Degree dilemma

DaveAlexander

Hello guys, a little bit background info about myself.
I'm a poly student, who studied in electronic computer engineering for my diploma. You could say I used to be really immature and thought nothing much about that piece of paper many are working their asses for, and I graduated with only a GPA of 2.3.
Now, I'm about to ORD at the end of the year, entering a local Uni would be impossible, and that I'm already 23 this year.
I'm looking at SIM GE, but a change of course, taking up economic and finance. Which means I won't be exempted from any modules, meaning I'll have to take a full 3 years course in there. That means I'll be 27 by the time I graduate.

I have a few questions in mind.
1) How long a break do I have between each semester?
2) what is the difference between part-time and full-time?
3) is the chances of me going to local Uni 0?
4) at this stage, is it wise for me to change course? Should I stay in engineering?
5) Are there any shorter degrees? Is there any difference?
6) other than SIM is there any similar private Uni I can get into?

After reading my questions here is a few plans I have for myself:
(Plan A)
I'll take full time degree, and carry on with me changing over to business. Which means In between each semester I'll use the break and look for internship. This way I'll be able to try and pave my way after I graduate.

(Plan B)
I'll hop straight into the working world, and get a part time degree.

Need some advice guys. Really really very lost right now...

juventusfc27

1) it depends on ur timetable

2) for unisim, part time = u go to class only AT NIGHT AFTER WORK.
full time = u go to class from 8am to 5pm like a normal student would.
im not sure about unisim:GE (global education) though, i suppose it's the same...

3) for big 3 aka NUS NTU SMU, i will say yes, your chances are 0%. from my personal experience u need 3.2 GPA onwards to get shortlisted for entry. and u may not get the courses u want with a 3.2 GPA. that's how competitive local unis are nowadays...u can try checking other unis like SIT / SUTD to see if they accept u?

4) ask yourself. what is your passion in life? is it engineering? if no, it's not too late to change to something ur interested in since ur only 23yo this year. bear in mind, u are doing a degree, which is generally considered the highest difficulty for an average person pursuing education. it's not gonna be easy studying for a degree. even much more difficult if u intend to work full-time n study part-time.

5) u need to check out the various education institutions yourself. you cant expect us to spoonfeed u @ degree level right?

NOTE: what may be fast to complete n graduate may not be as recognised as something that takes longer to complete n graduate. this is especially so if u intend to work in government service.

6) same answer as 5) there are others schools like MDIS, kaplan, etc. are they as prestigious n recognised as SIM? only u and your future employer knows...

as for your plan A, why the hell would u restart all over again with a diploma, when u already have one? just go straight into a degree with a field that ur interested in. that will be my suggestion to u.

hope above info helps u...

ryan_khoo

May I ask, why do you want to do a degree in Economics or Finance when you have completed a diploma in Electronic Engineering ?

Is it because you don't like Electronic Engineering ? Then what makes you so sure you will like Finance or Economics ?

Realistically, I think with GPA 2.3 it would be difficult to get into NUS, NTU or SMU ... have you try UniSim, SIT or SUTD ?

Studying in Sim GE is gonna be expensive but if you have the money then why not but you must be sure that is what you want ... don't end up with studying what you don't like again ...

Can you get a job with your electronic diploma ? Alternatively, get a job first, work for 2 or 3 years, then go overseas and do a Masters straight. I heard some Universities overseas, instead of getting degree you get a Masters ...

Cracked

Not sure about SIM GE but probably a month to 2 months?

Part-time is mainly conducted at night, typically 7-10pm and days depending on the modules you take. Work-wise, they may cut corners to fit into the smaller time-frame part timers has, but pretty much same as full timers. Full-time will follow the similar schedule you had in Poly. Main biggest difference is the "school life". Part-timers is typically all about business; come to class, absorb as much as possible, go back and do assignments while full timers have more opportunities to make closer friends with their classmates, join CCAs and have a more "rounded" school life.

2.3GPA I would say no chance. Someone I know with a GPA of 3.1 failed to enter SIT, much less the other unis. Unless you considered UniSIM to be local uni, you currently stand little chance.

4) at this stage, is it wise for me to change course? Should I stay in engineering?

No comments, apart from personal observation that those from STEM background tend to struggle more in the beginning when going into a Social Science programme.

Many private unis offer 1-2 years courses. Are they worth it? Do your research.

You can consider UniSIM (SIM University; different from SIM: Global Education).

(Plan A)
I'll take full time diploma, and carry on with me changing over to business. Which means In between each semester I'll use the break and look for internship. This way I'll be able to try and pave my way after I graduate.

(Plan B)

Need some advice guys. Really really very lost right now

Would advise you enroll into UniSIM part time and work at the same time.

DaveAlexander

Hi guys thanks for the input. Is it too late if I actually start work at 27? To me, it felt like it is.

And to answer some of the questions, I intend to switch over to Econs and finance as I realise I have no interest in engineering at all. And for the past months, I have been studying together with my Girlfriend who is taking a similar course as the one that I want, and realise that I am able to absorb it much quicker as I have more interest in it.

SIT and SUTD, are there any cases where people with low GPA like me entering the Uni?

Should I stay in my relevant course and just complete the degree with exempted modules, so by the time when I'm out, I'll just use the degree to get a decent job? I have no interest in engineering though, but jobs these days don't really look at what kind of degree you're holding right? As Long as you have a degree? Please advise on this.

intime

Hi guys thanks for the input. Is it too late if I actually start work at 27? To me, it felt like it is.

And to answer some of the questions, I intend to switch over to Econs and finance as I realise I have no interest in engineering at all. And for the past months, I have been studying together with my Girlfriend who is taking a similar course as the one that I want, and realise that I am able to absorb it much quicker as I have more interest in it.

SIT and SUTD, are there any cases where people with low GPA like me entering the Uni?

Should I stay in my relevant course and just complete the degree with exempted modules, so by the time when I'm out, I'll just use the degree to get a decent job? I have no interest in engineering though, but jobs these days don't really look at what kind of degree you're holding right? As Long as you have a degree? Please advise on this.

Are your loved ones pressuring you to start work? Your girlfriend? parents? others?
If no one, then you are just giving yourself unneeded pressure. If there are others, then they are probably just jealous that you have the option to choose to go for further studies.
Universities have a wide demography, you won't feel out of place there with your age.

If you wish to stay with engineering, you have an alternative option of going for SkillsFuture Earn and Learn programme,
http://www.skillsfuture.sg/earnandlearn
It is a relatively smoother path, it will earn you a specialist diploma, a good paying job and accelerated career advancement, after that you can ownself take up part-time degrees from UniSIM, NUS or NTU. You will be able to sustain financially.
Alternatively, if you are confident and do well, you can try fight for full time sponsorship.

For full time local universities, you have near zero chance.
But for applied universities such as SIT and UniSIM full time, you may have a fighting chance, as they both uses holistic assessment for their admission, meaning they include work experience, voluntary experience, recommendations, personal statements, admission test and interview.
So high GPA does not guarantee admission.

I usually don't recommend very short degrees from unknown foreign universities provided by private institutions, the programme rigour may come under suspicion and the PEI's industry relationship may not be that good.
If you intend to go private, do take note of the following points,
https://www.gov.sg/factually/content/8-things-you-should-know-before-you-enrol-in-a-private-school

In SIMGE, I suggest you select those that are awarded by better ranked universities. Even though they are all distance learning, some will argue no difference, but i think it is still better to have a more reputable one for competitive sake.
Do note that these degrees will be more expensive comparatively, since no subsidies.

In UniSIM part-time, their business, finance and marketing, recently have honours programme. This will be the best option i felt, if you are not confident to score a full time seat next year.
http://www.unisim.edu.sg/programmes/Undergraduate/Pages/part-time.aspx

bluedolph

With your GPA, you, you can consider sim ge or unisim pt . As for the 6 unis you stand a very little chance as they at least expect a gpa of 3.2 and above unless you're from a related dip to the course you're applying or have significant achievements /good portfolio /have working experience which unisim n sit looks at.

soulblader_89

I'm a poly student, who studied in electronic computer engineering for my diploma. You could say I used to be really immature and thought nothing much about that piece of paper many are working their asses for, and I graduated with only a GPA of 2.3.
Now, I'm about to ORD at the end of the year, entering a local Uni would be impossible, and that I'm already 23 this year.
I'm looking at SIM GE, but a change of course, taking up economic and finance. Which means I won't be exempted from any modules, meaning I'll have to take a full 3 years course in there. That means I'll be 27 by the time I graduate.

(Plan A)
I'll take full time degree, and carry on with me changing over to business. Which means In between each semester I'll use the break and look for internship. This way I'll be able to try and pave my way after I graduate.

(Plan B)

I would recommend u take a full time degree

You really shld study hard during your poly days

bigbossssi

(Plan A)

(Plan B)

TS, why do you think starting work at 27 is late? Even if you enter local uni min. study duration is also 3 years right? Dont feel pressurized to go with the flow. everyone grad at 26 doesn't mean you must grad at 26 also.

I have 1 friend graduated from 1 diploma, took a second diploma, currently in NTU NIE. another friend didn't do well for A levels hence after army registered at a polytechnic and successfully graduated, currently schooling at SIT. but to be fair the 2 of them didn't have financial constraints, so it's not something everyone can afford to do. if you can afford to do so, this is a possible alternative. i wont say it's the best way out, but at least it is a solution. of course they are behind their peers now but well they are happy with their current life so why not :s22:

plan A: i don't see any problem with this route
plan B: please consider carefully. working 9-5 and then study after work is no joke, it's not something everyone has the discipline to do.

as for degree recognition, where do you plan to work after you get your degree? if you are gonna be a civil servant, of course the degree you are holding affects your starting salary. for private companies, it depends on industry and company but i would say a relevant one is the basic minimum.

DaveAlexander

Thank you guys. Guess you could say I'm really pressured by the current society we are in right now. How companies judge a person base on a piece of paper. How people are entering the working force at a younger age.

I do not have much work experience, thus I planned to intern during my break in between semester. Is finding an internship hard? How do I go about finding one?

ryan_khoo

I do not have much work experience, thus I planned to intern during my break in between semester. Is finding an internship hard? How do I go about finding one?

why internship ? You already graduated with a diploma in engineering. you can even get full time job in engineering so why talking about internship ?

intime

Thank you guys. Guess you could say I'm really pressured by the current society we are in right now. How companies judge a person base on a piece of paper. How people are entering the working force at a younger age.

The "paper" is like a cutoff point to filter job candidates, after that is proving yourself through interviews and skills test to get the job.

To have an easier time hunting for internships, make sure that you score well during your uni semesters at the start.

Individually, you can find them through any local job sites, jobscentral, jobs bank and careers@gov, etc. Or the companies' website that you are interested in.

Alternatively, you can seek assistance from your university's career services centre. So it is crucial that you enter a university with strong career services and industry relations.

MrAppleCrumble

You just go sign on lah, sign on also can study ma. You now o study any business degree in sim is confirm 3 years Liao cause unrelated. Dont make me laugh lah what intern what nonsense during break. Nobody will bother a 2 month intern nowadays.

I say your future quite bleak since you cannot go into any local unis with your cui 2.3gpa.

Go study business need start from scratch and than unless u sibeh hardworking go UOL those type can grad with FCH. You are just another random. Tom dick Harry.

Sent from the chao hdb peasants slumland using GAGT

17smiles

My GPA was 2.68, around the same range as yours OP!! Its not the end of the world. I was studying Microelectronics (Clean Room Technology) in Temasek Poly, and after NS decided to go straight into the work force.

Managed to successfully apply for a job position as an associate engineer doing 12-hour shifts in a silicon wafer fab(which was relevant to my course of study). Worked 2 years, after which I decided to leave the industry.

Using the accumulated 2 years worth of savings, after deducting the bills(yes sounds old fashioned, but i choose to pay my family's PUB and telephone bills during the 2 years....not that they couldn't), decided to pursue a degree in Business & Management @ SIM-UOL.

Now currently waiting for year 2 results.
Morale of the story:
How you live your life is your decision,
It doesn't have to be the same as others.

All the best!!!!:)

blackvice

My GPA was 2.68, around the same range as yours OP!! Its not the end of the world. I was studying Microelectronics (Clean Room Technology) in Temasek Poly, and after NS decided to go straight into the work force.

Managed to successfully apply for a job position as an associate engineer doing 12-hour shifts in a silicon wafer fab(which was relevant to my course of study). Worked 2 years, after which I decided to leave the industry.

Using the accumulated 2 years worth of savings, after deducting the bills(yes sounds old fashioned, but i choose to pay my family's PUB and telephone bills during the 2 years....not that they couldn't), decided to pursue a degree in Business & Management @ SIM-UOL.

Now currently waiting for year 2 results.
Morale of the story:
How you live your life is your decision,
It doesn't have to be the same as others.

All the best!!!!:)

Respect you for contributing to your family household expenses, unlike some I know using study part time as excuse and not contributing to their family expenses, but you can see them keep go holiday every year.

17smiles

Respect you for contributing to your family household expenses, unlike some I know using study part time as excuse and not contributing to their family expenses, but you can see them keep go holiday every year.

Thanks!!:angel: Just hoping to encourage OP that there are actually roads in front of him/her. It also depends on how one looks at what they define as a road/path. :)

ForSIT

"For full time local universities, you have near zero chance.
But for applied universities such as SIT and UniSIM full time, you may have a fighting chance, as they both uses holistic assessment for their admission, meaning they include work experience, voluntary experience, recommendations, personal statements, admission test and interview.
So high GPA does not guarantee admission."

LOL please... SIT 3.0 GPA also not even guaranteed interview leh LOL
Work experience etc is just a "add on"

The base line that SIT sees is still GPA lol

divasion

27 is okay, it is just 1 or 2 years behind the norm. It is common.

ya i studying in unisim and not taking full load per sem for part time.. following my modules load per sem,i be graduating in 2018 when im 27.. and i have to spend 2.2 extra years.. cause i went to sec 5 and poly.. and no ippt gold/silver to deduct 2 months.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.