?
Its a dial, when I turn towards low volume it gets louder instead.

RRSS128

You can check with any audio shop. Make sure they have replaceable units without need to cut or customize etc.
Radio is 6yo liao, not sure if its better to replace. Now COE so high, don't think will change car, so maybe just change a new unit imstead of repair.

iduncheckmail

Actually if it’s just vol reverse order. I just keep using it , and memorise it’s in reverse

Mclairs83

My car radio volumn control button has gone haywire, instead of turning down, it increase the volumn.

Thinking of replacing as the car is 6yo. Any recommendations for a reasonable shop selling and installing for around $500?
u never state u drive simi car.. some cars does not have the single din or double din specifications.

EJB

Radio is 6yo liao, not sure if its better to replace. Now COE so high, don't think will change car, so maybe just change a new unit imstead of repair.
Replace is fine, but HU is not straightforward these days, given the amount of electronics and wiring. Some have dedicated size/designs, so you want to replace also need to be sure the new one can fit & they have ways to close up the missing parts/areas etc. Change car is easy way out.

u never state u drive simi car.. some cars does not have the single din or double din specifications.
I believe is at least 2-din. Nowadays cars all 2-din. The only worry is the size fit and the car design able to easily take back a 2-din unit.

RRSS128

Replace is fine, but HU is not straightforward these days, given the amount of electronics and wiring. Some have dedicated size/designs, so you want to replace also need to be sure the new one can fit & they have ways to close up the missing parts/areas etc. Change car is easy way out.

I believe is at least 2-din. Nowadays cars all 2-din. The only worry is the size fit and the car design able to easily take back a 2-din unit.
No $$$ to change car. COE too high, cannot afford. I ask my car workshop liao, they dun want to reply me.

myviowner

No $$$ to change car. COE too high, cannot afford. I ask my car workshop liao, they dun want to reply me.
Have time, drive to JB. Replace whole HU to Andriod type. Won't cost you more than SGD$300, for the basic model.
SG workshop price almost all cut throat. Don't be the carrot.

RRSS128

Have time, drive to JB. Replace whole HU to Andriod type. Won't cost you more than SGD$300, for the basic model.
SG workshop price almost all cut throat. Don't be the carrot.
No time to drive to jb and my insurance no include driving to jb also. I asked my workshop the guy dun want to recommend. Dunno why. I never had to replace car radio for my car before. Clueless about this.

myviowner

No time to drive to jb and my insurance no include driving to jb also. I asked my workshop the guy dun want to recommend. Dunno why. I never had to replace car radio for my car before. Clueless about this.
Just drive to audio shop in SG. Meet you budget, let them fix it. Above your budget, move on to another audio shop. Don't need headache. Just pay only.

EJB

See how much above budget also, no point drive east to west if it's $20 more only. Sometimes pennywise, pound foolish. Time = money. Chop chop do and forget it.

myviowner

See how much above budget also, no point drive east to west if it's $20 more only. Sometimes pennywise, pound foolish. Time = money. Chop chop do and forget it.
Well said big brother. Must have time. else just get the nearest and hopes to pay the least.

fake_oranges

niao chee niao bor
Pay extra $5 like cut off finger

koster

Big brother @EJB is so wise! But if drive from west to east instead can or not?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.