CNBC - U.S. tightens its grip on AI chip flows across the globe

p00954

https://www.cnbc.com/2025/01/13/us-tightens-its-grip-on-ai-chip-flows-across-the-globe.html

U.S. tightens its grip on AI chip flows across the globe​

Published Mon, Jan 13 20256:06 AM EST

The U.S. government said on Monday it would further restrict artificial intelligence chip and technology exports, divvying up the world to keep advanced computing power in the U.S. and among its allies while finding more ways to block China’s access.

The new regulations will cap the number of AI chips that can be exported to most countries and allow unlimited access to U.S. AI technology for America’s closest allies, while also maintaining a block on exports to China, Russia, Iran and North Korea.

The lengthy new rules unveiled in the final days of outgoing President Joe Biden’s administration go beyond China and are aimed at helping the U.S. keep its dominant status in AI by controlling it around the world.

“The U.S. leads AI now - both AI development and AI chip design, and it’s critical that we keep it that way,” U.S. Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo said.

The rules impose worldwide licensing requirements on certain chips, with exceptions, and also set controls for what are known as “model weights” of the most advanced “closed-weight” AI models. Model weights help determine decision making in machine learning, and are generally the most valuable elements of an AI model.

The regulation divides the world into three tiers. About 18 countries, including Japan, Britain, South Korea and the Netherlands, will essentially be exempt from the rules. Some 120 other countries, including Singapore, Israel, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates will face country caps. And arms-embargoed countries like Russia, China and Iran will be barred from receiving the technology altogether.

In addition, U.S. headquartered providers likely to receive global authorizations such as AWS and Microsoft will be allowed to deploy only 50% of their total AI computing power outside the United States, no more than 25% outside of the Tier 1 countries, and no more than 7% in a single non-Tier 1 country.

AI has the potential to increase access to healthcare, education and food, among other benefits, but also can help develop biological and other weapons, support cyberattacks and assist with surveillance and other human rights abuses.

“The U.S. has to be prepared for rapid increases in AI’s capability in the coming years, which could have transformative impact on the economy and on our national security,” U.S. National Security Adviser Jake Sullivan said.

-----------------

https://blogs.nvidia.com/blog/ai-policy/?linkId=100000328882278

NVIDIA Statement on the Biden Administration’s Misguided ‘AI Diffusion’ Rule​

January 13, 2025 by Ned Finkle

For decades, leadership in computing and software ecosystems has been a cornerstone of American strength and influence worldwide. The federal government has wisely refrained from dictating the design, marketing and sale of mainstream computers and software — key drivers of innovation and economic growth.

The first Trump Administration laid the foundation for America’s current strength and success in AI, fostering an environment where U.S. industry could compete and win on merit without compromising national security. As a result, mainstream AI has become an integral part of every new application, driving economic growth, promoting U.S. interests and ensuring American leadership in cutting-edge technology.

Today, companies, startups and universities around the world are tapping mainstream AI to advance healthcare, agriculture, manufacturing, education and countless other fields, driving economic growth and unlocking the potential of nations. Built on American technology, the adoption of AI around the world fuels growth and opportunity for industries at home and abroad.

That global progress is now in jeopardy. The Biden Administration now seeks to restrict access to mainstream computing applications with its unprecedented and misguided “AI Diffusion” rule, which threatens to derail innovation and economic growth worldwide.

In its last days in office, the Biden Administration seeks to undermine America’s leadership with a 200+ page regulatory morass, drafted in secret and without proper legislative review. This sweeping overreach would impose bureaucratic control over how America’s leading semiconductors, computers, systems and even software are designed and marketed globally. And by attempting to rig market outcomes and stifle competition — the lifeblood of innovation — the Biden Administration’s new rule threatens to squander America’s hard-won technological advantage.

While cloaked in the guise of an “anti-China” measure, these rules would do nothing to enhance U.S. security. The new rules would control technology worldwide, including technology that is already widely available in mainstream gaming PCs and consumer hardware. Rather than mitigate any threat, the new Biden rules would only weaken America’s global competitiveness, undermining the innovation that has kept the U.S. ahead.

Although the rule is not enforceable for 120 days, it is already undercutting U.S. interests. As the First Trump Administration demonstrated, America wins through innovation, competition and by sharing our technologies with the world — not by retreating behind a wall of government overreach. We look forward to a return to policies that strengthen American leadership, bolster our economy and preserve our competitive edge in AI and beyond.

Ned Finkle is vice president of government affairs at NVIDIA.

AuraKUPO

Tonight chip stock dip dip red. Faster sell your NVDA now, only got a few hours left

enigmastar

Probably link to this recent news.

"The world’s most advanced contract chipmaker has severed its ties with a Singapore-based company after a client review exposed a potential breach of US export controls, according to people familiar with the matter.Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (TSMC) ended its relationship with PowerAIR, a low-key Singaporean firm, following a client check triggered by the discovery of a TSMC chip in a Huawei Technologies artificial intelligence (AI) processor, three sources said."

https://amp-scmp-com.cdn.ampproject...firm-over-chip-found-huawei-processor-sources

kuti-kuti

singapore stand wrong side

pap still want chiong AI ?
sg gov always like to play centre guy inbetween the 2 giants... sooner or later kana from usa... last time kana a few times from china,.. please lah, tiny island just diam diam... don't act smart, play big among giants machiam like big shot... chinese saying adults chat small kid be silent

kimsix

Oh no i buyeding 5090 with my angpow later! See lah open floodgates now we tio can only buy 5090dicc edition? :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.